Books
- Madson Area Technical College Libraries Catalog
Access books, magazines, reference and reserve material, videos and more.
For primary source materials, try adding one of the following to your search term or topic: diaries, personal narratives, documents, sources, letters, correspondence, oral history, pamphlets, interviews, speeches, or autobiography. For example: civil war and diaries.
Wisconsin Historical Society Library
Archives for the state of Wisconsin. Over 4 million published works relating to the history of North America. Making primary resources available is their mission. Also includes unpublished works, maps, photographs, graphics, and audiovisual materials.
- UW Borrowing CardThe Madson Area Technical College Libraries have an agreement with the UW-Madison Libraries to provide a borrowing card free of charge to our students. Stop in at any of the Madison Area Technical College Libraries to learn more and fill out the form.
Wisconsin History
Library Research Databases
- Find Articleslists all Madson Area Technical College Library research databases.
- HeritageQuest OnlineAmerican genealogical sources—rich in unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. access provided for Wisconsin residents through Badgerlink.
- History Reference Center (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window EBSCO database. Under publication type, choose Primary Source Document. History Reference Center offers full text from more than 2,500 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for nearly 170 leading history periodicals, more than 112,000 historical documents, 113,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 112,000 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video
- JSTORFull text, digitized articles. Titles included as far back as late 1800s up to prior to past 2-5 years. Titles include American Historical Review, Journal of American History, Journal of Southern History, Journal of Military History, and others. & academic journals.
- MasterFILE Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowMasterFILE Complete provides many full text magazines, reference books, and primary source documents. This database also provides an image collection containing photos, maps & flags.
- Newspaper Source Plus - Proquestaccess provided through Badgerlink
Periodicals - Magazines & Newspapers
The Truax Library has a small collection of some historical backfiles of print magazines:
- Look: 1963-10/71
- Life: 1963-1972. 1985-5/00
- Current History: 1970-1999
- Foreign Affairs: 1970-
- National Geographic: 1960-1969 1971-1978 1980 to present
- Time: 1970- present
- Vital Speeches of the Day: from 10/15/65-- (volumes 33 and 42 are missing) to Current year
Some other sources to check:
- Christian Science Monitor ArchiveFind articles from 1908 to 1980; Use Interlibrary Loan, rather than purchasing copies online.
- Chronicling America - The Library of CongressSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963
- Google Book SearchIncludes book and magazine content. Some as full view, some as partial access. If you do an advanced search, you can limit your search by date and type of content. Not printable, but you can read the issues on screen.
- Newspapers.com Library Edition - World CollectionProquest database available through Badgerlink. Historical newspapers archive from the 1700s - 2000s containing thousands of well-known regional, state, and small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
- Newspaper Source Plus - Proquestaccess provided through Badgerlink
- Time Magazine ArchiveFind Time articles since 1923. Use Interlibrary Loan to request articles, rather than purchasing copies online.
Websites
Many libraries and organizations are digitizing specialized collections and making them available online. From historical photographs to rare books, these collections contain a wealth of information and are readily accessible.
Remember to carefully evaluate the source of any information posted on the web and follow your instructor’s guidelines for recommended sources.
- Google Book SearchIncludes book and magazine content. Some as full view, some as partial access. If you do an advanced search, you can limit your search by date and type of content. Not printable, but you can read the issues on screen.
