Books: World History
-
WorldCat - MATC Libraries Catalog
Access books, magazines, Reserve material, videos, and more. Search by subject or keyword. Most history books will be located in the 900's.
Library Research Databases
Use academic databases to find articles from scholarly and history journals. Full-text titles include academic history journals such as History Today, History Review, History, Central European History, Journal of Military History, German History, Journal of Modern History, Journal of Social History, French Historical Studies, and many more. Choose the academic, scholarly and peer reviewed limiters when appropriate.
Access from home or work is available for these databases, login with your Madson Area Technical College username and password.
-
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General. The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
-
Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Art, Communications, Education, English, Foreign Languages, History, Literature, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Speech, and Theatre.
-
History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: History. Covers U.S. and World History from Antiquity to present day.
-
EBSCOhostSelect multiple EBSCO databases to search. Academic Searche, History Reference Center, and Humanities International recommended for history.
-
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window CountryWatch provides critical country-specific intelligence and data, including country overviews, international news sources, election reports, maps, world health reports and intelligence briefings. Search separately - not included in WorldCat Discovery searches.
-
JSTORFull text, digitized articles. Titles included as far back as late 1800s up to prior to past 2-5 years. Titles include Journal of Economic History, Journal of Military History, Journal of the History of Ideas, Journal of Contemporary History, and more.
-
Find Articleslists all of our Madison Area Technical College Libraries databases
Check other Library catalogs & Interlibrary Loans (ILL)
Visit other local libraries
InterLibrary Loan
-
InterLibrary Loan InformationOur librarians will help try to obtain either books or articles from other libraries for students, staff or faculty.
Recommended Reading List for World 20th: Dubin
-
After Utopia
by
ISBN: 9780691648545not part of the Madison College Libraries collection -
A synthesis of world history bynot available in the MATC Libraries collection
-
At the existentialist café : freedom, being, and apricot cocktails with Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, Albert Camus, Martin Heidegger, Karl Jaspers, Edmund Husserl, Maurice Merleau-Ponty and others
by
A New York Times "Ten Best Books of 2016" From the best-selling author of How to Live, a spirited account of one of the twentieth century's major intellectual movements and the revolutionary thinkers who came to shape it Paris, 1933: three contemporaries meet over apricot cocktails at the Bec-de-Gaz bar on the rue Montparnasse. They are the young Jean-Paul Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir, and longtime friend Raymond Aron, a fellow philosopher who raves to them about a new conceptual framework from Berlin called Phenomenology. "You see," he says, "if you are a phenomenologist you can talk about this cocktail and make philosophy out of it!" It was this simple phrase that would ignite a movement, inspiring Sartre to integrate Phenomenology into his own French, humanistic sensibility, thereby creating an entirely new philosophical approach inspired by themes of radical freedom, authentic being, and political activism. This movement would sweep through the jazz clubs and caf#65533;s of the Left Bank before making its way across the world as Existentialism. Featuring not only philosophers, but also playwrights, anthropologists, convicts, and revolutionaries, At the Existentialist Caf#65533; follows the existentialists' story, from the first rebellious spark through the Second World War, to its role in postwar liberation movements such as anticolonialism, feminism, and gay rights. Interweaving biography and philosophy, it is the epic account of passionate encounters--fights, love affairs, mentorships, rebellions, and long partnerships--and a vital investigation into what the existentialists have to offer us today, at a moment when we are once again confronting the major questions of freedom, global responsibility, and human authenticity in a fractious and technology-driven world.
ISBN: 9781590514887 -
Benjamin Constant and the Making of Modern Constitutionalism
by
Out of Print. Not available at the Madison College Libraries; Consider InterLibrary Loan. -
Democracy in America
by
Alexis de Tocqueville (1805-59) came to America in 1831 to see what a great republic was like. What struck him most was the country's equality of conditions, its democracy.
ISBN: 0226805328 -
Freud, political and social thought byISBN: 0765806177
-
Gulliver redeemed bynot available in the MATC Libraries collection
-
Idealism, Politics and History
by
ISBN: 9780521143226 -
Is Multiculturalism Bad for Women?
by
ISBN: 0691004315This book is a series of essays providing different points of view on whether multiculturalism and feminism – two of the hallmarks of liberalism in our day – conflict. -
Karl Marx and the Modern State
by
not available at the Madison College Libraries; Consider InterLibrary Loan
-
Modernism as a Philosophical Problem
by
Call Number: 190 P665ISBN: 0631214143 -
Nationalism and the Modern State
by
not available at the Madison College Libraries; Consider InterLibrary Loan
-
Revolutionary France 1770-1880
by
Revolutionary France is a vivid narrative history. It is also a radical reinterpretation of the period, and testimony to the power both of ideas and of personality in movements of the past.
ISBN: 0631198083 -
The Clash of Civilizations and the Remaking of World Order
by
ISBN: 0684844419 -
The Crooked Timber of Humanity - Chapters in the History of Ideas
by
ISBN: 0691058385 -
The End of History and the Last Man
by
ISBN: 9780743284554 -
The End of Ideology
by
ISBN: 0674252306Publication Date: 1988-04-01not held at MATC libraries -
The founding of new societies bynot available in the MATC Libraries collection
-
The Last Utopia
by
ISBN: 9780674064348 -
The Liberal Tradition in America
by
ISBN: 0156512696 -
The Multiculturalism of Fear
by
ISBN: 9780198297123 -
The Origins of Totalitarianism
by
ISBN: 0156701537 -
The problem with China bynot available in the MATC Libraries collection
-
The rights of minority cultures bynot part of the library collection at Madison College
-
The World Is Flat
by
When scholars write the history of the world twenty years from now, and they come to the chapter "Y2K to March 2004," what will they say was the most crucial development? The attacks on the World Trade Center on 9/11 and the Iraq war? Or the convergence of technology and events that allowed India, China, and so many other countries to become part of the global supply chain for services and manufacturing, creating an explosion of wealth in the middle classes of the world's two biggest nations, giving them a huge new stake in the success of globalization? And with this "flattening" of the globe, which requires us to run faster in order to stay in place, has the world gotten too small and too fast for human beings and their political systems to adjust in a stable manner?In this brilliant new book, the award-winning New York Times columnist Thomas Friedman demystifies the brave new world for readers, allowing them to make sense of the often bewildering global scene unfolding before their eyes. With his inimitable ability to translate complex foreign policy and economic issues, Friedman explains how the flattening of the world happened at the dawn of the twenty-first century; what it means to countries, companies, communities, and individuals; and how governments and societies can, and must, adapt. The World Is Flat is the timely and essential update on globalization, its successes and discontents, powerfully illuminated by one of our most respected journalists.
ISBN: 0374292884 -
The Wretched of the Earth
by
ISBN: 9780802150837 -
Truth and Truthfulness
by
ISBN: 0691117918 -
-
Will and Legitimacy: The Social Contract Tradition
by
not available at the Madison College Libraries; Consider InterLibrary Loan
-
Writings on peace byThis particular title is not held at MATC. We do have other titles by and about Ghandhi.
eBooks
-
Project GutenbergThe Web's original producer of free e-books to download offers over 33,000 books in the public domain
-
EBSCO eBooksThis brought to you by Madison College Libraries.
