Library Resources for Nursing Research
Available by clicking on the title of the database below. If you are accessing the databases from off campus you will get prompted for a username and password. This username and password is the same that you use to login to Madison College computers, myMadisonCollege, Blackboard, etc..
- Academic Search CompleteCoverage of health topics, public health, and nursing issues.
- Alt-HealthWatchA full-text database that focuses on complementary, alternative and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
- CINAHL: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health LiteratureIndexes a wide range of allied health articles, many of which are full-text.
- Health Reference Center - AcademicA full-text database that covers professional and consumer health and medicine topics.
- Health Source: Nursing/AcademicMedical, health, Nursing articles.
- PubMed (National Library of Medicine) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Nursing, Medical, Allied Health. A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, provides over 12 million MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences journals. Search separately - not included in WorldCat Discovery searches.
Library Medical Reference Sources
- A.D.A.M Medical EncyclopediaIncludes over 4,000 articles about diseases, tests, symptoms, injuries, and surgeries. It also contains an extensive library of medical photographs and illustrations.
- AHFS Consumer Medication Information (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- Credo Reference: E-Books500+ reference books, including dozens of medical health encyclopedias, dictionaries, and report collections.
- Gale Interactive: Human Anatomy This link opens in a new windowEngaging, interactive models bring science to life, allowing students to better visualize and understand human anatomy, supporting university coursework.
- MEDLINEplus This link opens in a new window
- SmartImage: Scientific and Medical ArtDownload thousands of medical illustrations, videos, interactive tools, and monographs of anatomy, physiology, embryology, surgery, trauma, pathology, diseases, conditions and other topics.
Video Collections
Need Additional Help?
Websites for Nursing Research
ACRL Information Literacy Competencies for Nurses
- CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention : the nations' prevention agencyProvides domestic and international public health information.
- HealthfinderDeveloped by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, this site provides a gateway to reliable consumer health and human services information including links to news updates on health topics.
- Images from the history of medicineProvides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM).
- Medical Library Association: Top Health WebsitesThe Consumer and Patient Health Information Section (CAPHIS) of MLA evaluates websites based on the following criteria: credibility, sponsorship/authorship, content, audience, currency, disclosure, purpose, links, design, interactivity, and disclaimers. The following websites have been deemed particularly useful
- Medscape: Reference ResourcesMedscape from WebMD offers specialists, primary care physicians, and other health professionals the Web's most robust and integrated medical information and educational tools.
- Merck homepageProvides online access to several Merck publications that are standard references in the health care field.
Library Licensing and Test Prep
Prepare for Nursing Occupational Tests and Nursing School Entrance Exams: NCLEX-RN, NCLEX-PN, Nursing Assistant, HESI
Learning Outcomes
Learning Outcomes:
- Students can evaluate and choose superior sources of health information
- Students can research and interpret health information in a culturally competent manner
- Students can articulate why their ability to evaluate information matters
Relevant RN Program Outcomes:
- Assess health of individuals, families, and groups within the context of the community.Adapt nursing practice to meet the needs of diverse clients in a variety of settings (Nursing Fundamentals: Core competencies)