It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Baldwin Library is hosted by the University of Florida's digital collection. More than 6,000 historical children's books can be read and examined online.
Library Materials for Children's Literature
Our library at Truax does not have a large collection of children's literature. However we do have works about children's literature. HOWEVER, our Downtown Library does have almost 600 titles in its Juvenile collection that may be sent to Truax. To do so, use the Library's interlibrary loan form: https://libguides.madisoncollege.edu/ill
Keywords for Children's Literature by Philip Nel; Lissa PaulLiterature presents 49 original essays on the essential terms and concepts of the field. From Aesthetics to Young Adult, an impressive, multidisciplinary cast of scholars explores the vocabulary central to the study of children's literature. Following the growth of his or her word, each author traces its branching uses and meanings, often into unfamiliar disciplinary territories:
Call Number: Online Book
Publication Date: 2011-06-13
The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature by Bernice E. Cullinan (Editor); Diane G. Person (Editor)With 1,100 biographical-critical entries and 100 topical articles, written by some 150 contributors, The Continuum Encyclopedia of Children's Literature is the most complete and up-to-date reference source ever produced on the subject. The work covers 150 years of children's literature in many cultures: the United States, Britain, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, continental Europe, Israel, Africa, and the Far East. Biographical-critical entries include authors as well as illustrators and artists. The board of advisers, made up of scholars, editors, librarians, authors, and artists, has helped to make this encyclopedia even more user-friendly. Also featured are photographs of the best-known figures and samples of classic artwork, many in full color.
Coretta Scott King - Book Award WinnersThe Coretta Scott King Book Awards are given annually to outstanding African American authors and illustrators of books for children and young adults that demonstrate an appreciation of African American culture and universal human values. The award commemorates the life and work of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and honors his wife, Mrs. Coretta Scott King, for her courage and determination to continue the work for peace and world brotherhood.
Cinderella in America by William Bernard McCarthy (Editor)For years many folklorists have denied the possibility of a truly American folk or fairy tale. They have argued that the tales found in the United States are watered-down derivatives of European fare. With this gathering, William Bernard McCarthy compiles evidence strongly to the contrary. Cinderella in America: A Book of Folk and Fairy Tales represents these tales as they have been told in the United States from Revolutionary days until the present. To capture this richness, tales are grouped in chapters that represent regional and ethnic groups, including Iberian, French, German, British, Irish, other European, African American, and Native American. These tales are drawn from published collections, journals, and archives, and from fieldwork by McCarthy and his colleagues. Created along the nationalist model of the Brothers Grimm yet as diverse in its voices and themes as the nation it represents, Cinderella in America shows these tales truly merit the designation American. William Bernard McCarthy is professor emeritus of English at Pennsylvania State University. His previous books are The Ballad Matrix: Personality, Milieu, and the Oral Tradition and Jack in Two Worlds: Contemporary North American Tales and Their Tellers.
Call Number: 398.20973 C574 (Truax)
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
The Annotated Classic Fairy Tales by Maria Tatar (Editor, Translator)Not since Bruno Bettelheim's The Uses of Enchantment has there been such an illuminating contribution to the world of children's fairy tales. The Annotated Classic Fairy Tales celebrates the best-loved stories of childhood through the vision of Maria Tatar, a leading expert in the field of folklore and children's literature. Challenging the notion that fairy tales can be read for their morals and used to make model citizens of little children, Tatar guides readers through the stories, exploring their historical origins, their cultural complexities, and their psychological effects. By providing children with powerful models for navigating reality, Tatar shows, these tales help children survive in a world ruled by adults. Tatar presents twenty-six classic stories -- including "Beauty and the Beast," "Little Red Hiding Hood," "Jack and the Beanstalk," and "The Little Mermaid." She has personally retranslated the stories that did not appear originally in English and has also assembled over 300 often rare, mostly four-color photographs, paintings, and illustrations, creating a volume that will rank as one of the finest fairy tale collections in many decades. 350 four-color illustrations.
Call Number: 398.2 AN615 (Truax)
Publication Date: 2002-10-17
The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales by Alison Lurie (Editor)The stories of magic and transformation that we call fairy tales are one of the oldest known forms of literature, and also one of the most popular and enduring. While most people think of the fairy tale as having come into existence almost magically long ago, they are in fact still being created. And while they are principally directed to children and have child protagonists, these modern fairy tales, like the classics, have messages to those of all ages. In The Oxford Book of Modern Fairy Tales, editor Alison Lurie collects such modern stories of the late nineteenth century up to the present. Here are trolls and princesses, magic and mayhem, morals to be told and lessons to be learned--all the elements of the classic fairy tale, in new and marvelous stories. Including the works of Charles Dickens, Nathaniel Hawthorne, George MacDonald, Mary De Morgan, H.G. Wells, Robert Louis Stevenson, Joan Aiken, Carl Sandburg, Angela Carter, James Thurber, Louise Erdrich, and many more, here is a treasury of tales that, though set in an unreal and irrelevant universe, have much to tell us about the real world in which we live.
The ALAN Review (TAR) is a peer-reviewed (refereed) journal published by the Assembly on Literature for Adolescents of the National Council of Teachers of English (ALAN). It is devoted solely to the field of literature for young adults.
Database Research in Children's Literature
Literary Reference Center Plus (EBSCO)This link opens in a new windowAccurate and reliable source for author information, information about certain works, and research on literature, including children's literature.