Entrepreneurship: Citation Help

Small Business & Entrepreneurship

Other Helpful Resources

Other Helpful Resources:

Video from Excelsior

Video used under a CC BY 4 License by Excelsior College Online Writing Lab

Why Cite

Why Cite?

You must cite any facts, statistics, words, or creative works you refer to from other sources. These sources can include print/published sources (books, articles, web sites, email), multimedia (films, podcasts, television), data sources, images, live performances, or conversations. You do not need to cite information that is considered common knowledge.

Why Cite?

  • To credit authors; thus, to behave ethically
  • To allow those that read your work to check your sources for accuracy
  • To allow readers to understand how you came up with your arguments
  • To provide researchers with further sources for their own research
  • To avoid plagiarism

You can also visit the full citation research guide, with lots of resources to help you cite!

APA Citation (Business Examples)

Article from database with a DOI:

Twenge, J.M. & Campbell S.M. (2009). Generational differences in psychological traits and their impact on the workplace. Journal of Managerial Psychology, 23(8), 862-877. doi:10.1108/02683940810904367

Article from a database without a DOI:

Ericson, T.J. Alsop, R., Nicholson, P., & Miller, J. (2009). Gen Y in the workplace. Harvard Business Review, 87(2), 43-49. Retrieved February 10, 2009 from Business Source Premier database.

Basic Format for Print Books:

Author, A. A. (Year of publication). Title of book: Subtitle of book. Location: Publisher.

Lewis, R. & Dart, M. (2010). The new rules of retail: Competing in the world's toughest marketplace. New York, NY: Palgrave Macmillan.

Format for eBooks Retrieved from Library Databases (e.g. Safari Books, EBSCO eBooks):

  • We advise that you cite an eBook the same way that you would cite a print book (omitting information not provided), unless that eBook is not readily available in print format. Most eBooks retrieved from a library database (e.g. Safari Books, EBSCO eBooks) are readily available in print.

Sternberg, R. J., & Kaufman, J. C. (2001). The evolution of intelligence. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates.

  • If you choose, or if your instructor requests it, you may add the name of the database from which you obtained the eBook.

Sternberg, R. J., & Kaufman, J. C. (2001). The evolution of intelligence. Mahwah, NJ: Lawrence Erlbaum Associates. Retrieved from EBSCO eBooks database.

Format for eBooks Retreived from a Website:

  • Follow the standard format (omitting information not provided) and include the eBook source (URL or DOI).

Barton, Clara. (1904). A story of the Red Cross: Glimpses of field work. New York: D. Appleton and Company. Retrieved from http://www.gutenberg.org/ebooks/30230

Website

National Restaurant Association (2008, November 14). Restaurant industry at a glance. Retrieved December 10, 2008 from http://www.restaurant.org/research/ind_glance.cfm. 

U.S. Department of Commerce. (2009, March 31). Doing business in Argentina: 2009 country commercial guide for U.S. companies. Retrieved from http://www.export.gov/.

Tip: Use the PDF version of an online report to determine the date. If not available, use the abbreviation for "no date" (n.d.) and include the date of retrieval in the last line with the database name.  

U.S. Census Bureau

U.S. Census Bureau. (2008). 2008 Zip Code business patterns (NAICS). Retrieved from http://censtats.census.gov/cbpnaic/cbpnaic.shtml.

U.S. Census Bureau. (2008-2012). Chico city, California: ACS demographic and housing estimates. American Community Survey 5-year estimates. Retrieved from http://factfinder2.census.gov/faces/tableservices/jsf/pages/productview.xhtml?pid=ACS_12_5YR_DP05.

SWOT Analysis from Business Insights Essentials Database

MarketLine. (2015, May 1). McDonald's Corporation. [Company profile]. Retrieved from Business Insights Essentials database.

Subjects: Business