Library Resources - Comparative Politics
Library Resources - Comparative Politics & Int'l Relations
The Essentials of Global Politics by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0340816910Publication Date: 2006-09-14
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Diplomacy by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0230302998Publication Date: 2012-03-15
Encyclopedia of Violence, Peace, and Conflict by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0123695031Publication Date: 2008-09-26
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0313307431Publication Date: 2002-05-30
The Atlas of Global Inequalities by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0520268229Publication Date: 2011-02-01
Putin's Revenge: Frontline
Wired: Gaming, Hacking, and Cyber Assaults in Korea (2012)
Syrian Diaries: Women of the Uprising
Kenya: Inside Out (2018)
Chaos in Iraq - Bill Moyers
Boko Haram - Origins of Evil
Iran and the United States by Call Number: 327.73055 M985ISBN: 1628920076Publication Date: 2014-05-22Seyed Hossein Mousavian worked for over 30 years on diplomatic efforts between Iran and the West, serving in numerous official posts, and as a confidante, colleague, and peer to many former and current high ranking Iranian officials, including now-President Hassan Rouhani and Iranian Foreign Minister Javad Zarif. Here the former diplomat gives an insider's history of the troubled relationship between Iran and the US. His unique firsthand perspective blends memoir, analysis, and never before seen details of the many near misses in the quest for rapprochement. With so much at stake, the book concludes with a roadmap for peace that both nations so desperately need.
The New Cold War by Call Number: 327.4701821 L933ISBN: 1137280034Publication Date: 2014-07-29Since The New Cold War was first published in February 2008, Russia has become more authoritarian and corrupt, its institutions are weaker, and reforms have fizzled. In this revised and updated third edition, Lucas includes a new preface on the Crimean crisis, including analysis of the dismemberment of Ukraine, and a look at the devastating effects it may have from bloodshed to economic losses. Lucas reveals the asymmetrical relationship between Russia and the West, a result of the fact that Russia is prepared to use armed force whenever necessary, while the West is not. Hard-hitting and powerful, The New Cold War is a sobering look at Russia's current aggression and what it means for the world.
Arab Spring Dreams by Call Number: 305.2350956 AR658ISBN: 0230115926Publication Date: 2012-05-08Arab Spring Dreams spotlights some of the Middle East's most outspoken young dissidents. The essayists cover a wide range of experiences, including premarital sex, the lack of educational opportunities, teenage marriage, and the fight for political freedom.
Middle East and South Asia 2014 by Call Number: 956 R965 (Downtown)ISBN: 1475812353Publication Date: 2014-08-21This volume is designed to place in context the passionate controversies and emotional attachments of the two billion people who live, study, work, love, and die in the Middle East and South Asia. Understanding these regions means more than annually-updated details of the governments, politics, cultures, and economies of the twenty-four nations and assorted territories.
Sing the Rage by Call Number: 179.8 C435ISBN: 022611998XPublication Date: 2014-04-23Sing the Rage, Sonali Chakravarti wrestles with this question through a careful look at the emotionally charged South African Truth and Reconciliation Commission, which from 1996 to 1998 saw, day after day, individuals taking the stand to speak ;to cry, scream, and wail; about the atrocities of apartheid. Uncomfortable and surprising, these public emotional displays, she argues, proved to be of immense value, vital to the success of transitional justice and future political possibilities.
War Child by Call Number: 962.4043 J26ISBN: 0312602979Publication Date: 2010-02-02As Sudan's civil war moved closer--with the Islamic government seizing tribal lands for water, oil, and other resources--Jal's family moved again and again, seeking peace. Then, on one terrible day, Jal was separated from his mother, and later learned she had been killed; his father Simon rose to become a powerful commander in the Christian Sudanese Liberation Army, fighting for the freedom of Sudan. Soon, Jal was conscripted into that army, one of 10,000 child soldiers, and fought through two separate civil wars over nearly a decade.
Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry
Call Number: 709.2 AI288 DVD
This is a documentary that chronicles artist and activist Ai Weiwei as he prepares for a series of exhibitions and gets into an increasing number of clashes with the Chinese government.
Khodorkovskii : how the richest man in Russia became its most famous prisoner
Call Number: 320.947 K45 DVD
In October 2003, Mikhail Khodorkovsky, former head of the Russian oil company Yukos, was arrested on charges of tax evasion and fraud. This documentary uncovers the story behind his arrest and subsequent conviction, the story of a man who has transformed from the wealthiest man in Russia into a martyr for the cause of political freedom and rule of law.
Cocalero: (Bolivia & Politics)
Call Number: 984.052 C659 DVD
Born out of the U.S. war on drugs, an Aymara Indian nemed Evo Morales - backed by a troop of coca leaf farners - travels through the Andes and Amazon in jeans and sneakers, leading a historic bid to become Bolivia's first Indiginous president. The filmmakers, granted astonishing up close and personal access to Evo, capture the intimate moments of this controversial figure and his triumphant rise to power. A story of geopolitics, people's movements, indiginous culture, and one man's impressive determination, Cocalero is a "luminous portrait of working people in a rare triumph against U.S. imperialism."
We Steal Secrets: The Story of Wikileaks
Call Number: 352.379 W361 DVD
Details the creation of the WikiLeaks website by Julian Assange, which facilitated the largest security breach in United States history.
To search for articles, click either of the two databases below. If you are off-campus, you will be asked to login using your College username and password.
Try any of the following search terms (subject terms) in your searches:
- Comparative Government
- International Relations
- International Affairs
- Political Systems
- Political Science
- Politics & Government
- Politics & Culture
- World Politics
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General. The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Art, Communications, Education, English, Foreign Languages, History, Literature, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Speech, and Theatre.
Websites: Comparative Politics
- Comparative Politics Guide: Vanderbilt UniversityExhaustive links collection for comparing political systems worldwide.
- CIA World FactbookThe World Factbook provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
- World BankThe World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. Our mission is to fight poverty with passion and professionalism for lasting results and to help people help themselves and their environment by providing resources, sharing knowledge, building capacity and forging partnerships in the public and private sectors.
- World Bank: Open Data (World Development Indicators)This link takes you to the data 'by country' page, but you can look by topic also.
- World Digital LibraryMaps from 8000 B.C. to the present.
- BBC News - Nation ProfilesFull profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives. - U.S. State Department - Background Sheets (Bilateral Relations Fact-Sheets)Brief summary of main aspects of relations between nations and the U.S. Government.
- Council on Foreign RelationsThe Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher. Each of these functions make CFR an indispensable resource in a complex world.
- Center for International PolicyThe Center for International Policy promotes cooperation, transparency and accountability in global relations. Through research and advocacy, our programs address the most urgent threats to our planet: war, corruption, inequality and climate change.
Country Information & Websites for International Relations
- Comparative Politics Guide: Vanderbilt UniversityExhaustive links collection for comparing political systems worldwide.
- CountryWatch (Requires off-campus login)CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data, including country overviews, international news sources, election reports, maps, world health reports and intelligence briefings.
- National Geographic MapsInteractive maps of the U.S. and the world.
- Emerging from ConflictThe EFC program attempts to improve dialogue and discussion between key actors in the international relations and foreign and security policy communities of the United States and the target countries.
- Foreign Policy in Focus (Issues)FPIF provides timely analysis of U.S. foreign policy and international affairs and recommends policy alternatives.