It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Health and Wellness: Home
Periodicals for Health Research
Click on the title of the periodical to see what issues are available at your Madison College libraries.
This alternative health database provides full text for more than 140 publications in the collection, including many peer-reviewed journals. Alt HealthWatch provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine.
A service of the National Library of Medicine that provides links to information from professional and government health organizations about drugs, diseases and conditions, as well as the PubMed/MEDLINE index.
This database covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, and 17 other allied health disciplines. It also includes access to additional health care resources, including books, nursing dissertations, educational software, and audiovisual materials.
A service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health providing access to over 12 million MEDLINE
citations dating back to the mid-1960's, as well as full-text resources and additional life science journals.
There are many websites dealing with medical and health topics. Some available online contain inaccurate or out of date information. Review this guide for tips on reviewing health websites.
Here are a few which provide accurate, up-to-date information:
Harvard Health Publications is the media and publishing division of the Harvard Medical School of Harvard University. Their goal is to bring people around the world the most current health information that is authoritative, trustworthy, and accessible.
A gateway to health information developed by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Healthfinder can lead you to selected online publications, clearinghouses, databases, web sites, and support and self-help groups, as well as the government agencies and not-for-profit organizations that produce reliable information for the public.
Reliable, straightforward information collected and updated by a team of Mayo experts, including tips for a healthy lifestyle and A-Z guides for symptoms, diseases & conditions, tests & procedures, and drugs & supplements.
The National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine (NCCAM) is one of the 27 institutes and centers that make up the National Institutes of Health (NIH). The NCCAM website includes publications, information for researchers, frequently asked questions, and links to other CAM-related resources.
The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency—making important discoveries that improve health and save lives.