Skip to main content

Academic Technology Launchpad for Students: Off-campus FileWay

Quick Guide to computer and academic technology resources for students.

computer help students logo

Your H drive or Home Directory is a secure file storage space located on a college network server. When you log on to a computer on-campus with your username and password, you are automatically connected to your home directory. Off-campus, you can also access these files remotely using FileWay.

 

FileWay - H Drive / Home Directory Access Off-Campus

MC Fileway logoWhat is FileWay?

FileWay is a secure, web-based remote file access application that enables students, faculty and staff to access their personal files and documents saved on their home directory using a computer browser. 

fileway folders

How do I access FileWay?

Open a browser and go to FileWay - at  https://fileway.madisoncollege.edu/FileWay 

my docs icon

Enter your college network login (the same username and password you use for student email, Blackboard, myMadisonCollege,...).

Then navigate to your Home Directory (H Drive) My Documents folder.

Using FileWay

MC Fileway logotoolbar fileway v4Navigation - built-in navigation options:

  • Right-click options or Actions button 
  • Double-click folders to open
  • Address bar and folder tree - just like in Windows Explorer
  • Use the Up button to navigate back. Do not use the back button in your browser   
  • Remember to Logout when you are done

View a document or file

View opens files within your browser. If you don't want to make any changes to the document or file, you can use the View option to quickly view the file. Select the file, then select View by a right-click, click the View button, or select View from the Actions button.  

Upload a file or document using FileWay

  1. If you want to upload a file using FileWay, click on the Upload button on the FileWay toolbar. 
  2. This will open the Upload File window. Click on the Select button to open Windows Explorer and browse to the file you want to upload and then click Upload.
  3. If you would like to add multiple files, click the Add button and repeat the upload steps. 

Download, edit or make changes to a file

Files cannot be saved directly to your home directory when using FileWay, but you can upload and download files. For example, when off-campus: you can login to FileWay, download and save the file to your personal computer or a USB drive, make changes to the file, re-save the file, and upload the new file to your home directory.

  1. In order to edit files that are saved in your home directory Fileway folder, you must first download and save the file to your personal computer or flash drive.
  2. Start by right-clicking on any file listed in FileWay and select Download, OR click on the Actions button and select Download
  3. Specify where you would like to save the file on your personal computer or flash drive.
  4. Open the file in the associated program and make any changes. For example, if you have a .doc file, open and edit the file using Microsoft Word.
  5. Save the edited file again to your personal computer or flash drive.
  6. If you want to upload an edited file back to FileWay, click on the Upload button on the FileWay toolbar.
  7. This will open the Upload File window. Click on the Select button to open Windows Explorer and browse to the file you want to upload and then click Upload. If you would like to add multiple files, click the Add button and repeat the upload steps. 

FileWay Update January 5, 2017

January 5, 2017 11:00 AM CST - Technology Services ihas updated the FileWay application. FileWay Version 4.5.5 offers improved compatibility, security, a search box and other new features. 

FileWay Mobile

​Apple (iPad, iPhone)

Using your browser on an iPhone or iPad, you will be able to access their files and folders and all of the FileWay features - except for download and upload. To upload or download files, use the FileWay app..

Android  

Access your files and folders through your device browser, much like using a computer. There is not a FileWay app for Android. 

AttachLink and Drop

You can email a link to a file or Drop Folder to yourself or another person. The link can have an expiration date.

drop options

AttachLink allows users to email file attachments as links instead of sending the actual files.

AttachLink Drop allows users to create a Drop Folder to which authorized users may upload files. To authorize users, the owner of the Drop Folder simply sends them a link. FileWay will then generate a temporary User ID and password for each recipient and email that information separately. 

The recipient will get an email titled: Temporary Login ID for: fileway link along with information about how to access the file or dropboxTo access the files or the drop folder, the recipient will click the link, login with the temporary User ID and password.