- Thomas - Library of Congress (1973-present)Content: Bills and Resolutions; Congressional Record; Committee Reports; House Committee Live Streams; Presidential Nominations; and Treaties
- FDSys (1993-present)GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys) provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. You can search for Congressional Hearings, and the Congressional Record of Bills in FDsys.
- U.S. Congress. House of RepresentativesU.S. Congress House of Representatives
- Government Printing OfficeThe Government Printing Office (GPO) was established in 1861. It is the official printer and distributor of U.S. government publications, including online publications.
- Legal Information - Cornell UniversityOpen Access to information on the law. Includes information on Federal law, the Constitution, U.S. Code, C.F.R., Supreme Court, Federal Rules, State law resources
State statutes by topic, U.C.C., Uniform laws, World law - Congressional Committee PrintsEasy access to House and Senate Committees and other Congressional material. 104th Congress to present.
- U.S. Statutes at LargePermanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. Currently only 2003-2006 is digitized. See the hard copy in GovPubs for current and past volumes.
- Congressional DirectoryBiographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships. Also contains addresses, phone numbers, and other Congressional information.
- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774 to presentBiographical information on former and current Representatives, Delegates, Resident Commissioners, and Senators.
- GovTrackComprehensive, nonpartisan sources for legislative information.
- Vital Statistics on Congresscompiled by the Brookings Institution
Congressional Research Reports
There are several good sites for finding Congressional Research Reports:
- CRS Reports from Stanford UniversityThis site lists collections of CRS reports available online from various sources.
- U.S. Congressional Budget OfficeCBO provides Congress with biannual forecasts of the economy and analyses of economic trends and alternative fiscal policies. Many public policy issues are analyzed in CPO reports.
- U.S. Government Accountability Office ReportsKnown as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog," GAO supports the information and data finding needs of Congressional Committees. GAO reports are invaluable for researching public policy topics.
- Congressional Research Service ReportsCRS is a "think tank" providing reports to members of Congress on a wide variety of public policy issues. A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Open CRS provides access to CRS Reports in the public domain
- National Council for Science and the Environment2225 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics gathered by the NCSE.
