Levels of Evidence
*UW-Eau Claire Libraries/Department of Nursing
Learning Outcomes
Learning Outcomes:
- Students will discover web sources for EBM, secondary literature on the web and in library databases
- Students will use search limiters to target the most relevant literature on a health topic
- Students will apply the findings of systematic reviews or meta-analysis to clinical practice
Related RN Program Outcomes:
- Compare mechanisms of achieving quality patient care through evidence based practice (Nursing Management and Professional Concepts)
Evidence Based Nursing Resources
- Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature or CINAHL (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Under search options set "journal subset" to Nursing. Click Evidence-Based Practice check box.
- ClinicalTrials.govClinicalTrials.gov is a registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world.
- Cochrane ReviewsThis database offers free access to the abstracts and, where available, the plain language summaries of all Cochrane systematic reviews.
- National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)# National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
A public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. - PubMedA service of the National Library of Medicine that provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and to additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles. Filter by Article types (for example: systematic reviews, review, meta-analysis, practice guideline, randomized controlled trial, etc.) and additional filters (journal categories-Nursing journals).
- SUMSearch 2Search Medline, DARE, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for evidence-based medical information.
- Trip Database - For Evidence Based Medicine (EBM)A Database of DARE records. DARE is prepared by the National Health Service Centre for Reviews and Dissemination (NHS CDR) at the University of York, England.
Using MeSH to find Evidence
Medical Subject headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's (NLM) controlled vocabulary used for indexing articles in PubMed. Choose MeSH terms to use in a broad search or to focus your search later on.
- NLM-National Center for Biotechnology InformationHelp and tutorials for searching PubMed using MeSH.