Skip to main content

Student Parent Resources: Home

Resources for student parents of Madison College.

 

Student Parent Resources Header
 
Welcome to Madison College Libraries' guide for student parents! 
Whether you're just beginning your college career or continuing on,
the resources gathered here can help you balance your home life with the
demands of a college career. 

 

Highlighted Resources

Promising Community College Practices for Student Parent SuccessArticle from ACCT Now describing some of the challenges facing community college students who are also parents, and how some colleges are trying to help. 

Going Back to School as a Parent: Tips for Success: Article from the University of Washington on navigating college while parenting. 

The Great Courses: Raising Emotionally and Socially Healthy Kids: a series of videos on helping children develop. It includes twelve videos and may be accessed through the Libraries' subscription to the database Kanopy. If viewing off campus, you will be asked to log in with your Madison College username and password. 

 

The Great Courses: Raising Emotionally Healthy Kids

 

Parent and child from waist

All of the below services are available for free at our college to current students. 

Academic Services

  • Computer Help is provided to all of our students free of charge. We can help you with BlackBoard, student email, software, and much more. Come in to your campus library, or reach out via email or phone. Help is available seven days a week for most of the year. 
  • Book a Librarian allows you to make a one-on-one appointment with a librarian at your campus for help with research, citations, or technology. 
  • Book a Study Room at the library to work with other students in your own collaborative study space. Our rooms feature large monitors which can be hooked up to your own laptop (or borrow one of ours). Study rooms are also available in some of our Student Achievement Centers
  • Tutoring is available at our Student Achievement Centers. See peer or faculty tutors for help with math, science, languages, reading and more. Schedules vary by campus, so check the Student Achievement Center website for more information. 
  • Brainfuse is an online tutoring service provided to our students by the Libraries and Student Achievement Centers. You can access tutoring help from any location, and all you need is a computer. Help is available in a variety of subjects, and some tutors are available 24/7. 
  • The Writing Center provides professional teachers and peer tutors who will review any written assignment for grammar, structure, citations and more to help you achieve a better grade. You can make an appointment online ahead of time when it's convenient for you, or send your paper in electronically. 

Other Services and Ways To Get Involved

  • Madison College Child and Family Center provides child care for students and staff at the Truax campus location. Check their page for information on enrollment, rates and more. 
  • Mothers' Resources at Madison College provides links and information for moms on campus, including information on places to breastfeed. Be sure to check out Madison College Momsa Facebook group designed to connect mothers and moms to be at the College. 
  • Student Counseling is available at each of our campus locations. You can see a counselor for career, academic or personal advice. 
  • Advising Services are available at every campus, and can help you figure out which classes to take for your program, focus on an area of study, find out more information for transferring and much more. 
  • Student Clubs and Organizations provide an important sense of connection for college students. There are a variety of opportunities for current students to join, including the academic honor society Phi Theta Kappa and many other clubs.
  • Career and Employment Services provide job search advice, help with finding employment, information on careers and more. 
  • Explore the Current Students webpage for more information on services. 

Mother and Child

Paying for Child Care

  • The Wisconsin Shares Child Care Subsidy Program assists families in paying for child care so parents can go to school or work. Visit their webpage for more information on applying for the program, which is available to low-income families with children under the age of 13.  
  • The City of Madison Child Care Program provides assistance in paying for child care to families living in Madison who are working, going to school or job seeking. This program is available for families who are ineligible for the Wisconsin Shares Child Care program. 
  • The Child Care Tuition Assistance Program is available for students of UW Madison, and is also accepted by our on-campus child care center. 

Finding Child Care

  • Madison College Child and Family Center provides child care for students and staff at the Truax campus location. Check their page for information on enrollment, rates and more. Some scholarships for child care are available to our students. 
  • UW Madison's Office of Child Care and Family Resources website provides information for UW Madison students related to child care options on campus and off. If you're planning on transferring to UW Madison, be aware that although they do provide child care, there is often a waiting list. 
  • Youngstar, created by the Wisconsin Department of Children and Families, provides ratings for all licensed child care providers in the state. 
  • The Wisconsin Head Start Association can help you locate a Head Start program in your area. Head Start is a program available for 3-5 year olds which focuses on school readiness, and is provided at no cost to eligible families.

 

Alphabet
Studying With Kids

Person Reading Book

Saving Money While in College

  • Emergency Funds are available at certain points in the academic year for students experiencing financial hardship. 
  • Scholarships are available both through Madison College's Foundation, and external groups. See the scholarship webpage or ask an academic advisor for more information. 
  • Financial Aid Support is available for many of our students. This can help cover the cost of classes, textbooks and other expenses. See an academic advisor or view the webpage to fill out your FAFSA, which must be completed each year. 
  • Free software! Students of Madison College are eligible for free Office 365 pro plus, which includes Microsoft Word, PowerPoint, Excel and more. Need help installing? Stop in at the library and we can show you how.
  • Financial Aid Book Charge is a service which allows our students to use financial aid funds to pay for textbooks at the bookstore. 
  • Madison College Libraries offer many textbooks to use via our Course Reserves. Use our reserves search tool to see if any of your books are available. Some books may only be used in the library, while others may be taken home for a short loan period. Ask in the library for more details. 

 

Parenting Resources

                                                                                                                                                                 

 

  • Why Reading Aloud to Kids Helps Them Thrive: Tips from PBS Parents on effective strategies for reading to young children. 
     
  • Check out what's available at our campus libraries for children  of all ages here. Most items can be sent to any campus for you to pick up (after clicking on a book's title, select "Place Hold"). 
     
  • Common Sense Media is a nonprofit organization which provides parents with ideas for developmentally appropriate books and other media for children based on age. 

 

  • Resources and Programs for Parents in Dane County from the Dane County United Way, including free programs to encourage parenting skills. 
     
  • PBS Parents provides a wealth of information on parenting, child development, behavior and more. 
     
  • Mindfulness for Children from the New York Times, provides a starting place to learn more about mindfulness techniques which can be taught to kids.
     
  • Bundoo.com is an educational website featuring evidence-based content on parenting, child development and more, with content from physicians. 

Check out StorylineOnline for more fun videos with celebrities reading classic picture books. 

Loading ...

Child Care

Madison College Child and Family Center provides child care for students and staff at the Truax campus location. Check their webpage for information on enrollment, rates and more. 

Contact information:

Child and Family Center
Truax Campus, Room D1683
1701 Wright Street
Madison, WI 53704
(608) 246-6766

Books From Madison College Libraries

Most books in the Madison College Library collection can be borrowed for 28 days. If something is not at your preferred campus location, simply click the "Place Hold" button to have it sent to your campus. 

Call us at 608-246-6640 for more help.