Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Academic Technology Launchpad: Saving Files

Computer and academic technology resources for students

OneDrive

OneDrive - Madison Collegeonedrive logo

OneDrive is part of Office 365 and provides cloud storage space for your files.

Your college account is a OneDrive for work or school account.

If you choose to, you can also share a file or collaborate with others at the College.

  • Easy to use
  • Access on-campus or off-campus 
  • More space - 1 TB of space in the cloud with your College OneDrive 
  • Secure - Your files are private unless you choose to share them with others at the college
  • Transferable skill - Many workplaces use OneDrive and you could also choose to have a personal OneDrive account

Access OneDrive

OneDrive in apps launcher

  • Microsoft 365 Desktop Apps - Access OneDrive through desktop Microsoft 365 apps such as Word or Excel.
  • Office for the web - Access OneDrive by logging into an online Office app such as Word online. 
  • OneDrive.com - Sign into the OneDrive website with your Madison College email address. If prompted, choose "Work or School Account"

Saving to OneDrive

Using an Office program, choose File - Save As, and you may see the option to save to your OneDrive - Madison College. You may also have a personal OneDrive account option, or you could choose This PC to save to a USB drive or other storage location. You may also set up automatic syncing and AutoSave to OneDrive.

onedrive - Madison College

Upload to OneDrive

You can upload many file types and even folders

Saving Tips

It's a good idea to save early, save often as you're working, and save your important files in a couple places such as a USB drive, email, a personal computer, cloud or other storage location. 

OneDrive for work or school has a recycle bin so if you accidentally delete a file, you may be able to restore it. Items are periodically deleted from the recycle bin. 

How to add a OneDrive file to Blackboard

Former students not currently enrolled at Madison College  

When you graduate or are no longer enrolled at MATC, you can copy your files to another storage location such as a personal OneDrive account or another storage location. 

If you don't see the option to access OneDrive - Madison College, contact Student Technology Help

Save early and often

Do not save to the hard drive or desktop of a campus computer. Your work will not be saved. 

Save - to a USB drive, your Home Directory / H Drive, and/or OneDrive - Madison College or personal cloud storage.

On-campus or virtual desktop: To save to your home directory, Use File, “Save as…”, select your home directory (H:) drive and save the file.

Save early- As soon as you start a document, save it.

Save often - Maybe every paragraph or so. 


Check and back up

Check where you are saving ​Use File-Save As...  When you open a document online, it may automatically save to a temporary location and will be deleted when you log off.  

Backup - email a copy to yourself or save in a couple locations. Protect your important data.  

3rd Floor Health Building / IT Department - H Drive access

Note: IT department computers are on a separate network.

From the 3rd floor of the Truax Health building in the IT department you may need to use FileWay to access your H drive. 

Home Directory Access On-Campus

On-Campus H Drive

Log on to a Windows computer on any MATC campus or to your virtual desktop, and you will be automatically connected to your Home Directory / H drive. Drive identified as H: with your username. 

  • Secure - Data stored on a college server
  • Free - for students, faculty and staff
  • 500 MB storage space for students
  • You will have access to your files while you are enrolled in classes at Madison Area Technical College.

Saving your work - MAC

Saving your work - MAC

Most MAC users seem to find other storage media more useful than their H Drive / home directory due to the space limitations. USB drives and portable hard drives are frequently used. 

FileWay may be used to access your home directory using a MAC, whether on-campus or off-campus. Firefox is the preferred browser when accessing your home directory using a MAC and FileWay.

Home Directory Access Off-Campus

Off-Campus H Drive

Upload or download files in your home directory.

FileWay = a secure, web-based remote file access application. 

To edit a file: download and save the file to your computer, edit and save again, then upload the edited file to FileWay.