Careers in Hospitality Management: Restaurant Manager, Assistant Food and Beverage Manager, Hotel Front Office Manager, Hotel Executive Housekeeper, Hotel Sales Manager, Meeting Planner.
Photo Credit : Reception
Search Tips
Following are some subject terms that you can use in search boxes for more effective search results.
-
Food Industry and Trade
- Food Service Employees
- Food Service Management
- Hospitality Industry
- Hotel Management
- Restaurants
- Tourism
- Travelers
Following are some call numbers that are helpful for browsing the library stacks.
640 Home & family management
642 Meals & table service
643 Housing & household equipment
647 Management of public households (Institutional housekeeping)
648 Housekeeping
Research
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand [FOD] is an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to the faculty, staff and students at Madison College.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Offers streaming films ranging from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. *Note: we are currently experiencing issues with video display in VDI. Please access videos outside the virtual desktop.
Check out some of these videos:
Food Planning for Special Occasions
A few NAICS Codes for database searching:
236220 Hotel construction
423210 Hotel furniture merchant wholesalers
561599 Hotel reservation services
722511 Family restaurants, full service
722513 Fast-food restaurants
445210 Delicatessens (except grocery store, restaurants)
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Business. Formerly Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC). Provides business, company, and industry content including articles, company financials and earning estimates, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, industry and company rankings, market share data, industry overviews, and HR law case digests.
Behind the Kitchen Door by
"Sustainability is about contributing to a society that everybody benefits from, not just going organic because you don't want to die from cancer or have a difficult pregnancy. What is a sustainable restaurant? It's one in which as the restaurant grows, the people grow with it."--from Behind the Kitchen Door How do restaurant workers live on some of the lowest wages in America? And how do poor working conditions--discriminatory labor practices, exploitation, and unsanitary kitchens--affect the meals that arrive at our restaurant tables? Saru Jayaraman, who launched the national restaurant workers' organization Restaurant Opportunities Centers United, sets out to answer these questions by following the lives of restaurant workers in New York City, Washington, D.C., Philadelphia, Los Angeles, Chicago, Houston, Miami, Detroit, and New Orleans. Blending personal narrative and investigative journalism, Jayaraman shows us that the quality of the food that arrives at our restaurant tables depends not only on the sourcing of the ingredients. Our meals benefit from the attention and skill of the people who chop, grill, sauté, and serve. Behind the Kitchen Door is a groundbreaking exploration of the political, economic, and moral implications of dining out. Jayaraman focuses on the stories of individuals, like Daniel, who grew up on a farm in Ecuador and sought to improve the conditions for employees at Del Posto; the treatment of workers behind the scenes belied the high-toned Slow Food ethic on display in the front of the house. Increasingly, Americans are choosing to dine at restaurants that offer organic, fair-trade, and free-range ingredients for reasons of both health and ethics. Yet few of these diners are aware of the working conditions at the restaurants themselves. But whether you eat haute cuisine or fast food, the well-being of restaurant workers is a pressing concern, affecting our health and safety, local economies, and the life of our communities. Highlighting the roles of the 10 million people, many immigrants, many people of color, who bring their passion, tenacity, and vision to the American dining experience, Jayaraman sets out a bold agenda to raise the living standards of the nation's second-largest private sector workforce--and ensure that dining out is a positive experience on both sides of the kitchen door.
Call Number: 331.7616 J42ISBN: 9780801479519Publication Date: 2014-03-04
Sustainability, social responsibility, and innovations in tourism and hospitality by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 9781482223323Publication Date: [2015]
The Tourism Society's Dictionary for the Tourism Industry by
This dictionary is a handy reference covering everyday terms used within the tourism, travel, leisure and airline sectors. The dictionary provides an overview of terminology used within these global industries, complete with explanations for industry-specific terms and helpful annotated diagrams to illustrate travel related information, such as seating plans and airline tickets. It is a useful introduction for those new to studying or working in tourism and related industries. " Covers travel-related facts on over 130 countries, including capital cities, currencies and languages " Includes airline and airport codings for major airlines and airports worldwide " Lists the Phonetic Radio Alphabet as used by pilots and other transport professionals. " Provides a selection of interesting words and idioms useful for guides, tour managers and those compiling itineraries Find updated definitions here
Call Number: E-BookISBN: 1845934490Publication Date: 2014-10-01
Tourist Cultures by
Sharp, engaging, and relevant this book presents a framework for understanding tourism which is subject-centered, dynamic, and capable of dealing with the complexity of contemporary tourist cultures. Tourism is examined through a consideration of the spaces and selves of travel, exploring the cultures of meaning, mobilities, and engagement that frame and define the tourist experience and traveler identities. This book draws on the explanatory traditions of sociology, human geography, and tourism studies to provide useful insights into the experiential and the lived dimensions of tourism and travel.
Call Number: 338.4791 W362ISBN: 9780761949985Publication Date: 2010-11-25
Careers
CareerOneStop, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, has a wealth of career information for students and job seekers. Check out what they have to say about your chosen career:
Hotel, Motel, and Resort Desk Clerk
Meeting, Convention, and Event Planner
E-Books about Resume Writing at Madison College Libraries to help you create the perfect resume!
Dane County Job Center has links to nearly every job search available to you in Dane County. It is a great resouce for searching for careers.
Hotel & Restaurant Management at Madison College