ONLINE DATABASES (WITH READING LEVEL INDICATORS)
The databases listed below contain articles suitable for a variety of different reading levels. All of them allow you to limit your search by reading level (lexile level), making it possible for you to find the articles that best suit your reading skills. Articles with lower lexile ranges (200-750) will be easier to read. Those with higher lexile ranges (850+) are suitable for readers with more advanced skills.
- Britannica OnlineIncludes encyclopedia and magazine articles, exercises, and activities. The encyclopedia is divided into separate sections for elementary, middle school and high school level abilities.
- MAS CompleteDesigned specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides full text reference books, biographies, primary source documents, and an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles for key magazines.
- Middle Search PlusProvides full text for over 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexile). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays, and primary source documents.
- Primary SearchOffers full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
- SearchasaurusDesigned for use by students in elementary and middle school, this easy-to-search database contains articles on a wide range of topics, many of them at reading and comprehension levels suitable for beginning English language learners. Includes a dictionary and an encyclopedia.
- Student Research CenterOffers user-friendly access to a variety of different types of information appropriate for the secondary school students. Results can be limited by reading level. Includes a dictionary and an encyclopedia.
COMPLETE ONLINE DATABASE LIST
For other Madison College online databases, go to the library web site's A-Z list of databases. These databases are available 24/7 for Madison College students, staff, and faculty, with an internet connection. To get into one of the databases from home or work, just log in with your Madison College username and password.
CREDO ONLINE REFERENCE COLLECTION
Credo Reference offers over 400 reference titles. You can access them online anytime, anywhere. Use this resource to find:
- Encyclopedias
- Dictionaries
- Biographies
- Quotations
- Medical References
- Bilingual Dictionaries
- Crossword Solver
- Measurement Conversions
- and much more
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Over 1.100 reference titles that include encyclopedias, biographies, medical dictionaries and much more.
ONLINE DATABASES: ADVANCED READING LEVEL
Below is a sampling of Madison College databases suitable for research by students with higher-level reading and comprehension skills. (Reading levels are not included.)
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window A scholarly database meeting research needs across academic disciplines, from arts and humanities to social sciences, science and technology. Includes scholarly journals, and news magazines.
- CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window Provides original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly.
- LearningExpress Library Access to more than 800 online practice courses, tests, and e-books. Includes GED, U.S. Citizenship test, and TOEFL test preparation; job search, resume writing, and interviewing skills; academic skills improvement in reading, writing, and math; career licensing and certification preparation; and placement test practice for SAT, ACT, and more.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new window Up-to-date, accurate health care information from the National Library of Medicine at the National Institutes of Health.
- Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Offers access to millions of articles from international, national, regional and local newspapers.