Take a look at some of our past workshops! If you missed one, please feel free to contact the library or request another session through our Suggestions and Feedback page.
Are You Equipped? Tech Specs Needed for College
Get geared up, literally, for College. We’ll talk about minimum and recommended tech specs for students at Madison College. While we won’t recommend specific brands or products, we will give general recommendations on equipment you may need to be successful. Internet access and some of the no cost and discounted software options available to you as a student at the College will be discussed.
Audience: prospective and current students
Blackboard Finals Tips and Tricks
This session will cover some best practices while using Blackboard during finals week. We’ll cover the best technical set-up for taking exams as well as various ways students may be asked to submit assignments or projects in Blackboard.
Creative Commons Licenses: the basics
You may have seen the term "Creative Commons" used to describe content online but what does it actually mean? Join this session to learn how the powerful Creative Commons license allows creators, educators, and learners to access and use content in ways traditional copyright doesn't allow. Leave the session with a digital reference toolbox of Creative Commons tools to start using CC licensed works and applying CC licenses to your own content.
Audience: all audiences
eBooks at Madison College Libraries
In addition to the print collection, Madison College libraries have a wide variety of Ebooks available for students, staff, and faculty—and they’re all available from home! Join this workshop to learn more about what books are available and where to find them, including materials for class and for fun.
Audience: prospective and current students, parents.
Evidence-based Research using CINAHL, Pubmed and Cochrane Reviews
Whether you're new to evidenced-based research or need a quick refresher, stop in to see a demonstration using 3 different databases for evidence based research.
Audience: prospective and current students, parents, community.
Examine Your Resources: online test prep options
Learn about online test preparation support options from Madison College Libraries. Resources include library databases, ebooks, and more. All are online and easily accessible remotely.
Audience: prospective and current students, parents.
Formatting Your Paper
This workshop will go over some of the most common questions when formatting papers in Microsoft Word, including how to use headers, page numbers, and more. Join us to learn more about this common tool and get your own questions answered!
Get Your Citations in Order
You’re in the process of writing your paper or you’ve just finished it. Now you need some stellar citations to submit with it. Join us to learn about credible resources to create and check your citations quickly and accurately.
Audience: Current students, community.
How Do I Find Peer-Reviewed Sources?
Has your instructor asked to include a couple scholarly, peer-reviewed sources for your paper. You understand their description of what it is, but where can you find them? Join us to find out how library subscription databases can make the process much easier. We'll also take a peek at Google Scholar and other web tools to find open access peer-reviewed sources.
Audience: Current students, community.
The Job Hunter’s Toolbox: Company Research Before a Job Interview
Any job hunter knows preparation is vital to landing a new position. A big part of that is researching the company you’ll be applying to. But where to start, which information to look for and how to use it can be confusing. In this session, we’ll talk about why you should research a company you’d like to work for, where to look for the essential information you’ll need, and a few key ways of connecting the dots between knowing more about a company and succeeding in a job interview.
Library 101
The library isn’t just somewhere to find books! Madison College Libraries offer a wide variety of resources to help students, staff, and faculty with school and with daily life. Join this workshop to find out what the library can do for you, including help with technology, research, remote learning, and much more!
Audience: prospective and current students, parents, staff, and faculty.
Library Research 101
Your professor has told you to use a database article for your upcoming paper. Where do you go, and what do you do? This workshop will go over the basics of library research, including what databases we have, how to access them from home, and how to find the articles you need to succeed.
Audience: prospective and current students, parents, community.
LinkedIn Learning 101
LinkedIn Learning is a powerful tool everyone at Madison College can access. Features include full courses in topics from Microsoft Excel and Teams to learning coding and music composition. Join this workshop to learn how to quickly create an account and open up endless possibilities.
Audience: prospective and current students, and parents
Meet the Personal Academic Librarian (PAL) Program
Navigating college can be challenging but you don't have to go through it alone! Librarians can support your research and tech needs throughout your semester. Find out how you can easily sign up for personalized service from a Madison College Librarian throughout the fall semester. There are many ways the service could benefit, including the opportunity to earn a digital badge for your resume if you choose that option.
Microsoft Teams for Online Learning
One of the many tools available for online learning is Microsoft Teams. Join us to learn more about how to navigate and use this powerful tool for videos, classes, chatting, group work, and more!
Audience: prospective and current students, parents, staff, and faculty
The Nuts and Bolts of Learning Online
Presented in collaboration with Madison College's Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
New to Online Learning or just looking for more information about how to be successful in online courses? Join us to learn the basics about online learning, what an online course might look like, and strategies students can use to help support their own success in online classes.
Audience: all audiences
Online Learning: you've got questions, we've got answers!
Presented in collaboration with the Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
Do you have questions about online learning or your online classes? Looking for ideas, strategies, or tips for a challenge you are facing with learning online? Have a resource or suggestion to share with your fellow students? Join Tina Rettler-Pagel, the college’s online learning expert and Kate Grovergrys, an Online Live instructor, along with library staff, for this informal, but informative session!
Audience: prospective and current students, and parents.
Open Educational Resources 101
What are Open Educational Resources (OER) and what role do they play in reshaping the educational landscape? Learn about how these powerful tools are helping students succeed by saving money, increasing diversity and inclusion in learning materials, and promoting accessibility.
Audience: all audiences
Paper Panic: finding credible sources fast
Is your paper due soon, like really soon, and don’t want it to look like you just grabbed the first sources you saw from Google? Join us to find out how our library databases and resources can help you get to more credible and reliable sources more quickly. Also, find out some simple criteria to use to evaluate the quality of web resources if you do use Google.
Audience: prospective and current students, and parents
Private Eyes, They're Watching You: privacy online
In this current all-online environment of education, it might be more important than ever to take a little time to consider privacy issues as you navigate around looking for information. This workshop will explore some strategies to use with browsers and apps, as well as provide some helpful hints from the library's Privacy Research Guide: https://libguides.madisoncollege.edu/onlinesecurity/privacy
Audience: all audiences
The Survival Guide to College Learning
Your Learning Style is all about your strengths, preferences, and all the unique things about you that make you tick. To achieve at the top of your potential, you need to know what makes learning click for you! Knowing your own style can help you customize your College routines, identify your study needs, and develop new and more effective learning habits. Join us for this introduction to Learning Styles and the study tips that lead to success.
Audience: prospective and current students, parents,
What Do You Mean, Full-Text Not Available?
Learn how Inter-library Loan and Google Scholar can help you find the full-text from citations where it's not in the database.
Working with Computer Files
Knowing how to work with electronic files is a must for anyone entering college. In this workshop, you’ll learn some key skills including where and how to save and back up your files, as well as how to download and submit files in BlackBoard. We’ll also touch on a few key strategies that will help you stay organized
Audience: prospective and current students, parents, faculty, staff.
Working with Online Presentation Tools
This workshop will explain how to use Microsoft PowerPoint to build, record, and post slideshows. Whether you're doing a traditional slideshow or building a video, come join us to learn the basics of this powerful presentation tool.