Websites - Current Law
- U.S. Federal Regulations - Regulations.gov - Browse PageRegulations.gov is your source for information on the development of Federal regulations and other related documents issued by the U.S. government.
- Consumer Protection Law - WisconsinThe Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection is the state’s primary consumer protection agency.
Websites - Legal History
- Famous Trials in World HistoryUniversity of Missouri - Kansas City School of Law
- Human Rights Library - University of MinnesotaThe University of Minnesota Human Rights Library houses one of the largest collections of more than sixty thousand core human rights documents, including several hundred human rights treaties and other primary international human rights instruments.
- Japanese War Crimes - Joseph Berry Keenan CollectionFrom Harvard University
- National Archives - Legal ResourcesLinks to laws and legal information including Federal law, court opinions, treaties, legal dictionaries and journals, and copyright information.
- Nuremburg Trials Archive - Cornell Law LibraryThe Donovan Nuremberg Trials collection consists of nearly 150 bound volumes of Nuremberg trial transcripts and documents from the personal archives of General William J. Donovan (1883-1959). The Donovan papers contain both original statements from the defendants in German and typed translations in English prepared by the Allies following the defeat of Germany in World War 2.
- Yale Avalon Project: Documents in Legal HistoryDocuments in law, history, & diplomacy
Library Resources - Law and Society
Dictionary of Law by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 071368318XPublication Date: 2007-09-03The newest terms and expressions clearly defined.
Dictionary of Prisons and Punishment by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1843922924Publication Date: 2007-11-01
Crime, Law and Enforcement: Due Process
Low-Wage Immigrant Workers Are Especially Vulnerable to Sexual Abuse. How Can They Say #MeToo?
Women Behind Bars: Life and Death in Indiana—Part 1
Whistleblowers - Reference Shelf by
Each book in the Reference Shelf series offers extensive, unbiased exploration of a topic of importance in modern society, in a compilation of notable articles from respected publications, abstracts of 20 to 30 additional articles, and a bibliography of o
Call Number: 364.41 W576 (Truax)ISBN: 1619256916Publication Date: 2015-04-01
Missoula by
From bestselling author Jon Krakauer, a stark, powerful, meticulously reported narrative about a series of sexual assaults at the University of Montana -- stories that illuminate the human drama behind the national plague of campus rape.
Call Number: 362.8830978 K89ISBN: 0385538731Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Killing Trayvons by
Killing Trayvons: An Anthology of American Violence tracks the case and explores why Trayvon's name and Geo Zimmerman's not guilty verdict symbolized all the grieving, the injustice, the profiling and free passes based on white privilege and police power Trayvons, male and female, known and unknown.
Call Number: 363.2308909 K48 (Watertown)ISBN: 0692213996Publication Date: 2014-12-15
Sexual Assault and the Military by
This volume of the At Issue Series explores the issue of sexual assault in the military, touching on topics such as if sexual assault in the military is a longstanding problem, or is the epidemic spurred by the inclusion of women in more areas of the military, and has the repeal of Don't Ask, Don't Tell been a factor in increased sexual assault on both women and men
Call Number: 364.1532088 SE518 (Truax)ISBN: 0737771887Publication Date: 2015-02-06
Minorities and the Law by
This volume in the At Issue Series examines issues surrounding minorities and the law, including affirmative action, voter ID laws, and racial profilin
Call Number: 323.11 M666 (Truax)ISBN: 9780737771800Publication Date: 2015-02-06
Privacy in the Modern Age by
The threats to privacy are well known: the National Security Agency tracks our phone calls; Google records where we go online and how we set our thermostats; Facebook changes our privacy settings when it wishes; Target gets hacked and loses control of our credit card information; our medical records are available for sale to strangers; our children are fingerprinted and their every test score saved for posterity; and small robots patrol our schoolyards and drones may soon fill our skies. The contributors to this anthology don’t simply describe these problems or warn about the loss of privacy--they propose solutions. They look closely at business practices, public policy, and technology design, and ask, "Should this continue? Is there a better approach?”
Call Number: 323.4480973 P961 (Watertown)ISBN: 9781620971079Publication Date: 2015-05-12
Sisters in Law by
Linda Hirshman’s dual biography includes revealing stories of how these trailblazers fought for recognition in a male-dominated profession—battles that would ultimately benefit every American woman. Hirshman also makes clear how these two justices have shaped the legal framework of modern feminism, setting precedent in cases dealing with employment discrimination, abortion, affirmative action, sexual harassment, and many other issues crucial to women’s lives.
Call Number: 347.732634 H669 (Portage)ISBN: 9780062238467Publication Date: 2015-09-01
The Loving Story (2013), Call Number: 346.73016 T374 DVD (Downtown)
How to Die in Oregon (2012), Call Number: 179.7 H847 DVD (Truax)
Hot Coffee (2011), Call Number: 346.730323 H832 DVD (Truax)
Incident at Oglala (1992), Call Number 323.1197 I37 DVD (Truax)
Fear of 13 (2016), Call Number 365.6 F288 DVD (Truax)
Selma: the brige to the ballot (2015), Call Number 323.0976145 SE468 DVD (Truax)
