Ethnic Literature
Search These Database to Find Articles
Use the box above to search our Literary Reference Center Plus Database.
- Find More Databases! Follow this link to the Libraries' complete a-z list of databases.
Other recommended databases for researching ethnic literature
- JStor This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General, Social Sciences, Humanities. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Literature. Provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time frames.
- Humanities International Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Art, Communications, Education, English, Foreign Languages, History, Literature, Philosophy, Religious Studies, Speech, and Theatre.
Key Words
Mix and match the following key words, come up with some on your own, or use any individually in the search boxes below to find information on your topic.
| Affect | African American |
| American Indians | Artistic Expression |
| Asian American | Black |
| Chicano / Chicana | Civil Rights |
| Colonization | Cultural Expression |
| Diaspora | Diversity |
| Economics | Ethnicity |
| Families | Fiction |
| Finance | Folklore |
| Freedom | Gender |
| Globalization | History |
| Human Ecology | Immigration |
| Indigenous | Latino / Latina / Latin@ |
| Literature | Manners and Customs |
| Modern | Native American |
| Natural History | Normal |
| Politics | Queer |
| Racialization | Racism |
| Race | Social Construction |
| Social Life | Sociology |
Any nationality can easily be looked up - here are a few examples of keywords you can use based on different countries:
Chinese American
East Indian American
Filipino American
Hmong Americans
Italian American
Japanese American
Kenyan American
Korean American
...you get the picture :)
Databases
A database is a digital container that holds articles in it. You can search through the different articles by placing key words, titles, authors, or more into the search box to see what type of information you can find. Below is a video on how to search databases for articles on your topic. Three different helpful databases are listed below the video.
Recommended Journals
- African American ReviewPublishes essays on African American literature, art and culture. Contains interviews, fiction and poems.
- MELUS: Journal of the Society for the Study of the Multi-ethnic Literature of the United StatesFocused on literature and literary criticism, MELUS is the most important journal for the study of Ethnic American literature and it has individual articles, reviews, and interviews. MELUS can be found in electronic form via the database JSTOR.