Find books, articles, films, reserves and more in our library collections and worldwide using Discovery.
Most history books will be located in the 900’s and many women's history titles are located in the 300s
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowebooks - Over 400+ reference titles including history encyclopedias, biographies, art, geography and more.
A few of the women's history titles are listed below:
- The Penguin Biographical Dictionary of WomenRecommendation from one instructor for Women in History students especially for help with preparing for exams.
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1573561312Publication Date: 1998-11-16
From Suffrage to the Senate, Fourth Edition by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 9781642650976Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Citation Help
Library databases: Articles, e-books, and more
- EBSCOhost Search multiple EBSCO databases Select multiple EBSCO databases to search, Academic Search Complete, History Reference Center, Humanities International, and Masterfile recommended for history.
- JSTOR
Scholarly & academic journals archive. Full text, digitized articles. Titles included as far back as late 1800s up to prior to past 2-5 years.
Artstor
- ArtStor (JSTOR) This link opens in a new windowSubject Areas: Art, Graphic Arts, Architecture. ARTstor is a digital library of over 1.6 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Search ArtStor separately - not included in WorldCat Discovery searches.
Find online / streaming Videos
Streaming films @ your library
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand [FOD] is an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to the faculty, staff and students at Madison College.
Sample streaming video titles
- Ethnic Notions Films on Demand
- Blackfaced Stereotyping, 1933 Films on Demand
- Illegal immigration, 1935 Films on Demand
- Howard Zinn: The People’s Historian Series Films on Demand Online Video: Six-part collection features 9 hours of conversation with Howard Zinn, historian and shipyard worker, civil rights activist and author of the hugely successful A People’s History of the United States.
Sample Streaming Videos - Women's History
- The Abolitionists Films on Demand
- The Amazons Films on Demand
- Civilization: The Ascent of Woman: A 10,000 Year Story Films on Demand
- La Malinche (Spanish) Films on Demand. Christian Duverger explains the status of the speaker in Aztec society. Cortés' use of a woman translator went against the machismo of Aztec society. The native name given, Malinche, is "owner of the valuable captive" in Nahuatl, and was used for her and Cortés.
- Lewis & Clark, Part I Films on Demand, also see Part II
- Malinche mystery Films on Demand
- Pocahontas Films on Demand
- Slave Trade - Nzinga Films on Demand. In Ndongo, Central Africa, Queen Nzinga Mbande sold captives to the Portuguese, who now wanted to enslave her people to work on New World sugar plantations. The tribe was outnumbered by hostile Africans and taken prisoner.
