Research Materials for Marriage & Family Topics
Encyclopedia of Family Studies by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0470658452Publication Date: 2016-02-29
International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family Relations by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0028658833Publication Date: 2003-11-01
Key Concepts in Family Studies by ISBN: 141292006XPublication Date: 2010-12-29Key Concepts in Family Studie's individual entries introduce, explain and contextualize the key topics within the study of the family.
The Cambridge Handbook of Personal Relationships by ISBN: 0521533597Publication Date: 2006-06-05The volume addresses a broad range of established and emerging topics including: theoretical and methodological issues that influence the study of personal relationships; research and theory on relationship development, the nature and functions of personal relationships across the lifespan; individual differences and their influences on relationships; relationship processes such as cognition, emotion, and communication; relational qualities such as satisfaction and commitment; environmental influences on personal relationships; and maintenance and repair of relationships.
The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0521651174Publication Date: 2005-09-08The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Child Development is an authoritative, accessible and up-to-date account of all aspects of child development.
The Measure of America, 2010-2011 by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0814783805Publication Date: 2010-11-01The Measure of America, 2010-2011, is the definitive report on the overall well-being of all Americans. How are Americans doing—compared to one another and compared to the rest of the world? This important, easy-to-understand guide will provide all of the essential information on the current state of America.
Navigating Interracial Borders : Black-white Couples and Their Social Worlds
'One of the best books written about interracial relationships to date.... Childs offers a sophisticated and insightful analysis of the social and ideological context of black-white interracial relationships.'—Heather Dalmage, author Tripping on the Color Line
New Brunswick, N.J. : Rutgers University Press. 2005
New Science of Couples and Family Therapy: John Gottman & Julie Gottman
“A Dangerous Son.” Films Media Group, 2018, fod.infobase.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?wID=102567&xtid=150690.
Marriage: Shattered Vows
Couples: Money
Two American Families
Women in Affairs: Infidelity
Families: Ourselves, Love and Loving
Just Married by
Stephen Macedo displays the groundlessness of arguments against same-sex marriage and defends marriage as a public institution against those who would eliminate its special status or supplant it with private arrangements. Arguing that monogamy reflects and cultivates our most basic democratic values, Macedo opposes the legal recognition of polygamy, but agrees with progressives that public policies should do more to support nontraditional caring and caregiving relationships.
Call Number: 306.848 M141ISBN: 069116648XPublication Date: 2015-06-09
Same-Sex Marriage by
The title in the Current Controversies Series delves into the changing issue of same-sex marriage with questions such as how did same-sex marriage become legal in the United States, does same-sex marriage benefit society, is same-sex marriage good for families and children, and what are some of the key issues surrounding same-sex marriage
Call Number: 306.848 SA187TISBN: 9780737772203Publication Date: 2015-02-06
Making It Legal by
The ultimate guide to the past, present, and future of same-sex relationship laws in the U.S.
Call Number: 346.730168 H576 2014ISBN: 9781413319835Publication Date: 2014-01-27
Unfinished Business by
Anne-Marie Slaughter returns with her vision for what true equality between men and women really means, and how we can get there. She uncovers the missing piece of the puzzle, presenting a new focus that can reunite the women's movement and provide a common banner under which both men and women can advance and thrive. With moving personal stories, individual action plans, and a broad outline for change, Anne-Marie Slaughter reveals a future in which all of us can finally finish the business of equality for women and men, work and family.
Call Number: 305.420973 SL631 (Truax)ISBN: 0812994566Publication Date: 2015-09-29
Hard to Get by
Hard to Get is a powerful and intimate examination of the sex and love lives of the most liberated women in history--twenty-something American women who have had more opportunities, more positive role models, and more information than any previous generation.
Call Number: 176.4 B434ISBN: 0520261496Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Making Lemonade with Ben: The Audacity to Cope by
This award-winning tale of triumphant woe chronicles the spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical effects on a family after seven-year-old Ben is found in a coma.
Call Number: 649.1528 P455ISBN: 1477665161Publication Date: 2013-02-22
Same-Sex Marriage in the United States by
Same Sex Marriage in the United States tells the story of the legal and cultural shift, its backlash, and how it has evolved over the past 15 years. There is a clear story of jurisprudential evolution with regards to same-sex marriage from Hawaii, through Vermont, Massachusetts, New Jersey, California, Connecticut, and, remarkably, Iowa in 2009.
Call Number: 306.8480973 P618 (Reedsburg)ISBN: 1442212047Publication Date: 2013-03-08
Torn by
Striking the right balance between career and motherhood is one of the most stressful, heart-wrenching tasks facing women today. In Torn, 47 women explore the conflict between the need to nurture and the need to work, and reveal creative solutions for having the best of both worlds.
Call Number: 306.8743 T685ISBN: 1603810978Publication Date: 2011-04-01
What Do Women Want? by
Drawing on extensive research and interviews with scientists and everyday women, he forces us to reconsider long-held notions about female sexuality. As he explores the answers to a number of fascinating questions, Bergner debunks myths and looks at the future of female sexuality, including the possibility of a "female Viagra."
Call Number: 306.7 B499 (Downtown)ISBN: 0061906093Publication Date: 2014-05-13
Can't We Talk about Something More Pleasant? by
Roz Chast brings her signature wit to the topic of aging parents. Spanning the last several years of their lives and told through four-color cartoons, family photos, and documents, and a narrative as rife with laughs as it is with tears, Chast's memoir is both comfort and comic relief for anyone experiencing the life-altering loss of elderly parents.
Call Number: 741.5973 C489ISBN: 1608198065Publication Date: 2014-05-06
Labors of Love by
It seems as though every week there's a new app available on your smartphone promising dates a plenty--just swipe right. A mate, on the other hand, is becoming harder and harder to find. The age-old quest for true love requires more effort than ever before. Let's face it: dating is work. Which, as it happens, is exactly where it began, in the 19th century--as prostitution. InLabor of Love, Moira Weigel dives into the secret history of dating while holding up a mirror to the contemporary dating landscape, revealing why we date the way we do and explaining why it feels so much like work.
Call Number: 306.73 W419 (Truax)ISBN: 9780374182533Publication Date: 2016-05-17
Reference Shelf: Rethinking Work by
Do the wealthiest, most powerful corporations today reward their white-collar employees with outstanding vacation and family-leave packages or exploit their workforce by demanding unreasonable hours and unrealistic goals? And how do their blue-collar employees fare? This volume will explore these questions as well as other current topics.
Call Number: 331.0973 R438 (Truax)ISBN: 1682170667Publication Date: 2016-08-01
The Explosive Child by
Screaming, swearing, crying, hitting, kicking, spitting, biting...these are some of the challenging behaviors we see in kids who are having difficulty meeting our expectations. These behaviors often leave parents feeling frustrated, angry, overwhelmed, and desperate for answers. In this fully revised and updated book, Dr. Ross Greene helps you understand why and when your child does these things and how to respond in ways that are nonpunitive, nonadversarial, humane, and effective.
Call Number: 649.154 G811 (Truax)ISBN: 9780062270450Publication Date: 2014-05-20
I Do...Until I Don't (Feature Film)
1 DVD, Feature film, 107 minutes.
Married in America 2
1 DVD. 132 minutes. Call Number: 306.810973 M359 DVD
Saving Marriage
1 DVD. 90 minutes. Call Number: 346.0168097 SA267 DVD
Art & Science of Love: A Video of Workshop for Couples
4 DVDs. 395 minutes. Call Number: 306.81 ARTSC 2005 DVD (Downtown)
To Be a Father
1 DVD. 30 minutes. Call Number: 306.8742 T627 DVD (Downtown & Reedsburg)
Off and running: an American coming of age story
1 DVD. 76 minutes. Call Number: 305.48896073 O32 DVD
Library Databases
- JStor This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General, Social Sciences, Humanities. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General. The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
Individual Journals
- Advocate (1996-Present) - NOT Peer-ReviewedArticles, commentary, personality profiles, reviews and book reviews representing a wide variety of gay and lesbian ideas and perspectives.
- Basic and Applied Social PsychologyThe journal provides a venue for a broad range of specialty areas, including research on legal and political issues, environmental influences on behavior, organizations, aging, medical and health-related outcomes, sexuality, education and learning, the effects of mass media, gender issues, and population problems.
- Child Development (1930-1 Year Ago)Articles of interdisciplinary empirical research, theoretical articles and reviews that have theoretical implications for child developmental research selected through blind review.
- Conscience (2006-Present) - NOT Peer-ReviewedOffers in-depth coverage on many contemporary issues including reproductive rights, sexuality and gender, feminism, the Religious Right, women's rights, and the role of religion in formulating public policy.
- Fathering: A Journal of Theory, Research, & Practice about Men as Fathers (2004-Present)Promotion of knowledge about fathers & families as well as knowledge of practice with fathers. Intended for teachers, students, & practitioners involved in the behavioral & social sciences examining any intersection of men's lives.
- Future of ChildrenThe mission of the Future of Children is to translate the best social science research about children and youth into information that is useful to policymakers, practitioners, grant-makers, advocates, the media, and students of public policy.
- Gender Issues (1990-1 Year Ago)Peer reviewed articles on basic and applied research on the relationships between men and women; on similiarities & differences in socialization, personality, & behavior; & on the changing roles of women around the world.
- International Journal of Children's SpiritualityInternational Journal of Children’s Spirituality provides an international, inter-disciplinary and multi-cultural forum for those involved in research and development of children’s and young people’s spirituality, within which this debate can be addressed and widened.
- International Journal of Sociology of the Family (2010-Present - full text)Publishes research on or related to family sociology.
- Journal of Applied Research on ChildrenJARC focuses on timely child-related topics including—but not limited to—human trafficking, food insecurity, and the quality of public education.
- Journal of Child and Family StudiesThe journal translates the latest research results into practical applications for clinicians and healthcare practitioners, by addressing all facets of emotional disorders, including issues associated with identification, diagnosis, treatment, rehabilitation, and prevention. Original papers detail basic and applied research, program evaluation, service delivery, and policy issues on emotional or behavioral disorders, child abuse and neglect, respite care, foster care, mental health care financing, homelessness, family stress, AIDS, and substance abuse, among other timely topics.
- Journal of Comparative Family Studies (1985-Present)Articles, research notes and book reviews aimed at scholars concerned with national and international comparative family studies.
- Journal of Family Studies (Australian - 2003-Present)Focuses on the wellbeing of children in families in process of change; aims to bring together the best research and practices available to support children and families though periods of transition, especially when associated with high conflict levels.
- Journal of Family ViolenceJournal of Family Violence is an interdisciplinary forum for the publication of information on clinical and investigative efforts concerning all forms of family violence and its precursors, including spouse-battering, child abuse, sexual abuse of children, incest, abuse of the elderly, marital rape, domestic homicide, the alcoholic marriage, and general family conflict. The journal publishes clinical and research reports from a broad range of disciplines: clinical and counseling psychology, sociology, psychiatry, public health, criminology, law, marital counseling, and social work.
- Journal of Law & Family StudiesThe Journal of Law and Family Studies (JLFS) is an interdisciplinary journal addressing a broad range of empirical and doctrinal topics concerning families, family relationships, and the law. JLFS explores issues in family and juvenile law as well as other family-related issues relevant to public policy.
- Journal of Marriage and FamilyCoverage 1964-2012 (Five Year Moving-Wall of Publication). You can search for newer articles using Google Scholar and request them through our Interlibrary Loan service.
- Studies in Gender & SexualityProvides new research & studies in gender & sexuality. Full text 2001-present with an 18 month delay of publication.
General Research Resources
Same-Sex Marriage Research
Gender, Transgender, and Gender Identity
- A Transgender Teen’s Transformative Journey Before AdulthoodBefore he began his transition, Nathan Jones was born a female. (ABC News)
- TEDTalks: Geena Rocero—Why I must come outWhen fashion model Geena Rocero first saw a photo of herself in a bikini, "I thought ... you have arrived!" As she reveals, that's because she was born with the gender assignment "boy." In this moving talk, Rocero tells the story of becoming who she always knew she was
- Challenging Gender StereotypesIn this program, four females and one male interviewee discuss their roles in jobs that challenge traditional stereotyping. Note: Subjects are British.
- Growing Up Trans - FrontlineGo on an intimate and eye-opening journey inside a new frontier. Told from the perspective of parents, doctors, and, most revealing of all, eight transgender kids themselves, ranging in ages from 9 to 19, FRONTLINE takes a powerful look at this new generation, exploring the medical possibilities, struggles, and choices transgender kids and their families face today.
- The Family Journey: Raising Gender Nonconforming ChildrenThe Family Journey: Raising Gender Nonconforming Children follows the journey of the parents and siblings of young people who are questioning if they're a boy, a girl, or something in between. What about your thinking needs to change? How does your whole family come together to nurture and support them?
- My Whole Self: Microaggressions and GenderA documentary film about microaggressions and gender featuring six unique voices from the Pacific Northwest at various intersections of age, race, gender, ethnicity, and social class. MY WHOLE SELF shows how friendship and dialogue, humor and intelligence, allow women to succeed despite the implicit bias against them even in a "socially progressive" place like Portland, Oregon.
- Obsessed With My Body: Young Men and Body ImageBody image is becoming more and more important to young men, with teens in particular seeking constant approval online and encouraging each other to look better, bigger and even browner in their pursuit of the perfect body. Incredibly they now spend 30% more time in the bathroom than teenage girls and take twice as many selfies. (BBC)
- Pink BoyCreating a Space Between Genders
- SuitedFrom producers Lena Dunham and Jenni Konner (HBO’s Girls), Suited tells the story of Bindle & Keep, a Brooklyn tailoring company that looks beyond the gender binary, creating custom-made suits for gender non-conforming and transgender clients. Clothier duo Rae Tutera and Daniel Friedman take a holistic approach to their work, considering each client’s personal narrative, which becomes inextricable from the creation of the perfect suit. Among those who share their unique stories are a transgender man preparing for his wedding, a New York City cab driver looking to feel comfortable for a big birthday, a young law student struggling through job interviews, and a 12-year-old trans boy whose bravery is only rivaled by his nervousness about looking good for his upcoming Bar Mitzvah.
- Intersex Children: A Journey Between GendersA person born with both male and female genitals meets with the surgeon who operated on him as a baby. (ABC News)
Dating, Couple Relationships and Communication
- Laws of Attraction - National GeographicWhy do you like what you like? Out of the billions of people in the world - what is the hidden formula that makes you find some people especially attractive? Do you have a very specific taste or type? It may surprise you to learn that most of what you call 'attractive' is just a construct created by your brain, proving that attraction, relationships, and love-at-first sight feelings are all in your head.
- Interpreting Nonverbal CommunicationAlbert Mehrabian found that only 7 percent of a message is communicated verbally— Charles Darwin first studied nonverbal communication in 1872. Margaret Mead hypothesized that most assertive behavior is culturally based. There are five subgroups to nonverbal communication: kinesics, proxemics, kinetics, paralanguage, and semiotics.
- Mars and Venus TodayWhen "Men Are From Mars, Women Are from Venus" was first published in 1992, John Gray's self-help book landed on earth with a massive impact which still resonates today. But after twenty years of social change and scientific research, do his claims hold up? Do guys really need to retreat to their man caves, while women just need to talk ? Is there really a pink brain and a blue brain, or are gender differences the result of how we are raised? We hear from the experts, and from couples themselves in this fast-paced and highly entertaining documentary.
- Battle of the Sexes (Alternate Title: Gender Wars)In this episode we'll reveal the amazing ways the male and female brain may be wired differently through a series of interactive games, unexpected experiments, and relatable experts. So it's time to choose sides in the ultimate battle of the sexes. (National Geographic)
- The Loving Story [DVD]On June 2, 1958, Richard Loving and his fiancee Mildred Jeter traveled from Caroline County, VA, to Washington, D.C. to be married. Later, the newlyweds were arrested, tried and convicted of the felony crime of miscegenation. Two young ACLU lawyers took on the Lovings case, fully aware of the challenges posed. The U.S. Supreme Court ruled unanimously in their favor on June 12, 1967 and resulted in sixteen states being ordered to overturn their bans on interracial marriage.
- A Thousand Tomorrows: Intimacy, Sexuality, and Alzheimer'sIn this program three married couples affected by Alzheimer's disease talk candidly with a clinical social worker about both physical and emotional changes that occur in their intimate relationships as a partner goes from being a spouse to a caregiver. Sexual expression becomes awkward or meaningless when a mate with dementia no longer recognizes a husband or wife, and the overall fabric of the relationship is tested. The couples report feeling frustrated, too, as loved ones need more help in handling daily activities, but that these difficulties sometimes strengthen their connection, that they still enjoy other aspects of the marriage, and that they remain committed to the marriage bond.
- Love at First Swipe[Explicit content] This program delves into the dating phenomenon that has taken the world by storm. 21st century living is fast and furious and there is little time for cherished moments of tranquility. So in an age of deadlines and bold headlines, how does anyone have the time to find love? The answer: speedy location-based mobile dating apps that cut to the chase of sexual attraction. In this observational documentary, we explore the world of online dating apps with jaw-dropping stories that capture the funny, heartwarming and often dangerous moments that make up the modern dating world. Prepare to be immersed in an online world of deviancy, devotion, deception, heartbreak and outright sexual brazenness. (British program)
- Recognizing Abusive Relationships"There's no justification or reason good enough for someone to hurt, threaten, neglect or take advantage of you. Especially when the person doing it is supposed to care about the victim." Recognizing Abusive Relationships is a compelling and informative program that tackles this important issue with sensitivity and openness. Viewers are provided with straightforward information to help them understand and identify what abuse looks like in family and dating relationships.
- How Men and Women Think: Are Mental Differences between the Sexes Real?Many neuroscientists believe disorders of the mind will be solved when we understand the differences between the male and female brain. Yet is frequently argued that men and women are not born but made. Are mental differences between the sexes real? Or is this just sexism dressed up as science? The Panel Cambridge psychologist Simon Baron-Cohen, Darwinian philosopher Helena Cronin and eminent neuroscientist Gina Rippon investigate. (British participants)
Parents and Children
- Conceiving Family: Stories of Gay and Lesbian AdoptionFollowing filmmaker Amy Bohigian and her partner as they adopt 15-month-old twins, this program highlights the legal, social, and personal difficulties that accompany the rewards of parenthood when gays and lesbians start families through adoption
- Newtown [DVD]Documentary of a traumatized community three years after the horrific mass shooting in Newtown, CT that took the lives of twenty elementary school children and six educators.
- IVF: Medical Ethics—Real-World ApplicationsJokes about test-tube babies may have faded into pop-culture history, but today, even though in vitro fertilization has helped millions of people become parents, the technology still leads some cultural observers to question its methods, applications, and moral impact. IVF can be used to weed out hereditary diseases, but this ability to select embryos based on DNA testing also raises fears about choosing gender, hair color, eye color, and other aspects. Furthermore, what are the economic implications? Should IVF be affordable for everyone? This program shows how different countries have dealt with IVF-related controversies and looks at the often opposing stances which various religions take towards the procedure.
- Two Dads, Two Moms: Gay Couples and Their FamiliesProfiling families in the U.S., France, and Spain, this program focuses on the children of gay couples and how their experiences resemble or differ from more conventional upbringings. Most of the film's participants are in their late teens or early adulthood and have acquired a broad-minded, philosophical perspective on what they and their parents have gone through - although childhood was hardly challenge-free for any of them.
- Vaccines: Calling the ShotsDiseases that were largely eradicated in the United States a generation ago-including whooping cough, measles, mumps-are returning, in part because nervous parents are skipping their children's shots. This NOVA special takes viewers around the world to track epidemics, explore the science behind vaccinations, and shed light on the risks of opting out. Highlighting real cases and placing them in historical context, the program traces outbreaks of communicable diseases and demonstrates just how fast they can spread-and how many people can fall sick-when a community's immunity barrier falls. (NOVA: PBS)
- The Medicated Child (PBS Frontline) [DVD]In recent years, there's been a dramatic increase in the number of children being diagnosed with serious psychiatric disorders and prescribed medications that are just beginning to be tested in children. The drugs can cause serious side effects, and virtually nothing is known about their long-term impact. "It's really to some extent an experiment, trying medications in these children of this age," child psychiatrist Dr. Patrick Bacon tells FRONTLINE. "It's a gamble. And I tell parents there's no way to know what's going to work."
- Safe From the Start (Child Safety) [DVD]Discusses the importance of infant and child safety in and out of the home, covering: care seats and car safety; crib safety; diaper changes; bath time; kitchen safety; gun safety; childproofing the home.
- Our Spirits Don't Speak English: Indian Boarding School [DVD]Imagine you are a child, taken from your home, your family, taken from everything you know. In 1869, the U.S. government enacted a policy of educating Native American children in the ways of western society. By the late 1960's, more than 100,000 had been forced to attend Indian Boarding School
- Hand-in-hand: Supporting Children with Play Issues [DVD]Presents a model for identifying children in the play environment who are missing out on learning and therefore readily overlooked or labeled problematic. Skilled teachers demonstrate the use of a reflective framework for observing and interviewing that supports children who are shy or timid, act out in frustration or anger, or are unable to engage with materials or classmates.
- Discipline: Teaching Limits with Love [DVD]Dr. T. Berry Brazelton shows parents that setting limits is not punishment, but a loving way to teach a child how to control his or her own behavior.
- Discipline : teaching limits with love. [DVD] Spanish languageSpanish version of Berry Brazelton DVD.
- A Child With Special Needs [DVD]Families of children with special needs share their stories to help others in similar circumstances. They have common experiences, emotions, and challenges as they work to help their children.
- A Child with Special Needs (Spanish) [DVD]Families of children with special needs share their stories to help others in similar circumstances. They have common experiences, emotions, and challenges as they work to help their children.
- Affluenza [DVD]A fascinating look at one of the greatest social maladies of our time: overconsumption and materialism. Hosted by National Public Radio's Scott Simon, the program explores both the comical and sobering aspects of our consumerism and its enormous impact on families, communities and the environment. With the help of historians and archival film, Affluenza reveals the forces that have dramatically transformed us from a nation that prizes thriftiness - with strong beliefs in 'plain living and high thinking' - into the ultimate consumer society.
- Daughter From Danang [DVD]Heidi seems the proverbial "all-American girl" from small-town Pulaski, Tennessee. But she was born Mai Thi Hiep in Danang, Vietnam, the daughter of an American serviceman and a Vietnamese woman. At the war's end, her mother, hearing rumors that racially mixed children would be persecuted, place the 7-year-old girl on an "Operation Babylift" plane to the United States. Twenty-two years later mother and daughter are miraculously reunited in Danang. But what seems like the cue for a happy ending is anything but as Heidi and her Vietnamese relatives are caught in a heart-wrenching clash of cultures
- Surviving Motherhood - Your Guide to Being a Mom [2 DVDs]Provides a refreshing blend of information, bold discussion and real-life stories that will grab the attention of mothers and women who plan to be mothers. All meeting for the first time in the relaxed setting of a coffeehouse - they speak their minds and bare their souls in an open, honest and refreshing way. Their amusing, touching and cathartic conversations are punctuated by "expert moments" that offer advice and quick tips from leading therapists and childcare experts.
- For the Child: information on mental health and advocacy for resource parents [DVD]Provides information on mental health and advocacy for resource parents.
- Having it All: Juggling Motherhood, Career, and MarriageThree women set out to live their dreams of balancing career, marriage, and children. After two trying years of unanticipated trade-offs and painful sacrifices, each finds herself with a changed life and a changed idea of what "having it all" really means. From the painful exercise of putting an infant into childcare, to the heartbreak and defeat of divorce, this film offers an intimate and honest view of some routinely overlooked,
- For the Child (Spanish edition) [DVD]Información sobre salud mental y abrogacía para padres de crianza.
- The First Years Last Forever [DVD]New parents learn how to help their infants reach their full potential.
- The First Years Last Forever (Spanish edition) [DVD]Investigaciones recientes acerca del cerebro demuestran la importancia de la relación entre niños y aquellos que los cuidan durante los c*ritcos primeros tres años de vida. Los nuevos padres tienen una excelente oportunidad de ayudar a sus niños a alcanzar su potencial máximo. Este vídeo incluye información sobre: Lazos y vínculos, comunicación, salúd y nutrición, disciplina, auto estima, cuidado de los niños, auto-conscienca.
- Diagnosis: BipolarHear testimonials from children and their parents about their behavior.
- Raising Cain: Exploring the Inner Lives of America's BoysViolent, unable to express their emotions, and doing poorly in the classroom, America’s boys are in serious trouble. What is responsible for this behavior? And what measures can be taken to keep them from growing up into men who are more prone to anger than empathy? This program, hosted by child psychologist Michael Thompson, explores the emotional development of boys in America today, providing surprising research about boys’ inner workings, dispelling a number of commonly held misconceptions, and highlighting innovative programs that are bringing out the best in boys.
- Which Way Home (DVD)A feature documentary that follows unaccompanied child migrants on their journey through Mexico as they try to reach the United States. We follow children like Olga and Freddy, 9-year old Hondurans, who are trying to reach their parents in the U.S. Children like Jose, a 10-year old El Salvadoran, who has been abandoned by smugglers and ends up alone in a Mexican detention center, and Kevin, a streetwise 14-year-old Honduran, whose mother hopes that he will reach the U.S.
- The Teen Years (Ages 13 to 18)From generation to generation, that age-old outburst has characterized the parent/teen relationship. This program illustrates how to encourage teenage independence while using positive discipline techniques that promote taking responsibility for actions and behavior. Footage of real families is combined with expert explanations of how to use democratic discipline, honest communication, and other techniques to make this challenging time of life a time of growth for all. A pre-discipline review of the stresses in the teen’s life is also recommended. A bit dated, but good information.
Marriage & Divorce
- Family & Social ChangesFor a long time, sociologists developed theories about something called 'the family'. This program illustrates changes in the structure, organization and culture of family and how this can be linked to changes in wider society. It also looks at the alleged sexualization of children to explore the idea that childhood may be disappearing and considers the effects new communication technologies are having on family life. British (some of the terms are specific to the UK).
- Newlywed Quest for Happily Ever AfterWhy do so many continue to marry? The narrator has just married for the second time. Determined to succeed, she has a plan; Kate Schermerhorn and her husband are going to interview experts and married people to learn the secret to success.
- Marriage: Shattered VowsA life coach describes how difficult her divorce was and how it influenced her coaching methods. Marriages can be intense and difficult. Baby Boomers discuss how they incorporated new hobbies and passions into their lives after divorce.
- Disability and Sexuality: Exploring the Intimacy OptionConfined to wheelchairs in an institution, Farid and Julie live in separate rooms. They would like to become intimate to see what it would be like.
- The Scoop on Blended FamiliesTeens and children have many questions when families blend. They wonder about personal space, rules, sharing. They face uncertainty. Talking with other teens in similar situations helps. Targeted to children (HS) who are trying to cope with joining a blended family.
- Why Are Fewer Americans Getting Married?As more Americans are unmarried or married at a later age, married couple households are no longer where big decisions are made and obligations incurred.
Sexuality
- The Pursuit of PleasureThis lively documentary challenges many of the commonly held beliefs about female sexuality, gender roles, and relationships. According to the Boston Museum of Fine Arts, this 52 minute educational and entertaining program features seven articulate, highly diverse women discussing marriage, celibacy, sexuality, sensuality, gender roles, beauty, sisterhood, community, intimacy and work. Ranging from a Generation X midwife to a 94 year old psychologist and sex therapist, the women profiled offer varied perspectives on the evolution of pleasure since the women's movement began over forty years ago. These women are not high profile activists, but real women whose lives have been affected by changes in our society.
- Men in Affairs: InfidelityWhy do these men betray their families and how do they cope with the inner conflict about their behavior? The three discuss their extramarital relationships in this program, while a fourth man explains why he's searching for a partner on a Web site dedicated to facilitating adulterous encounters.
- Male Infertility: Disease and…EaseThis episode covers male fertility causes, diagnosis, and treatment; female infertility causes; and IVF procedures.
- Female Infertility: Disease and…EaseIn this episode, visit an IVF clinic in Greece and learn about the process that is giving new hope to couples struggling with infertility.
- Social and Family Issues Related to Sexual Orientation: Clinical Conversations for the Human Sexuality ClassroomListen as individuals share opinions about sexual orientation. Jeannie and Mary, the first gay couple to legally adopt children in Colorado, discuss the creation of their family.
- Out Late [ALSO on DVD]Out Late is an inspirational and moving documentary about five individuals who made the courageous and life-altering decision to come out as lesbian, gay, or transgender, after the age of 55. Why did they wait until their 50’s, 60’s, or 70’s to come out? And what was the turning point that caused each of them to openly declare their sexuality? From Canada to Florida to Kansas, we explore what ultimately led these dynamic individuals to make the liberating choice to live openly and honestly amongst their family, friends and community, perhaps for the first time in their lives. Their stories are “nothing less than extraordinary." Please preview prior to using this video as it contains adult content.
- A Polyamorous FamilyCan a multiple-partner marriage work? Is 3 really better than 2? Dawn was first married to Troy, but then both of them fell in love with Lon. Now they consider themselves a married "triad." How does the household work? Sleeping arrangements? Polyamory is not widely accepted and society's prejudice against this form of marriage causes this triad to lose custody of their young son.