Law Journals
Access these journals online through the library's databases using your Madison College login credentials.
Wisconsin Jury Instructions
Wisconsin Jury Instructions Online
Children
Children in need of protection or services (CHIPS) and involuntary termination of parental rights (TPR) cases.
Civil
General civil cases, negligence, intentional torts, contracts, employment, businesses, and other individual or property cases.
Criminal
General criminal cases, defenses, certain crimes, and ordinance violations.
The Truax Library has these on reserve to use in the library:
Wisconsin Jury Instructions, Civil (347.0758 W811)
Wisconsin Jury Instructions, Criminal (347.0758 W811 CR)
Featured Law Books
Law 101: Everything You Need to Know About the American Legal System by Call Number: 349.73 F299ISBN: 0195179579
The Legal Research and Writing Handbook: a Basic Approach for Paralegals by Call Number: 340.072073 Y43ISBN: 0735567387Publication Date: 2009
Books on Reserve
LLCs and LLPs : a Wisconsin handbook by
Choice of business entity / by Joseph W. Boucher -- Organization and formalities of LLCs / by Debra Sadow Koenig -- Operational issues of LLCs / by Marcus S. Loden -- Tax issues / by Douglas J. Patch -- Limited liability partnerships / by Bret A. Roge and Steven R. Battenberg -- Limited liability entities for lawyers and other professionals / by Chris A. Jenny -- Forms.
Call Number: 346.7750668 B753ISBN: 1578623057Publication Date: 2011
Organizing a Wisconsin Business Corporation by
Beginning the incorporation process -- Articles of incorporation -- Bylaws -- Subscription agreements and share certificates -- Completing the organization of the corporation -- Beyond the organization of the corporation -- Incorporations by conversion.
Call Number: 346.775066220269 B753ISBN: 9781578622337Publication Date: 2008
The Wisconsin Business Advisor by
Contracts -- Consumer rights and responsibilities -- Sales -- Commercial paper -- Introduction to letters of credit -- Bulk transfers under UCC article 6 -- Documents of title and UCC article 7 -- Personal property leases -- Secured transactions -- Internet law -- Doing business outside the United States.
Call Number: 346.7750666 W811 v.5, v. 7, Suppl.ISBN: 9781578621606Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Wisconsin Probate System by
Probate practice aids -- Planning the representation -- Informal probate -- Formal probate -- Summary procedures -- Estate and income taxes.
Call Number: 346.775052 ST785ISBN: 9781578623396Publication Date: 2012
Library Research Databases
- CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window Each week a 12,000 word report covers research and analysis of current issues in the news and matters of public policy.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCREDO is a database of reference titles, including many legal dictionaries and encyclopedias are included. Try a keyword search or go directly to the Law Topic Page.
- All Madison College Libraries DatabasesAlphabetical list of all the databases subscribed to by the Madison College Libraries. Click on the "i" for more information about the database. The databases are accessible off-campus as well with your Madison College network ID & password.
- Films on DemandHigh quality online educational video collection.
Streaming Video
Streaming Video:
There are over 26,000 films to be discovered on Kanopy, including: must-see classics from The Criterion Collection, a variety of trusted PBS programming, educational videos from The Great Courses, as well as independent film, festival favorites, and world cinema from award-winning filmmakers across the globe.
See also: Films on Demand (FOD) an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to faculty, staff, and students at Madison College.
Other Catalogs
WorldCat -- Access to library catalogs throughout Wisconsin and the world. Make an interlibrary loan request from the page.
UW-Madison Library Catalog -- The Madison College Libraries have an agreement with the UW-Madison Libraries to provide a borrowing card free of charge to Madison College students. Stop in at any of the Madison College Libraries to learn more and fill out the form.
Wisconsin State Law Library -- Look for the catalog under the "Search" tab