Librarians to the Rescue
Do you need help getting started with your paper? Are you unsure of the research process and where to find reliable sources? Not quite certain how to cite sources? If so, our Madison College librarians are here to help you 7-days a week during spring and fall semester. They are highly trained to help you with:
- finding a suitable topic and getting started
- searching library and educational databases
- locating reliable resources and information to use for your research
- identifying tools to help you with grammar and spelling
- citing your resources accurately
- using Microsoft Word and other software to format your paper
Helpful Ebooks
The Handy English Grammar Answer Book by
Whether it's for a professional document, a school paper, an Internet blog, or something more personal, effective communication depends on clear, concise, and grammatically correct writing. Punctuation, spelling, and grammar rules can trip up anyone, while organization and word choice can make writing memorable--or banal. The Handy English Grammar Answer Book is an engaging guide to writing with clarity for all occasions. It offers fundamental principles, grammar rules, and punctuation advice, as well as insights on writing for different occasions and audiences. From a brief history of the English language to the deconstruction--and explanation--of the different parts of a sentence, and from showing how to punctuate correctly to how to organize a well-argued essay, this easy-to-use reference answers nearly 500 questions and offers fun facts on the English language and its usage, including How did English become a language spoken worldwide? What is a sentence fragment? When do I use "that" versus "which"? How do I use materials ethically on my own websites? How do I write an outline? Several appendices, including model papers and sample writing for every occasion, a glossary of commonly used terms, a bibliography, and an index add to the book's usefulness.
ISBN: 1578595207Publication Date: 2015
Bloomsbury Thesaurus by ISBN: 0747532613
The American Heritage Dictionary by
* More than 70,000 entries * Thoroughly revised and updated * 2,500 new words and meanings * More than 400 photographs and illustrations * Expert guidance on correct usage YOU ARE YOUR WORDS The words you use define you. Make the most of them with The American Heritage® Dictionary. THE FIFTH EDITION FEATURES Clear definitions written in a style that is accurate and easy to understand New words and senses in all areas from science and technology to food and clothing Biographical and geographical entries that identify the people and places you need to know Useful illustrations that enhance the definitions and make learning easier Expert guidance on usage based on surveys of the American Heritage® Usage Panel Etymologies, synonyms, antonyms, and much more
ISBN: 0553583220Publication Date: 2016
Merriam-Webster's Collegiate® Dictionary by
Newly Revised & Updated for 2014! America's best-selling dictionary defines the current, active vocabulary of American English and is updated on an ongoing basis. Features more than 225,000 clear and precise definitions and more than 42,000 usage examples. This format includes an electronic version of the dictionary and a free one-year online subscription. Current copyright is 2014.
ISBN: 0877798095Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Help With Punctuation
Provided by Madison College Libraries from The Columbia Encyclopedia (CREDO Reference)
Digital Backpack Workshops
From the Experts!
Find reliable resources.
Learn how to format papers.
Properly cite your sources.
Citation Help
- Citation Styles and Guides Learn how to cite all types of styles--APA, ASA, Chicago, MLA and citing books accessed from ereaders from one source. Guide created by Madison College Librarians.
- KnightCite Citation Service Enter your resource information to see how it should be cited using MLA, APA or Chicago Style. --from Hekman Library Calvin College [MI]
- Purdue Online Writing Lab Site Map Guidelines and tips on research and citation resources.
Plagiarism in 2 minutes and 32 seconds
Click play and then on Full Screen icon in lower right corner for best viewing. This video is provided by the Madison College Libraries and Common Craft videos.
Library Online Resources
- Academic Skills Improvement Spelling and Vocabulary Practice reading tests, review courses and ebooks to help you succeed. Create your own interactive and private course to improve your skills. Some tools are timed, will explain why an item may be incorrect and will allow you to track your progress. Create a username and login. [Can use your College account or something of your own choice.]
- Academic Skills Improvement: Writing & Grammar Practice reading tests, review courses and ebooks to help you succeed. Create your own interactive and private course to improve your skills. Some tools are timed, will explain why an item may be incorrect and will allow you to track your progress. Create a username and login. [Can use your College account or something of your own choice.]This is a Madison College Libraries database. If you need assistance please contact your librarian.
- Choosing and Refining Your Topic A short video to help get you started on that paper. A HOWLER tutorial created by Madison College Librarians.
Additional Online Support
Intensive Writing Lab Online
Madison College Writing Center
Madison College Writing Center tutors are available. Meet in a live remote session or by submitting your writing to them. Learn more about their hours and services at Writing Center.