Biology: Websites

Offers open-access free videos from leading biologists.

Weekly radio show on science topics in the news, featuring expert guests from the research community.

From the American Society for Cell Biology. Very interactive with images, videos, and animations about the cell.

The goal of this project is to use molecular illustration and animation to help describe origins of life research and theories to broad audiences. Illustrations and animations may be downloaded in the Resources for Educators section.

Search for plants by state, by type (such as alternative crops and invasive species), or by particular characteristics.

Division of the National Institutes of Health and the National Library of Medicine. Provides extensive resources on research in molecular biology.

Information on the habitats of microbes, including extreme environments, and researched topics in the field.

Searchable guide to 497 species, including high resolution, interactive images, captions, and text.

The private papers of Charles Darwin can now be seen by anyone online and free of charge. This vast and varied collection of papers includes the first draft of his theory of evolution, notes from the voyage of the Beagle and Emma Darwin's recipe book.

Digital collection of the Nobel Laureate's work from Oregon State University

Animal Diversity Web (ADW) is an online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan

A collaborative effort of biologists and nature enthusiasts from around the world. The project provides information about biodiversity, the characteristics of different groups of organisms, and their evolutionary history (phylogeny).

The IUCN Red List of Threatened Species provides taxonomic, conservation status and distribution information on plants and animals that have been globally evaluated using the IUCN Red List Categories and Criteria.

Allows you to search for endangered species in your area.