Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Print Copy Journals & Magazines at Madison College Libraries: Scholarly Sources

Everything you want to know about the print magazine collection at the Madison College Libraries.

Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Sources

Scholarly or peer-reviewed sources:

  • are written for and reviewed by fellow academics or researchers in the field
  • are excellent for finding out what has been studied or researched on a topic
  • contain original research or in-depth study in the field
  • provide extensive references leading to other relevant sources of information
  • use the technical language of the field

Scholarly journals

How to Identify Scholarly Journal Articles (Cornell University Libraries)

How to Identify Scholarly Books

  • Check to see if the publisher is a university or scholarly press.
  • Check the author's credentials to see if they are a scholar or recognized expert.
  • Are there references listed at the end of chapters or the end of the book?

Go to https://libguides.madisoncollege.edu/booksAV to search our book catalog and others, make interlibrary loan requests, and more.

Scholarly Articles From Madison College Databases

Many of the library's subscription databases offer access to scholarly, peer-reviewed articles, as well as shortcuts to get to them.

  • Academic Search Complete (Ebsco) - Check the "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" box. You can also search multiple databases from Ebsco at one time by clicking on the "Choose databases" link.
  • JSTOR - Archives of academic journal articles across the humanities and social sciences.

Access off-campus with your Madison College ID and password.

To see all of the library's subscription databases, go to the A to Z list.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar searches broadly for scholarly research on the web. Many of the entries are just citations, but there is an increasing amount of full-text.

View our Google Scholar Tutorial for more information on using it.

Google Scholar Search

Open Access Scholarly Journal Directories