Opinion Polling
-
Consumer Barometer Data in the Consumer Barometer is pulled from two sources - the core Consumer Barometer questionnaire, which is focused on the adult online population, and Connected Consumer Study, which seeks to enumerate the total adult population and is used to weight the Consumer Barometer results.
Religious Preferences
How to find data on RELIGIOUS PREFERENCES
Some statistics on religion can be found in the Statistical Abstract of the United States Click 'Population' on the right under 'Popular Sections' and scroll to the bottom
The Association of Religion Data Archives is a great place to go for data on religion.
Sperling’s Best Places has data on religious preferences available by city, town or zip code, though it is unclear exactly where this data comes from. Just enter city, town or zip in the “Search for any place in the USA” blue box on the home page and click “Search.” “Religion” is one of the choices on the left-hand side when the search results come up.
Political Preferences
How to find data on POLITICAL PREFERENCES
The Pew Research Center is a good source for some of this material. From their site: “We are best known for regular national surveys that measure public attentiveness to major news stories, and for our polling that charts trends in values and fundamental political and social attitudes.”
- Latino Trends and Attitudes http://pewhispanic.org
- International Opinion Polls http://pewglobal.org
- Social and Demographic Trends http://pewsocialtrends.org
What are Psychographics?
Are any attributes relating to personality, values, attitudes, interests, or lifestyles of people.
- What type of media do they consume?
- What are their beliefs? Is this how they see themselves? How they want to be perceived?
- Why do you believe they are the type to buy your product? Can you prove it?
New Strategist books — Print reference collection in library - Check the 305's
Madison College Libraries catalog — Search by subject, keyword
Search journals by title – "Databases" tab: Find Journal by Title
Library databases —
• Business and Company Resource Center
• EBSCOhost — searches multiple databases including Business Source Complete
Finding Psychographic Information in a Library Database
Library databases are available 24/7 for Madison College students, staff and faculty with an Internet connection.
A database that may be particularly helpful for psychographic research:
-
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Thousands of journals of business, management, economics, finance, banking, accounting, and more.
Sugggested Search Terms:
Market segmentation
Marketing
Market*
Consumer behavior
Target markets
Consumer behavior
Purchasing power
Consumer spending
AND/OR
Age groups
Generation X
Generation Y
Generation Z
Generations
AND/OR
Social system*
Psychographic*
Demographic*
Demographic Aspects
Lifestyle*
Culture
*include the "*" in your term; this denotes a wildcard (for example Market* will bring up searches with all of the following words in them: Market, Markets, Marketing--anything that begins with 'market')
Finding Data on Consumer Expenditures
See the Bureau of Labor Statistics Consumer Expenditure Survey -- Current expenditure tables by region of residence