Library & Other Resources
Study Skills Research Guide
Books on Succeeding in College
Wise Latinas by
College can be a complex time for Latinas, who are traditionally expected to leave home when they get married. In her essay “Only Daughter,” author Sandra Cisneros remarks, “After four years in college and two more in graduate school, and still no husband, my father shakes his head even now and says I wasted all that education.” Wise Latinas is a collection of personal essays addressing the varied landscape of the Latina experience in higher education. For some Latinas, college, where they are vastly underrepresented, is the first time they are immersed in American culture outside their homes—and where the values of two cultures often clash. Wise Latinas is in part a response to this widening gap. Featuring acclaimed writers such as Sandra Cisneros, Norma Cant#65533;, and Julia Alvarez, to name a few, Wise Latinas shows that there is no one Latina college experience. With thoughtful and engaging pieces, Wise Latinas provides a platform for Latina writers to share their experiences in higher education and gives a voice to the many Latina women who have taken risks; embraced the new, confronted chan≥ and maintained (and in some cases found) their roots.
Call Number: 378.198268 W812 (Truax)ISBN: 0803245939Publication Date: 2014-03-01
College Stress Solutions by
College Stress Solutions teaches you how to use simple exercises to overcome your anxiety and find success while at school. From completing assignments on a tight deadline to dealing with classmates to thinking about your future, this book gives you the tools and advice you need to feel more calm, relaxed, and motivated each and every day.
Call Number: 378.198 L937 (Truax)ISBN: 1440570825Publication Date: 2014-04-18
College by
In arguing for what a true college education should be, he demonstrates why making it available to as many young people as possible remains central to America's democratic promise.
Call Number: 378.73 D344 (Truax)ISBN: 0691158290Publication Date: 2013-04-21
College Success for Students with Learning Disabilities by
The complete handbook for college-bound kids with learning disabilities.
Call Number: 371.91 SI613 (Truax & Portage)ISBN: 1593633599Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Your Complete Guide to College Success by
Your Complete Guide to College Success is an up-to-date, evidence-based book that provides a roadmap for how to be successful in college - and afterwards. It covers a comprehensive set of academic and personal topics, and distills research results and advice into a student-friendly, readable package.
Call Number: 378.198 F751ISBN: 1433812967Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Generation on a Tightrope by
An understanding of today s undergraduate college students is vital to the effectiveness of our nation s colleges and universities. As <i>Generation on a Tightrope</i> clearly reveals, today s students need a very different education than the undergraduates who came before them: an education for the 21st Century, which colleges and universities are so far ill-equipped to offer and which will require major changes of them to provide. Examining college student expectations, aspirations, academics, attitudes, values, beliefs, social life, and politics, this book paints an accurate portrait of today s students. Timely and comprehensive, this volume offers educators, researchers, practitioners, policymakers, and employers guidance and a much-needed grasp of the forces shaping the experiences of current undergraduates. The book: <br /> <ul> <li>Is based on completely new research of 5,000 college students and student affairs practitioners from 270 diverse college campuses</li> <li>Explores the similarities and differences between today s generation of students and previous generations</li> </ul>
Call Number: 378.198 L665 (Truax)ISBN: 0470376295Publication Date: 2012-09-04
Community College Success by
COMMUNITY COLLEGE SUCCESS gives historically under-represented students the strategic and motivational tools they need to be their own advocates and achieve their education and their dreams.
Call Number: 378.198 AD238 (Truax and Portage)ISBN: 1935254626Publication Date: 2012-03-15
Community College Companion by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1593577419Publication Date: 2010-08-01This book guides students through these areas and shows them how to make the most of the community college experience. Students will explore certificate and degree options; connect their needs, plans, and personalities to courses and programs; and gain tips for enhancing their financial aid package and scoring scholarships.
Getting the Best Out of College for Students on the Autism Spectrum by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1787753301Publication Date: 2020-03-19Thinking about going to college? What subjects to take? How to organise your time properly? How to meet new people and maintain friendships? This interactive workbook provides guidance for your entire journey through college and further education.
The Smart Study Guide by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1405121173Publication Date: 2006-09-18Drawing on the latest research into memory, information processing and learning, this book helps students to tailor their study techniques to their own particular learning style and psychological make-up. An exploration of the tools and techniques essential to success in studying and passing examinations. Suitable for classroom, distance learning, online, or blended learning environments. Includes questionnaires, activities, key learning points, illustrations, diagrams, flow charts, and mindmaps.
Brilliant Time Management by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0273744097Publication Date: 2011-01-18Based on over 20 years of managing time effectively, Mike Clayton shares with younbsp;winning principles that helped him launch two successful businesses, lead and manage teams of people, juggle a busy family life with a demanding career, and much more.
Relevant Core Competencies
College success students can:
use the college library's print and electronic information resources
access and search the Internet
locate, critically analyze, and evaluate information and its sources
distinguish between correct and incorrect information
use college print materials and electronic databases to research career information
apply correct bibliographic citation style and format for a written/research project
discuss public policy and ethical issues affecting the access and use of information
manage and interpret information in a reliable way
recognize reliable evidence and form sound conclusions
Videos and Other Resources
Note: Streaming videos require off-campus login to your Madison College account.
Rise Above (2023)
In Education, You Can Choose To Remake Yourself - Or Be Made By Others
If you think you know everything, you can’t learn anything
College Life: Perspectives from Students and Instructors
In Search of College Major and Career Direction
Time Management
ARTICLES
AUDIO REPORTS - National Public Radio
- The Most (And Least) Lucrative College Majors, In 1 Graph(Click the 'To listen to this broadcast' link to see graph!)