TRANSLATION TOOLS
- Google Translate"Google's free service instantly translates words, phrases, and web pages between English and over 100 other languages."
- MS Word TranslatorLanguage translation feature within Microsoft Word. Located under the "Review" tab in the ribbon menu.
- Bing TranslatorOnline translator also managed by Microsoft. Great for shorter text translations.
DICTIONARIES AND WORD FINDERS
- Acronym FinderA dictionary of acronyms, abbreviations, and initials.
- Merriam-Webster Online DictionaryIncludes audio pronunciation guide, thesaurus, word games, and a Learner's Dictionary for ESL students.
- Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary OnlineWhen you know what something looks like but not what it’s called, the Visual Dictionary will help you match the word to the image.
- OneLook Dictionary SearchA search engine for words and phrases, offering both definitions and translations. Indexes more than 900 online dictionaries.
ESSAY WRITING FOR ENGLISH LANGUAGE LEARNERS
READING COMPREHENSION
English reading help including reading comprehension quizzes and tests, reading lesson plans, reading types and strategies.
- English Reading Comprehension from ESL GoldReading exercises, learning strategies and quizzes to improve English reading comprehension.
- English Reading Comprehension Skills for ESL EFL LearnersEnglish reading help including reading comprehension quizzes and tests, reading lesson plans, reading types and strategies.
- EnglishClub.com: Reading EnglishIncludes poetry, short stories with vocabulary and comprehension quizzes, and author biographies.
- U.S.A. LearnsPractice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills necessary for success at work and in the community. Click on the Practice English and Reading link for intermediate-level stories and activities.
WRITING AND GRAMMAR HELP
- Blue Book of Grammar and PunctuationBasic rules of grammar, punctuation, capitalization, and writing numbers.
- Citation Help Research GuideTools to help you cite your sources correctly in APA, MLA, or Chicago style.
- A Digital Workbook for Beginning ESOL (eBook)Three levels of interactive grammar and reading activities for beginning and intermediate students of ESOL.
- EnglishClub.com: English GrammarGrammar lessons with accompanying quizzes to check your understanding. Includes a glossary of grammar terms.
- EnglishClub.com: English WritingCovers use of capital letters, spelling rules, punctuation, sentence variety, peer editing, and plagiarism.
- ESL Resources from Purdue's Online Writing LabResource pages and handouts for English language learners and teachers.
- Guide to Grammar and WritingGrammar help organized by level and skill type. The Word and Sentence category is particularly useful for English language learners.
- Madison College Writing CenterOne-on-one tutoring, online conferencing, and group workshop,s providing guidance to Madison College students at all stages of the writing process.
- U.S.A. LearnsPractice activities in listening, writing, speaking, and life skills necessary for success at work and in the community.
VOCABULARY BUILDERS AND SPELLING ACTIVITIES
- American IdiomsClick on an idiom for a sample paragraph providing a definition of the idiom and an illustration of how it is used.
- American SlangDefinitions, sample sentences, etymology, and synonyms.
- Internet Picture DictionaryA picture dictionary for beginning English, French, German, Spanish and Italian language learners.
- Language GuideSound-integrated resources for 13 different languages (with a choice of 21 native language interfaces). Particularly helpful for vocabulary building and word pronunciation.
- Spelling ActivitiesSpelling games and quizzes from Interesting Things for ESL Students
TOPICS: AN ONLINE MAGAZINE FOR LEARNERS OF ENGLISH
A place where people learning English can share stories, ideas and opinions, travel information, recipes, poetry, and more.
