Our Profession: Library Diversity Standards
- ALA: Equity, Diversity and InclusionThis extensive page from the American Library Association includes a large collection of resources such as their policy manual on diversity, major initiatives and opportunities for involvement.
- ACRL's Cultural Proficiencies for Racial Equity: A FrameworkACRL (the Association of College and Research Libraries) has put together a framework developed as a tool both theoretical and practical in its orientation, as a guide for developing personal,
organizational, institutional, and systems-level knowledge and understanding of the nature of racism and its many manifestations. - ACRL's Equity, Diversity and Inclusion LibguideACRL's LibGuide includes a variety of educational and training materials for an academic audience.
- Library Bill of Rights with InterpretationAdopted in 1930, and amended over the years, these Bill of Rights serve as a guidepost to librarians in helping individuals and community develop and grow.
CREDO Reference
- The SAGE Handbook of Inclusion and Diversity in EducationThis handbook examines policy and practice from around the world with respect to broadly conceived notions of inclusion and diversity within education.
- Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social JusticeThe Encyclopedia of Diversity and Social Justice is a comprehensive and systematic collection of designated entries that describe, in detail, important diversity and social justice themes.
- Encyclopedia of Race and RacismThe Encyclopedia Of Race And Racism, 2nd Edition, provides critical information and context on the underlying social, economic, geographical, and political conditions that gave rise to, and continue to foster, racism. Religion, political economy, social activism, health, concepts, and constructs are explored. Given the increasingly diverse population of the United States and the rapid effects of globalization, as well as mass and social media, the issue of race in world affairs, history, and culture is of preeminent importance.
- Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity & CultureProvides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective.
Highlighted E-Books and E-Films
Madison College Libraries & Academic Support Services Equity and Inclusion Statements/Goals
Source: Adobe Free Images
Statement: Establish a diverse, unit-wide Continuous Quality Improvement team.
Goal 1: Formally operationalize EDI statements of the College to create improvements. The EDI team will serve as the lead the review process for policy and procedure.
Responsible Parties: Dean of Libraries and Academic Services, Manager Student Achievement Center (SAC), EDI LASS Team Members
Assessment: Diverse internal team is formed with clearly defined mission, goals and actions by September 2020.
Statement: Strengthen the library’s collection development program.
Goal 1: Update the library’s collection development policy to enhance criteria and statements that build more diverse and inclusive collections.
Responsibility Parties: Dean of Libraries and Academic Support Services, Collection Development Librarian
Assessment: Policy is updated to include enhanced criteria and statements by December 2020.
Goal 2: Set the target of 20-25% of monthly purchases to reflect diversity and inclusion to include related works on the social and political, diverse authors, global perspectives, cultural, languages, etc.
Responsible Parties: Collection Development Librarian, Librarians
Assessment: Purchases are reviewed monthly. Annually assess collection to ensure it supports all populations and all programs.
Statement: Provide professional development opportunities, develop and implement training for all level staffing and provide discussion points to support continuous learning and exceptional customer service.
Goal 1: Include opportunity to discuss or share experiences and ideas at all staff meetings.
Responsible Parties: Dean of Librarians and Academic Support, Manager, Student Achievement Center, Library Staff, Student Achievement Center Staff
Assessment: This is included every staff meeting agenda for library and SAC with noted participation each month.
Goal 2: Update and/or create training materials to ensure EDI principles are included in unit-wide training for any new LASS staff.
Responsible Parties: Dean, Libraries and Academic Support, Manager, Student Achievement Center, Library Student Supervisors, SAC Student Supervisors
Assessment: Training materials are completed by July 1, 2021.
Statement: Assess success for students of color and traditionally underrepresented populations through Library Instruction, Supplemental Instruction and special programming like the Digital Backpack Workshops, PAL Program and other services and interventions.
Goal 1: Gather, review and analyze data from appropriate services and interventions.
Responsible Parties: Dean, Libraries and Academic Support Services, Manager, Student Achievement Center, LASS Data and Assessment Team, Project Librarians
Assessment: Dashboard updated and shared with results bi-annually. Programming, services and interventions examined for improvements and/or new support systems determined.
Madison College LibGuides
These guides are created by our Madison College librarian coaches to create one-stop access to information, contacts, data and more on these topics.
Articles
- Workplace DiversityResults found in Opposing Viewpoints related to the issue of Workplace Diversity.
- Corporate D&I-CQ ResearcherAre businesses becoming more diverse and inclusive?
- AntiracisimIssue found in Opposing Viewpoints related to the topic of antiracism.