Bibliography Tips
Check Blackboard for your assignment information.
- Follow your assignment instructions.
- Generally use Turabian Notes and Bibliography / Chicago Humanities system.
- Do Not use Author-Date system.
- Include the citation for the book you selected. Check Cite This tool in our library catalog.
- Alphabetize
- Hanging Indent
- Online web sources: include the URL
- Database sources: include the database ex. Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost. Don't need to include the URL or accession date (Ryan).
- Left margin: 1.25” Right margin: 1.25” Top margin: 1” Bottom margin: 1”
- Font: Times New Roman 12 pt
- Single space within individual citations, double space between citations
- Acceptable files: .doc, .docx, .odt, and .rtf (Ryan)
Resources
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
ISBN: 9780226287058Publication Date: 2017-09-05
- Writing Center WebsiteThe Writing Center’s primary mission is to help members of the Madison College community become more effective, confident, and successful writers.
Citation Helpers
Results vary with auto-generated citations. Sample automatically generated citations from two library databases:
JSTOR
Berenson, Edward. The Journal of Modern History 66, no. 4 (1994): 815-18.
EBSCO
Berenson, Edward. "Book reviews." 66, no. 4 (December 1994): 814. Literary Reference Center Plus, EBSCOhost.
You need to edit these and fix them up to match your assignment instructions. For example, Turabian style:
citation for a book review found in a libary database:
Reviewer Last Name, Reviewer First Name. Review of Title of Work Being Reviewed, by Author's First Name Author's Last Name. Journal or Magazine Name volume, issue (Year or Month Year or Month, Day Year): pages. URL (accessed Month day, year).
citation for a book:
Author Last Name, Author First Name. Title of Book. Place: Publisher, year.
Bibliography: Turabian/Chicago Style Citations
examples of formatting - Remember you will find complete instructions in Blackboard
from J Ryan assignment instructions 2017
Citing Articles from Library Research Databases
Include the database information ex. Academic Search Complete, EBSCOhost.
Don't need to include the URL or accession date (Ryan).