Remote Learning Guide: Internet/ WiFi Options

eduroam

eduroam is a secure worldwide federated network access service developed for the international research and education community.

Madison College is a member of eduroam, so you can use your Madison College credentials at any eduroam-enabled school and get instant network connectivity. This also means visitors from participating schools can get wireless network connectivity at Madison College campuses.

Free or Discounted Internet Options for Students:

Wisconsin Public WiFi Locations Map -

Here is a map of public WiFi locations available throughout the state of Wisconsin

Affordable Connectivity Program (replaced Emergency Broadband Benefit) -

The benefit provides a discount of up to $30 per month toward internet service for eligible households and up to $75 per month for households on qualifying Tribal lands. Eligible households can also receive a one-time discount of up to $100 to purchase a laptop, desktop computer, or tablet from participating providers if they contribute more than $10 and less than $50 toward the purchase price. Participating providers in Wisconsin.

Internet Service Provider Discounts -

Some internet service providers may continue to offer student discounts. Check with your local internet service provider for details. Here is a complete list of internet providers in your area:

Charter -  https://www.spectrum.com/services/wisconsin

Charter will offer free Spectrum broadband and Wi-Fi access for 60 days to households with K-12 and/or college students who do not already have a Spectrum broadband subscription and at any service level up to 100 Mbps. To enroll call 1-844-488-8395. Installation fees will be waived for new student households.

Comcast - https://www.xfinity.com/locations/internet-service-providers-in-my-area

New customers will receive 60 days of complimentary Internet Essentials service, which is normally available to all qualified low-income households for $9.95/month. Additionally, for all new and existing Internet Essentials customers, the speed of the program’s Internet service was increased to 25 Mbps downstream and 3 Mbps upstream.

TDS - https://hellotds.com/

New customers with students or financial need will be eligible for 60 days of free internet access, to help assist with work- or school-at-home scenarios. Call 1-866-278-2472 or visit https://hellotds.com/

Other major internet providers in Wisconsin:

• AT&T: https://www.att.com/local/internet/wisconsin
• CenturyLink: https://www.getcenturylink.com/availability/wi
• Frontier: https://go.frontier.com/availability/wi

For a complete list of internet providers in your area:

Hotspot Models Available through Madison College

The College has an inventory of hotspots available for student use for semester-long checkout. These mobile hotspots are activated with data plans provided by T-Mobile (Sprint) and US Cellular. At no cost to students. Visit the Technology Access Program page to submit a request to borrow a hotspot. Please contact us by phone at 608-243-4444 or email if you have any questions about requesting a hotspot. Below is information about some of the models that are available. 

Alcatel Linkzone 2

JEXtream RG2100 5G

MiFi 8000

MiFi M2000 5G

Coverage Area Information:

• Unfortunately we cannot 100% guarantee these hotspots will work in every area. 
• Most hotspots will work anywhere a cell phone works.
• Check https://www.t-mobile.com/coverage/coverage-map to see what the T-Mobile coverage is in your area.
• Check https://www.uscellular.com/coverage-map for the coverage available with the U.S. Cellular models.

Other Options:

• Consider using your cell phone as a hotspot. Please note this option may require additional data through your wireless provider.
• Consider purchasing a hotspot from a wireless provider that does provide coverage in your area.
• If funding is needed for either of those options, the College does encourage students to apply for emergency funding to help you cover the cost.

Wireless Access - MC-Secure

The College has expanded the MC-Secure WiFi access to various campus parking lots. If you're having connectivity issues with your home internet access, you can drive to campus and connect your device to MC-Secure to complete coursework. Please read details and regulations below regarding the use of this service:

• MC-Secure WiFi is available between 7:00am – 8:00pm, 7 days/week.
• You will need to log in with your Madison College username and password.

Madison Campuses:

• Truax – parking area north side of Health and Information Technology Building
• Goodman South – parking area nearest back/south entrance

Regional Campuses:

• Fort Atkinson – parking area – first, second rows of parking area on north side of building
• Watertown – parking area – first and second rows
• Portage – parking area – first and second rows
• Reedsburg – parking area on east and north sides of the building

Additional Assistance:

• If you need help logging into MC-Secure WiFi, visit our Wireless help guide or contact us directly at 608-243-4444.
• General information for troubleshooting home internet connection issues.