Required EZproxy Link Updates by June 2, 2025
The EZproxy prefix will be changing starting on June 2nd. Anytime between now and June 2, update your links with the new EZproxy prefix. Starting June 2nd, links with the old prefix will no longer work.
Old Prefix:
https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url=
New Prefix:
https://login.madisoncollegelibraries.idm.oclc.org/login?url=
Browse tabs on our library linking libguide to view vendor-specifc linking guidelines
To Do - Update links to library materials
- Browser bookmarks
- Links in Brightspace
- Saved links in documents
*Note: Updates to links on our library websites are being completed by library staff.*
What is a permalink?
What is a permalink or persistent link?
Reusable, stable links (Durable links, persistent links, permalinks, stable URLs, bookmarks)
- Link directly to a particular article, video, publication, or database
- Can be added to your Brightspace courses, assignments or emailed with other licensed users
- Copyright compliant
- Link Madison College users to content with appropriate login credentials
- Note: Persistent links are often different from the URLs which appear in your browser address bar
To ensure Off Campus Access:
- Access is resources shared via permalinks is restricted to current students, faculty, and staff.
- Off-campus users must authenticate (log in) to Madison College Libraries via EZproxy
- Generally, our college EZproxy prefix should be added to the database link, if madisoncollege is not already part of the URL
Why use permalinks?
Why use permalinks?
The library pays for access to research databases that include articles, books, and videos. These resources are only for students, faculty, and staff connected to the college. To make sure only our community can use them, the library uses a system called a proxy server for off-campus access.
To work correctly off-campus, the web link (URL) to the resource needs to include special proxy information. If you just copy the link from your browser’s address bar, it usually won’t have the correct information to allow continued access. That means people off-campus won’t be able to log in and use the resource.
Permalinks are special links that include the right login info for off-campus access. They also help us follow copyright rules and licensing agreements with our database providers.
You can use permalinks in Brightspace or share them by email with others at the college.
This guide shows you how to find, sometimes create, and use permalinks from our most popular databases. Each section of the guide focuses on a specific database or group of databases and gives step-by-step instructions for where to find or how to create the permalink.
EZproxy URL creator
In order to access articles, books, or databases off campus, your URL needs to have https://login.madisoncollegelibraries.idm.oclc.org/login?url= IN FRONT OF YOUR URL in order to prompt the proxy-server to provide a login box to authenticate your access.
If the permanent link provided by a database does not already put this prefix on your URL, you can do it here:
EZproxy URL Creator
|
