Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Information Literacy @ Madison College Libraries - Faculty Info: English 1

English I Library Core Competencies

 In addition to the general information literacy competencies for Madison College Libraries...

The English 1 student will:

  • identify keywords from a topic statement and find synonyms for those keywords
  • differentiate between keyword and subject searching in the Madison College Libraries Catalog
  • be aware of other catalogs and opportunities for retrieving those materials through interlibrary loan
  • know where to look for articles from Madison College Libraries subscription databases
  • know how to choose an appropriate database to conduct research on a topic
  • be able to perform an effective search of a library database
  • know how to access Madison College Libraries subscription databases from off-campus
  • will understand simple Boolean logic and database limiters to efficiently execute search queries
  • be able to scan citations for currency, authority, and related subjects
  • know how to print, e-mail or save full-text documents from subscription databases
  • recognize how to look for full-text of articles when not available in library databases 
  • be able to analyze books, articles, or web sites for authority, bias, and currency
  • determine if the information found meets their information need
  • be aware of citation management tools (e.g. Knightcite) to help create MLA, APA, or Chicago style citations