Get Help!
Locating Company Financial Data
Financial data, including balance sheets and income statements, is available for many (but not all) companies within this database. Usually found under "Financials". Instantly analyze and compare financial and statistical data with interactive charting tools (See Interactive Comparison Charts)
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Business. Formerly Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC). Provides business, company, and industry content including articles, company financials and earning estimates, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, industry and company rankings, market share data, industry overviews, and HR law case digests.
Watch a quick overview of using the database Business Insights: Essentials.
Other online sources of common company financials:
- Yahoo FinanceSearch for company, then look for the Financials tab to access company financial data.
- EDGAR filings and formsEDGAR Filings and Forms include 10-Ks (annual reports for US firms), 10-Qs (quarterly reports), 20-Fs (annual reports for foreign firms) and DEF 14As (proxy statements) of public companies from 1994 forward. All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
Freely Available Corporate Reports
- EDGAR filings and formsEDGAR Filings and Forms include 10-Ks (annual reports for US firms), 10-Qs (quarterly reports), 20-Fs (annual reports for foreign firms) and DEF 14As (proxy statements) of public companies from 1994 forward. All companies, foreign and domestic, are required to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free. Here you'll find links to a complete list of filings available through EDGAR and instructions for searching the EDGAR database.
- Guide to SEC filingsRefer to the Guide to SEC Filings from Thomson Research.
- Rand and Filed - SEC Filings for HumansGathers data from the Security and Exchange Commission’s EDGAR database, indexes it, and publishes it online in open formats that users can use to research and discover companies.
Executive Compensation
- EDGAR searchA company is required to file its annual proxy statement with the SEC no later than the date proxy materials are first sent or given to shareholders. You can see this filing by using the SEC's database, known as EDGAR. To access the EDGAR database, go to the SEC's web site - www.sec.gov - and find the section entitled "Filings and Forms (EDGAR)." Click on "Search for Company Filings." When you get to the screen entitled "Search EDGAR Database," click on "Companies and Other Filers." Then enter the name of the company and then click "Find Companies." Select the appropriate company to view its SEC filings.
To view the annual proxy statement, select the most recent filing that has the title "DEF 14A." It's called a "DEF 14A" because it's the "definitive," or final, proxy statement. "14A" refers to the fact that proxy statements are filed pursuant to Section 14(a) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934.
This information is also available in the
Form 10-K (audited annual report).
Annual Reports to Shareholders
- EDGARUnder Filing type, use the abbreviation ARS to limit to Annual Reports submitted to the SEC.