Skip to main content

Films On Demand: Home

Everything you need to know about Films On Demand

Search WorldCat Discovery - Madison College Libraries

 

Find books, DVDs, streaming media, and ebooks in the Madison College Libraries catalog

Madison College Libraries Logo


Need a book that's located at another campus or library system? We offer free Interlibrary Loan service. Materials typically arrive in 2-10 days. No textbooks or reserve items, please. 

Click here to request an item from another campus or library.

We also offer several e-book collections covering many different topics.

Click here to check out our e-books and learn more about using them!  

Accessing FOD

Access videos through the link on the Library home page or the link below. If viewing off-campus, enter your username and password when prompted.

Films on Demand logo

 

Our Films on Demand collection is also integrated into the Madison College Libraries catalog, so when you search the catalog for "ANY" or "VIDEO" format type, your search results will include streaming videos.

Citing FOD

Films On Demand provides citations for videos directly below the video playing window. Just click the 'Citation' link, choose the appropriate style, and copy and paste the citation into your paper.

 

Screenshot of FOD video with citation link circled

Citation Help

 

Always double check with your instructor to make sure you are citing according to their preferences.

 

 

Also consult the citation style guides such as the "MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers," and the "APA Publication Manual," for more information on citing your sources.

Overview

What is Films On Demand?

Films On Demand [FOD] is an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to the faculty, staff and students at Madison College. 

  • It's a web-based interface that's accessible 24/7, on- and off-campus

  • Includes over 10,000 titles from top notch producers such as PBS, BBC, Meridian, National Geographic and more

  • Easy-to-search collection via keyword searches or via browsing subject categories

  • Viewable in the classroom or for presentations

  • Users may share links through email or integrate into Blackboard

  • Users may combine segments from different videos to create a customized viewing experience

Linking to Films on Demand

You can provide a link to videos, but you cannot host or load them directly into Blackboard.

Do not use the URL displayed in the top address bar of the browser as the link you share. Instead, use the link provided underneath the details tab in the video playback window: Click "Link" (see below).

Screenshot of where to click for shareable URL in Films on Demand

To ensure off-campus access, make sure there is an EZproxy prefix in front of the URL you share (i.e. https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu" before the rest of the URL)

If you see the prefix "https://ezprozy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url=" in front of the URL, you can just copy and past the link as is. 

Make sure when copying the URL that you do not copy any additional spaces at the end of the URl as this may cause the link to break/not work. 

For more information creating links for use in Blackboard, see our Linking to Library Resources guide. 

Closed Captioning and Transcripts

All of the videos in our Films On Demand collection now have captioning and interactive transcripts.

  • New videos may not be captioned when they are first added, but they should be shortly thereafter.
  • To toggle captions on and off, just hover near the "CC" icon at the bottom of the video (to the right of the play button) until a menu appears. From this menu, you can turn on closed captioning. See example below: 

 

Screenshot of Films on Demand Closed Captioning Tool

 

  • To see a full text script of the video's audio, just click on the "Transcripts" tab to the right of the video.
  • Click on the words in the script to skip directly to that section of the video.

Create a User Account, Playlists and Favorites

In order to create playlists and favorites, you will need to create a User Log In account.

At the top of the Films On Demand page, select "Your Profile", then "Sign Up".

Screenshot of how to create profile in Films on Demand

A Playlist is a customized list of segments and/or video titles that you create. Each playlist will create a specific URL which you can then play in class, email to your students, or add to Blackboard. To create a playlist, first create a User Log In (see above). 

  • To add a video to the playlist, click "Add To" under the video.  Then, name your playlist and add the video to it. 
  • You can add specific video segments or whole video titles to a playlist.
  • View your playlists by selecting the My Playlists tab at the top. 
  • Make sure to get the playlist URL located in the "Title URL" box located in the bottom, left of the screen if you are going to send it in an e-mail or add video URLs in Blackboard. (Do not use the URL from the top of your browser.)
  • If you are emailing the link, it is a good idea to email the link to yourself first. Then you can use your email client (Outlook, yahoo, gmail, etc.) to forward the link. This will enable you to use any of your contact lists and the sent email will appear in your sent items folder. 
  • If you are adding the URL link to Blackboard, you may need to add the EZproxy prefix to the beginning of the URL. If you see the prefix "https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url=" in front of the URL, you can just copy and paste the link as is. If not, click here for more information on adding links to Blackboard: https://libguides.madisoncollege.edu/linking​.

Favorites allow you to store videos in personal folders for quick access (similar to bookmarking web sites as Favorites in a web browser). To create favorites, first create a User Log In account, then click "Add To" under the video, similar to adding a video to a playlist, as described above. 

Viewing Tips

  • Streaming technology allows users to watch videos on their computers via an Internet connection.
  • Multiple users can simultaneously view the same video at different locations. 
  • Works best when you have a robust, high-speed Internet connection.
  • You can find detailed information about the technical requirements on the right sidebar, "Online Help." 

Smoothest, Quality Performance

  • To get a smooth, quality performance without lags and delay, start playing a video and then hit the pause button to allow the video to load into the buffer for a couple of minutes.
  • The video downloading in the background will stay several minutes ahead of what is playing and will run more smoothly.

 

View the Entire Movie

  • When you search FOD and your results are video segments (or chapters), switch to the "Full Title" tab,
  • Then click on the full title in this window.
  • Now you can click on the play button to run all the segments as one continuous movie. 
  • You can tell whether you are viewing an entire video or just a segment because a video segment will include "From Title:" which is the title of the full video that particular segment came from.

Need Help?

If you need help with Films On Demand, call the Madison College Library "FOD Squad":

Truax  608-246-6640

Fort Atkinson 920-568-7241

Portage 608-745-3111

Reedsburg 608-524-7794 or 608-524-7800

South 608-243-4895

Watertown 920-206-8009