Get Help!
Important Contacts at Madison College
- BookstoresPhone: 608.246.6016
- Computer Help608.243.4444
866.277.4445 (toll free) - Enrollment & AdmissionsPhone: 608.246.6210
- Financial Aid608.246.6170
- Liberal Arts Transfer608.246.6246
- Truax Student Achievement CenterPhone: 608.246.6125
- Writing CenterPhone: 608.243.4289 option 2
Find Phone Numbers, Emails, & Addresses
Additional Area Libraries
Find additional places to study around the area
- South Central Library SystemPortal for libraries in Madison and the surrounding area.
Maps
- CIA World Fact BookCountry by country data
- Maps in the NewsMaps related to events that are in the news.
- MLA Language Map Interactive and customizable maps showing county populations and percentage of speakers of particular languages.
- National Geographic MapsInteractive maps of the world or U.S.
- U.S. Census Interactive Language Map Interactive, online map pinpointing the wide array of languages spoken in homes across the nation.
Research Guides & Online Research Help
- HOWLER Online TutorialsHelp Online With Library Education & Research
- Research Guides A-ZThese guides are created and maintained by Madison College librarians.
- Professional OrganizationsFind professional organizations in your field.
Sites for Finding Good Web Resources
- Internet Scout The Scout Project research team creates and delivers practical Web-based information and software solutions for educators, librarians and researchers. From our friends at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. Use search for best results.
- New York Public Library - Best of the WebSites recommended by the New York Public Library.
Search Credo Reference
Facts & Dictionaries on the Web
- Texting Dictionary - WebopediaGet some help with texting shortcuts
- Factcheck.org Fact checking the world of politics. FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels.
- Internet Picture Dictionary Great for language learners. In English, German, Spanish, Italian, and French.
- Merriam-Webster Dictionary & Thesaurus Free online dictionary and thesaurus, including pronunciations.
- Oxford Dictionaries OnlineThis is the very basic, free version.
- Snopes.comDistinguish fact from myth or urban legend
- WiktionaryA collaborative free-content multilingual dictionary.
Free Online Reference
- Documentary HeavenFree documentary films online.
- MOVIECLIPS.comClips, trailers, sorted by category, performer, director, etc.
- Online Conversion -Over 5,000 units, and 50,000 conversions.
- QuizletReady made sets plus make your own online flashcard set!
Citation Help
- Citation Styles and GuidesGuide to citation by Madison College Libraries
Reference Databases
These links require user login if accessed off-campus
- Funk & Wagnalls Encyclopedia (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General. Provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
- History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: History. Covers U.S. and World History from Antiquity to present day.
- LearningExpress Library - PrepStep This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General, Tests, Skills Practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information on GED, Job Skills & Workplace Skills, Skills improvement, U.S. citizenship. In English and Espanol.
- Literary Reference Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Literature. Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
- Science Reference Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Science. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
- SmartImage Scientific & Medical Art Imagebase (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Science, Health, Art. A collection of 18,500+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics. Users may download images for educational use in lectures, presentations, slide shows, web sites and more. Common types of visual presentations include PowerPoint™ shows, handouts, poster sessions, and interactive Flash animations. Search separately - not included in WorldCat Discovery searches.
Local Resources
- Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers from BadgerLink Full-text daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers from 2005 to 90 days ago, plus newspapers from the 1800s and 1900s. For student and adult researchers.
- Isthmus MadisonDane County's weekly 'alternative' press.
- Newspapers - Research GuideGuide to more local and historical newspapers.
Statistical Information
- Census ExplorerCensus mapping tool
- CIA World Fact BookCountry by country data
- CountryWatch This is a licensed product that requires login from off campus.
- Data.gov Data.gov is managed and hosted by the U.S. General Services Administration, Technology Transformation Service.
- EPodunk Great for info on smaller communities.
- International Statistical Agencies Look up statistics produced in each nation via this site by compiled by the U.S. Census.
- The Pew Research Center - Topics This site provides coverage of topical issues by monthly polls and reports. The Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It does not take positions on policy issues.