Books: Sociology
Many of the sociology books are located in the 300s for our college libraries, but depending on the topic they may be found in other areas.
The Online Catalog provides access to books, magazines, Reserve material, audio-visual material (for example, videos), and web resources Search by subject or keyword.
Sample subject headings:
- General: social problems united states; united states social conditions
- More specific: poverty united states; homelessness united states; gangs; drug addiction
Quick search of the online catalog:
Article Feed: Sociology
Library Research Databases
A database is an organized collection of information, data, or citations stored in electronic format. You can use the databases below to search for business resources (newspaper, journal, magazine articles).
These databases are available on campus and from home for Madison College students, staff and faculty with an Internet connection.
Databases that may be particularly helpful to sociology research include:
- Academic Search CompleteEBSCO database which includes many academic journals such as American Journal of Sociology, Contemporary Sociology, International Review of Sociology, and many more.
- JSTORThis database contains a huge collection of digitized articles from scholarly publications. Titles included as far back as late 1800s up to prior to past 2-5 years.
Credo - E-Books on Sociology
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new window Over 1.100 reference titles that include encyclopedias, biographies, medical dictionaries and much more.
The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology by ISBN: 0631216812Publication Date: 2000-06-22Written by a sociologist who is also an accomplished writer and teacher, it is aimed primarily at students, but will also be of use to professionals looking for an introduction to core concepts outside their area of expertise.
The Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology by ISBN: 0521540461Publication Date: 2006-08-14Over 600 entries cover schools, theories, theorists and debates, with substantial articles on all key topics in the field. While recognizing the richness of historical sociological traditions, the Dictionary also looks forward to new and evolving influences such as cultural change, genetics, globalization, information technologies, new wars and terrorism.
The A-Z of Social Research by ISBN: 0761971335Publication Date: 2003-04-22The A-Z is a collection of 94 entries ranging from qualitative research techniques to statistical testing and the practicalities of using the Internet as a research tool. Alphabetically arranged in accessible, reader-friendly formats, the shortest entries are 800 words long and the longest are 3000.
