Paper Requirements
Research Paper – 100 Points
- Cover page
- Table of contents
- Paper Guidelines: 3-5 page paper, double spaced, size 12 font
- How is this trend being infused and applied in the industry?
- Research why and how it is affecting the industry (impact and implications it has)
- Provide 3 specific examples (stories, website links, pictures, artifacts)
- Would it work here? (climate, pros, cons, obstacles, opportunities, recommendations)
- Do you think the trend will last or continue? (is it viable)
- Create an event around this trend:
- Who is your target market?
- Create a social media advertisement/marketing campaign
- Provide a cost breakdown/budget analysis
- Create and include an infographic highlighting key points about your trend
- Cite all resources used according to APA style (websites, popular press articles, periodicals, presentations)
Researching a Trend
Finding evidence of your chosen trend in an article database:
- Associates Programs Source Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year colleges, covers subjects as wide-ranging as: agriculture, automotive, biotechnology, computer & data processing, CAD, cosmetology, culinary arts, electrical technology, fashion design, fire science forensics, graphic arts, health information technology, hospitality, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, paralegal studies, robotics, travel & tourism, veterinary assisting, and more.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General. The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Business, Finance, Economics, Marketing. Scholarly business database covering all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, economics, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Company Information in a Library Database
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Business. Formerly Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC). Provides business, company, and industry content including articles, company financials and earning estimates, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, industry and company rankings, market share data, industry overviews, and HR law case digests.
Information on the Web
See INTRO page on this guide or try one of the following suggested sites:
- Statista.com (some free content)Statista was also mentioned in the Company Research Resources section, too--it really does have a little bit of everything, from mouthguards to semiconductors. It's worth a look, regardless of how big or small your industry may be.
- U.S. Data & StatisticsGet population and demographic information about the country, individual states, and more.
Photo: Chris Young/The Canadian Press
Infographics
Displaying your trend as an infographic
- Canva's infographics templates-Must sign up for free account to use basic features (some features at cost)
- infogramInfogram helps marketers communicate data and complex ideas in a visually engaging way.
-Must sign up for free account to use basic features (some features at cost)
-Buildable
-Embeddable
-Interactive
-Free version includes logo
-10 chart limit for free account - Piktochart-Must sign up for free account to use basic features (some features at cost)
-Slick templates
-Buildable from scratch
-Downloadable (not high quality for print)