Skip to main content

Digital Backpack Workshop Series: Home

Logo with title of workshop series

Tutoring Options in a Remote Learning World

After class is over where can you turn for help?  The Student Achievement Center (SAC) offers a range of free, live, online academic support options to Madison College students. Explore the resources available through the SAC and discover ways in which you can connect to tutors and SAC staff.

Audience: prospective and current students, and parents, Madison College faculty and staff.
Thursday July 9                     12:
00pm
Thursday July 23                     2:00pm


Thursday August 6                 11:00am

Thursday August 20               12:00pm

Virtual Connections: video conferencing tools
Video conferencing programs have become essential in our current environment for online learning, social connections, and more. There's a wide variety of tools being used and it can be intimidating for even seasoned online learners. Join us for an introduction to WebEx, Blackboard Collaborate, Microsoft Teams, and Zoom. We will explore how they are used for online learning and connecting with friends and family.

Audience: prospective and current students, parents, community.  
Monday June 29           3:00pm

Library Research 101
Your professor has told you to use a database article for your upcoming paper. Where do you go, and what do you do? This workshop will go over the basics of library research, including what databases we have, how to access them from home, and how to find the articles you need to succeed.

Audience: prospective and current students, parents, community.  
Friday, July 17              2:00pm

Digital Citizenship: take charge of your online world
This workshop will explore the basics of being safe, smart, and socially responsible in the Digital World. 

Audience: all audiences.
Tuesday July 28                  2:00pm

Wednesday August 12       11:00am

eBooks at Madison College Libraries
In addition to the print collection, Madison College libraries have a wide variety of Ebooks available for students, staff, and faculty—and they’re all available from home! Join this workshop to learn more about what books are available and where to find them, including materials for class and for fun.

Audience: prospective and current students, parents.  

Wednesday, July 1       11:00am
Monday, July 13            2:00pm

Evidence-based Research using CINAHL, Pubmed and Cochrane Reviews 
Whether you're new to evidenced-based research or need a quick refresher, stop in to see a demonstration using 3 different databases for evidence based research.

Audience: prospective and current students, parents, community.  
Wednesday July 1          1:30pm 
Wednesday July 29        1:30pm

Are You Equipped? Tech Specs Needed for College
Get geared up, literally, for College. We’ll talk about minimum and recommended tech specs for students at Madison College. While we won’t recommend specific brands or products, we will give general recommendations on equipment you may need to be successful. Internet access and some of the no cost and discounted software options available to you as a student at the College will be discussed.

Audience: prospective and current students, and parents.
Thursday July 2             11:00am

Monday July 27               2:00pm

Tuesday August 4           2:00pm

Tuesday August 11        10:00am

Monday August 17          2:30pm

Wednesday August 19    1:00pm

Friday August 21             2:00pm

Thursday August 27       12:00pm

Summer Breeze: essential tools for online summer classes
Taking classes online is a breeze with the tools provided by Madison College.  Join us for a brief overview of how to set up your computer to access and install the virtual desktop, creating and saving online files, and accessing Office 365.  You will leave with a toolbox to help you succeed after the session.

Audience: prospective and current students, parents. 

Thursday July 2               2:00pm

What Do You Mean, Full-Text Not Available?
Learn how Inter-library Loan and Google Scholar can help you find the full-text from citations where it's not in the database.

Audience: prospective and current students, parents, staff. 
Monday, July 6              2:00pm
Monday, July 20            11:
00am

Thursday, August 6       2:00pm
Thursday, August 20     11:00am

Don’t Take the Bait! fighting fake news in the global pandemic era
Good information is always of great value, yet when lives are on the line, it’s more important than ever to have the tools to fight disinformation, rumors and exaggeration. We will discuss some strategies for dodging the worst kind of news and how to slow down before you believe or share what you see on social media.

Audience: all audiences.
Tuesday July 7             12:00pm
Wednesday July 22      2:
00pm

Private Eyes, They're Watching You: privacy online
In this current all-online environment of education, it might be more important than ever to take a little time to consider privacy issues as you navigate around looking for information. This workshop will explore some strategies to use with browsers and apps, as well as provide some helpful hints from the library's Privacy Research Guide: https://libguides.madisoncollege.edu/onlinesecurity/privacy

Audience: everyone. 

Tuesday July 7              2:00pm
Friday, July 17               11:00am

Tuesday, August 11       2:00pm
Thursday, August 13     11:00am

LinkedIn Learning 101
LinkedIn Learning is a powerful tool everyone at Madison College can access. Features include full courses in topics from Microsoft Excel and Teams to learning coding and music composition. Join this workshop to learn how to quickly create an account and open up endless possibilities. 

Thursday July 9           11:00

Get Your Citations in Order
You’re in the process of writing your paper or you’ve just finished it. Now you need some stellar citations to submit with it. Join us to learn about credible resources to create and check your citations quickly and accurately.

Wednesday July 8          11:00am

Thursday July 16             2:00pm

Open Educational Resources 101
What are Open Educational Resources (OER) and what role do they play in reshaping the educational landscape? Learn about how these powerful tools are helping students succeed by saving money, increasing diversity and inclusion in learning materials, and promoting accessibility. 

Audience: all audiences.
Thursday July 9               2:00pm

Monday August 17          10:00am

Examine Your Resources: online test prep options
Learn about online test preparation support options from Madison College Libraries. Resources include library databases, ebooks, and more. All are online and easily accessible remotely. 

Audience: prospective and current students, parents.
Tuesday July 14             9:30am

Tuesday August 18        9:30am

Blackboard Essentials Tips and Tricks
This session will cover some best practices for using Blackboard including uploading assignments, best practices for taking exams successfully, and more. Bring your questions!

Monday July 20            2:00pm

Wednesday July 22      1:00pm 

More Information

If you have problems joining a workshop, finding information, or would like to recommend a workshop, please chat with us using our On Call button or phone a librarian at 608-246-6640.

To view our list of past workshops, view the Past Workshops page.

To suggest a new workshop topic or request accomodations for upcoming workshops, such as Spanish-language translations or closed captioning, view the Suggestions and Feedback page. 

About the Digital Backpack Series