Books from the Catalog - Textiles
5000 Years of Textiles by
5,000 Years of Textiles is an authoritative reference and a visual delight, with examples from the Far East to the Americas, from Africa to Scandinavia, and from Egyptian artifacts dating from 3000 BC to the most up-to-date modern craftwork and furnishings.nbsp; The new coffee table format is larger (8 1/2 x 10 3/4), and more beautiful than before.nbsp;The book includes an expert guide to nine fundamental textile techniques, from rug weaving and tapestry to felt and bark cloth. Each is clearly explained, using line drawings and close-up color details from actual textiles, to show how people from many different traditions have made and decorated cloth through the centuries. The breathtaking wealth of illustrations drawn from major collections all over the world includes costumes, period interiors, archival photographs, and a vast range of fabrics, from the simplest handwoven cloths to sumptuous brocades and exquisite embroidery.
ISBN: 9781588343079Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Textiles Today by
Extraordinary technological developments, from color-changing, light-sensitive camouflage to emergency shelters of cement-impregnated fabric bonded to an inflatable plastic, are included here alongside the simply beautiful, such as Eley Kishimoto’s patterns that point to the historical exchange of ideas between East and West.
ISBN: 9780500513811Publication Date: 2007-10-17
Wearing Propaganda:textiles on the home front in Japan, Britain, and the United States, 1931-1945 by
Protest fashion from the Vietnam War years is widely familiar, but today few are aware that dramatic fashion and textile designs served as patriotic propaganda for the Japanese, British, and Americans during the Asia-Pacific War (1931#150;1945). This fabulously illustrated book presents hundreds of examples of how fashion was employed by those on all sides of the conflict to boost morale and fan patriotism.From a kimono lined with images of U.S. planes blowing up to a British scarf emblazoned with hopeful anti-rationing slogans, Wearing Propaganda documents the development of the role of fashion as propaganda first in Japan and soon thereafter in Britain and the United States. The book discusses traditional and contemporary Japanese styles and what they revealed about Japanese domestic attitudes to war, and it shows how these attitudes echoed or contrasted with British and American fashions that were virulently anti-Japanese in some instances, humorously upbeat about wartime deprivations in others. With insights into style and design, fashion history, material culture, and the social history of Japan, the United States, and Britain, this book offers unexpected riches for every reader.
ISBN: 0300109253Publication Date: 2005-12-15
Textiles: the whole story : uses, meanings, significance by
There are few aspects of our lives—physical, emotional, spiritual—in which thread and fabrics do not play a notable part. Beverly Gordon reminds us memorably and movingly of the powerful significance of fabric throughout human history. Her expertise is enriched by her own hands-on experience: spinning silk from silkworm cocoons, weaving cloth, and creating natural dyes. In addition, she has studied thousands of textiles in a curatorial context; her familiarity includes the processing and handling of textiles as well as the making of them. The author bridges past and present, from the Stone Age—when humans first learned to make cordage and thread—to twenty-first-century “smart fabrics,” which can regulate body temperature or measure the wearer’s pulse. Her discussion integrates craft, art, science, history, and anthropology, and she draws on examples from around the globe. A dazzling array of illustrations includes paintings and photographs of historic and contemporary textiles plus a broad collection of textiles being created, worn, and lived with today.
ISBN: 9780500291139Publication Date: 2014-02-03
ICT in Textiles: Design, Practice, and Process
Textile Basics - Open Web Resources:
- Cotton UniversityLearn all about cotton dyeing, manufacturing, weaving and more with Cotton Inc.'s educational courses. Look under Topics to narrow by focus.
- Textile resources from the SOHE | UW-MadisonExplore the links for more information about local, national and international textile institutions and resources.
- Textile Care from the SOHE | UW-MadisonThere are some basic guidelines you can follow to protect your treasured textiles. Scroll down for more information about each of these and the option to download slide shows and handouts.
History of Textile Design - Open Web Resources:
- Columbia College Garment CollectionThis collection documents the evolution of 20th century fashion and includes women’s, men’s, children’s, military, and ethnic (non-Western) clothing, costumes, textiles, and accessories.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art METMEDIAThis is the media site of the Metropolitan Museum of Art. Included here are videos and podcasts related to the collection and exhibits in the museum's Costume Institute.
- Digital Collection [electronic resource] | Chicago History MuseumTry searching "clothing," "costume," "main garments," or any number of fabric types (silk, cotton, etc.)
History of Textile Design - Library Databases
- ArtStor (ArtStor) This link opens in a new windowSubject Areas: Art, Graphic Arts, Architecture. ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.6 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Search ArtStor separately - not included in WorldCat Discovery searches.
The Helen Louise Allen Textile Collection
- Helen Louise Allen Textile CollectionThe collection contains approximately 13,000 objects spanning the globe and centuries, from archaeological textiles from South America to contemporary Scandinavian furnishing fabrics, from American crazy quilts to African masquerade costumes.
- The Digital CollectionYou can view over 9,000 of the objects within the Helen Louise Allen Collection online by searching UW-Madison's University’s Digital Collection.