by Chicago 2016 Photos
Additional Online Resources
- Annenberg LearnerAnnenberg Learner provides teacher resources and professional development across the curriculum.
- Brookings Institution - EducationThe Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization that conducts in-depth research that leads to new ideas for solving problems facing society at the local, national and global level.
- CATO Institute - EducationThe Cato Institute is a public policy research organization that conducts independent, nonpartisan research on a wide range of policy issues.
- University of Washington Center for the Study of Teaching and PolicyThe Center supports inquiry that is focused on leadership, policy, teachers, and teaching, with a special emphasis on education policy issues in Washington state.
- Center on Education PolicyThe Center on Education Policy is a national, independent source for research and information about public education.
- Educator's Reference DeskEducator's Reference Desk Links to over 3000 resources on a variety of educational issues. This collection includes Internet sites, educational organizations, and electronic discussion groups.
- JOLT - Journal of Online Teaching and LearningJournal of Online Learning and Teaching (JOLT) is a peer-reviewed, open access, online publication addressing the scholarly use of multimedia resources in online education.
- Center for Research on Teaching & LearningCRTL offers a comprehensive array of curricular and instructional development activities and provides both cross-disciplinary campus-wide programs and discipline-specific programs customized to the individual needs of departments, schools and colleges.
- Pew Research Center - EducationThe Pew Research Center’s Social & Demographic Trends project combines original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
A Class Divided: Frontline (1985)
This documentary was produced by William Peters in 1985 for PBS/FRONTLINE. "A Class Divided" tells the story of a teacher in a small town in Iowa who tried a daring classroom experiment. She decided to treat children with blue eyes as superior to children with brown eyes. FRONTLINE explores what those children learned about discrimination and how it still affects them today.
eBooks
Excellence in Education by
A thorough examination of the characteristics of a high- performing school, written by Sir Cyril Taylor (Chairman of the Specialist Schools Trust) and Conor Ryan (senior adviser to Tony Blair on Education).
ISBN: 9781843122135Publication Date: 2004-12-20
Careers in Education by
Whether they are college students planning a future, or professionals looking to change fields, this series offers: specific information on each profession; Career choices within each field; Details on responsibilities, education, and training required; Information on the demands of different careers; And much more.
ISBN: 9780071405782Publication Date: 2003-09-15
Inclusive Education by
Inclusive Education includes two sections: readings and cases. The readings present approaches for creating inclusive classrooms and schools; their purpose is to give prospective and practicing teachers background information in curricular, instructional, assessment, and collaborative problem-solving strategies that foster inclusive education. The Casebook consists of "An Introduction to Cases" and 14 teaching cases based on actual events as experienced by the case authors that describe in rich detail the experiences of parents, students, and teachers related to inclusive education. Most of the cases pose problems or dilemmas to be resolved--including the struggles of parents seeking inclusive education for their children; students' attempts to succeed in general education classrooms; special educators', principals' and teachers' experiences as they collaborate in moving toward inclusive programs; and teachers' concerns for the future success of their students.
ISBN: 9780805825084Publication Date: 2000-03-01
For more eBooks, try the Madison College Library collection.
Education Databases
- ERICERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and research. Content includes journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations and theses, and books dating back to 1966.
- Educational Administration AbstractsEducational Administration Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering areas related to educational administration, including educational leadership, educational management, educational research, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains more than 190,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline.
- Education Research CompleteEducation Research Complete is the definitive online resource for education research. Topics covered include all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education, and testing. Education Research Complete provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,100 journals, as well as full text for more than 1,200 journals, and includes full text for nearly 500 books and monographs.