Skip to Main Content

Backpack Workshops: Home

Live, and Drop in workshops offered by Madison College Librarians and Tutors.

Spring 2024

Summer 2024 Workshops

Registration is FREE but REQUIRED for planning purposes.
Click on the date hyperlinks to reserve your spot!

HESI Test Prep General Sessions
Presenter: Duane Sowards
Locations Noted in Date

Getting ready to take the HESI admissions exam? Join us for weekly sessions online in Webex or in person at Goodman South or Truax campus.
You will learn what to expect and be ready for exam day in break-out rooms and all together in a large group by:

  • Reviewing the content that appears on the exam such as biology, human physiology, basic math, nursing vocabulary
  • Learning study strategies such as prioritizing what subjects you most need to focus on, taking timed practice exams, understanding the format of the exam, and using flash cards to study

The benefits of group study include instant feedback, hearing other participants’ questions, and practice, practice, practice, to make you comfortable and ready on exam day.
Audience: Current Students

ONLINE Sessions
Link sent after registration
Monday July 22    4:00-6:00pm
Monday July 29    4:00-6:00pm
Monday August 5 4:00-6:00pm
Monday August 12 4:00-6:00pm
Monday August 19 4:00-6:00pm

TRUAX In Person Sessions
Room D2634
Thursday July 18    11:00am-1:00pm
Thursday July 25    11:00am-1:00pm
Thursday August 1  11:00am-1:00pm

SOUTH In Person Sessions
Room 119
Wednesday July  24     11:00am-1:00pm
Wednesday July 31      11:00am-1:00pm
​​​​
Wednesday August 7   11:00am-1:00pm

File Storage and Collaboration
Presenter: Jennifer Kasch
Learn about file storage options available to you as a student at Madison College. We’ll also discuss collaboration options offered through tools like OneDrive and Microsoft Teams. Use the technology available to you to work effectively and efficiently.
Audience: Current students

Friday August 2  11:00-11:30am

Generative AI tools and Prompt Writing
NEW WORKSHOP
Presenter: Jennifer Kasch
We’ll discuss some of the generative AI tools that students may encounter and talk about appropriate use of generative AI in coursework. We’ll also discuss some strategies for finding the information you need with these tools.
Friday August 16 10:00-11:00am