Skip to main content

Student Mental Health: Home

Mental Health resources for students, both on and off campus.

Free Counseling For Students

Madison College offers
free counseling services to all current and prospective students. 

The college's counseling professionals are here to help with:

  • academic and career counseling
  • conflict management
  • crisis counseling
  • personal counseling and more. 

All services are confidential. See the counseling website for more information. 


National Suicide Prevention Lifeline Logo

If you are in distress or crisis, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is available to help 24 hours a day at 1-800-273-8255


Crisis Text Line Logo

Crisis Text Line offers free, 24/7 help via text. From your mobile phone, text HOME to 741741.

 

Photo courtesy of Pixabay user Chezbeate
 
Welcome to Madison College Libraries' mental health resource guide. 

This guide is intended as a place for our students to locate the resources they need to maintain and improve their mental health.
In addition, students will be able to conduct research on mental health topics for academic purposes. 

Are we missing anything here? Comments or questions? Contact librarian Autumn Hall-Tun.

Highlighted Resources

Kati Morton, licensed therapist, offers some pointers on managing school related stress.
Her YouTube channel offers weekly mental health related videos. 

 

The Great Courses: Make Stress Work For You

Make Stress Work For You is a video series from The Great Courses, available through the library's subscription database, Kanopy. The series includes 18 episodes such as Emergency Stress Management, Alternative Approaches to Stress and more. If you're accessing the database from off campus, you will be asked to log in with your Madison College username and password. 

 

NAMI National Alliance on Mental Illness Logo

NAMI is the National Alliance on Mental Illness. They educate on, and advocate for, mental health issues for all Americans. Check out the Find Support section of their website for more information about NAMI affiliated resources in Wisconsin. 

Support spelled out with Scrabble tiles
Photo courtesy of Pixabay user Wokandapix


Free Counseling Services on Campus

Madison College offers free counseling services to all current and prospective students. These professionals are here to help with academic and career counseling, conflict management, crisis counseling and personal counseling.
Click HERE for more information, or to schedule an appointment. 

 

Counseling Resources- Madison Area

Journey Mental Health Center is a community resource in Madison. They provide individual, group and family therapy. They can help with a variety of topics, including substance abuse issues. Journey offers "a sliding fee scale for services not covered by insurance or other benefits." Contact them for more information. 
 

SOAR Case Management Services is located in Madison, and offers a variety of mental health related services for adults with mental health or substance abuse concerns. They offer a number of regular support groups. 
 

NAMI Dane County offers classes, peer support groups, and more for people who have had a mental illness. 
 

The Dane County Human Services: Mental Health Resources provides a collection of links to local human services related resources of use to anyone living in Dane County. 

 

Regional Campus Resources

Each of our regional campuses offers a professional counselor for students. Our counselors can help with a variety of issues.

To make an appointment, call the welcome center of your regional campus, or contact your regional counselor. 

Eastern region counselor: Tamie Roberts  tjroberts@madisoncollege.edu  920-568-7234
Fort Atkinson welcome center: 920-568-7200 
Watertown welcome center: 920-206-8000

 

Northern Region Counselor: Annie Bruns  abruns1@madisoncollege.edu 
Portage welcome center: 608-745-3100

Reedsburg welcome center: 608-524-7800


 

In the regional campus communities, the following resources are available:

Columbia County Human Services: Behavioral Health and Long Term Support

Jefferson County Human Services

Sauk County Human Services: Mental Health and Recovery
 

Online Help

If you are in distress or crisis, the National Suicide Prevention Lifeline is available to help 24 hours a day at 1-800-273-8255

The Trevor Project provides crisis intervention and suicide prevention services to LGBTQ individuals under the age of 25. They offer help over the phone, or via text or chat. 

The Crisis Text Line offers free, 24/7 confidential crisis support and help via text. 

 

Books available at Madison College Libraries

(Please note: Physical library collection unavailable until May 18th, 2020)


College can be one of the most
stressful times in a person's life. 
Having a few strategies to manage and release stress 
is crucial to maintaining the balance we need.
The resources on this page are provided as inspiration
to help you build your own stress management strategy. 

 

Physical Activity

Exercise can be an amazing way to release built-up stress. 
Even a few minutes can make a big difference. 

Check out Yoga With Adriene for more free videos.


Madison College offers numerous opportunities to help you in your health and wellness journey:

Therapuetic Massage Clinic

Yoga and Meditation

Fitness Center

Group Fitness Classes

Swimming Pool

See the college's Health and Wellness page for more information. 

Laughter

Bookmark some comics or videos you can return to and take your mind off of stressful things. 

Comic by Sarah Andersen

 

Comic by Sarah Andersen

Check out Go Comics for more. 

Meditation and Mindfulness

If you're at the Truax campus, check out our
free drop-in meditation drop in sessions. 

Not at the Truax campus? There are many resources
available to help you start a meditation or mindfulness practice. 

 

The Great Courses: Practicing Mindfulness Image

Madison College Libraries subscribes to the database Kanopy, which gives our students access to documentary series such as
The Great Courses: Practicing Mindfulness.
The series has 24 videos. If accessing from off campus, students will
be asked to log in with their Madison College username and password. 


Click here to see other materials on the subject available via
Madison College Libraries. 


 

Find books, DVDs, streaming media, and ebooks in the Madison College Libraries catalog

Madison College Libraries Logo


Need a book that's located at another campus or library system?
We offer free Interlibrary Loan service. Materials typically arrive in 2-10 days.
No textbooks or reserve items, please. 

Click here to request an item from another campus or library.

We also offer several e-book collections covering many different topics.

Click here to check out our e-books and learn more about using them.

Reaching Out

Find community that can help support you in tough times. 

In Person

Madison College Student Life offers many
different activities for students through
the year. If you're at the Truax campus, Student
Life is centrally located adjacent to the campus
bookstore. The Wolfpack Den is a great place to relax. 

 

At our other campuses, ask our welcome center
staff how students can get involved in Student Life Activities. 


See the following links for more information: 

Student Clubs and Organizations

Start a Club

Campus Entertainment and Activities

 

You Are Enough With Rainbow

Illustration by Little Earthlings

 

Online

Supportive, positive communities are available
via many social media platforms. Finding a group
of like-minded people to connect to can help. 

 

Books available at Madison College Libraries

(Please note: Physical library collection unavailable until May 18th, 2020)

Researching a mental health related topic for a class paper or project? Your librarians are here to help!

The following resources provide some great places to locate credible sources.

Stop in at your campus library or schedule an appointment with a librarian for more assistance. 

 

Databases
 

The Madison College Libraries provide a selection of credible databases for student research, available HERE

If accessing the databases from off campus, users will be asked to log in with their Madison College username and password. 

Specific databases to try include:

Academic Search Complete 

PsycARTICLES 

Opposing Viewpoints


Madison College Libraries Catalog
 

Check out the Madison College Libraries Catalog for a variety of credible sources including articles, books, e-books, streaming films and more. Start by doing a keyword search in the box below. 
 

  

 

Madison College Libraries Logo


Need a book that's located at another campus or library system?
We offer free Interlibrary Loan service. Materials typically arrive in 2-10 days. No textbooks or reserve items, please. 

Click here to request an item from another campus or library.

We also offer several e-book collections covering many different topics.

Click here to check out our e-books and learn more about using them.

Streaming FIlms

In addition to article databases, The Madison College Libraries provide the following streaming film databases: 

 

Kanopy allows you to stream modern documentary films in a variety of subjects and disciplines using your web browser. From off-campus, your Madison College username and password will be required before you can browse. Click HERE to start searching. 

Highlighted films available via Kanopy:

Going Sane: The State of Mental Health Care in America

Crazywise

Inside Out Series
 


Films On Demand logo
 

Films On Demand [FOD] is an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to the faculty, staff and students at Madison College.  From off-campus, your Madison College username and password will be required before you can watch films. 
Click HERE to search the database. 

Highlighted films available via Films on Demand: 

Feel Good: Natural Remedies for Depression

Battling Eating Disorders

Selected Articles


College Students and Mental Health

As Students Struggle With Stress and Depression, Colleges Act As Counselors (New York Times, 2/21/19)

Colleges Expand Their Reach to Address Mental Health Issues (New York Times, 2/21/19)

The Most Popular Office On Campus (The Atlantic, 10/19/16)

Colleges Should Focus More on Community and Connections to Address Student Mental Health Issues (Inside Higher Ed, 5/29/19)

Anxiety 'Epidemic' Brewing On College Campuses, Researchers Find (Berkeley News, 4/18/19)


Biology

Researchers Discover 'Anxiety Cells' In The Brain (NPR, 1/13/18)


Reports

Dane County Youth Assessment provides a study of Dane County youth in grades 7-12 and includes data on mental health topics. Updated in 2018. 

Student Mental Health: The Role and Experiences of Academics (King's College London/University of Derby, 2018)

Starting the Conversation: College and Your Mental Health (NAMI, 2016)

Adverse Childhood Experiences and the Lifelong Consequences of Trauma (American Academy of Pediatrics, 2014)

Podcasts
 

The Happiness Lab Podcast Logo

The Happiness Lab 

Hosted by Yale professor Dr. Laurie Santos, this podcast discusses psychology and the study of happiness, including some of the latest research. 

The Hidden Brain Podcast Logo

Hidden Brain: NPR

Host Shankar Vedantam narrates this podcast from NPR, which covers a variety of psychology-related topics including work, identity, development, social media, and more. 

 

Books available at Madison College Libraries

(Please note: Physical library collection unavailable until May 18th, 2020)

Articles From The National Institute of Mental Health

Loading ...