Asking for Help
Librarians are happy to help you with your search for information, but remember that while they can define medical terms that you don't understand, they cannot interpret medical information. Be sure to discuss any information you find with your doctor.
Please remember that these resources are provided for informational use only and are not a substitute for medical advice. If you have a medical issue, see your doctor, and discuss any information you find in your research with your doctor as well.
Ask A Librarian
|
|
Text Us: 608.554.4659 |
 |
Email Us |
 |
Call Us: Library Help:608.246.6640 Student Technology Help: 608.243.4444 |
 |
Follow Us: @madcollegelib |
 |
Like Us: Madison College Libraries |
Health Videos From Films on Demand
Madison College Libraries now has access to Films on Demand, an online collection of high quality, educational videos. Find Health & Medicine under subjects to view health videos on a variety of topics.
Library Databases
Search these library-provided databases for information on a specific disease, condition, or drug.
- AHFS Consumer Medication InformationA database of medicine information leaflets. Type the name of the drug in the search bar to find information in both English and Spanish.
- AltHealth WatchA full-text database that focuses on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- Associates Programs Source PlusDirected at the research needs of 2 year colleges, this database contains trade publications for health-related professional information.
- PsycARTICLESThis database provides articles that explore mental health and human behavior.
- Consumer Health CompleteConsumer Health Complete is provided through Badgerlink and the Wisconsin Department of Instruction
- CREDO Reference BooksThis database provides access to over 400 excellent reference resources from any computer. It includes medical dictionaries and encyclopedias.
- SmartImage Scientific & Medical Art ImagebaseA collection of 18,500+ high quality illustrations and animations depicting anatomy, physiology, surgery, diseases, conditions, trauma, embryology, histology, and other health science topics. Users may download images for educational use in lectures, presentations, slide shows, websites and more.