Dictionaries
- The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language Free online dictionary. This is a Madison College Libraries resource. If you need assistance please contact your librarian.
- Merriam Webster's Collegiate Dictionary Free online dictionary. This is a Madison College Libraries resource. If you need assistance please contact your librarian.
- Merriam-Webster's Online Dictionary Free online dictionary that includes audio pronunciation guide, thesaurus, word games, and a Learner's Dictionary for ESL students.
The Art of Reading
Books available from our libraries.
College Reading and Study Skills by
College Reading and Study Skills teaches reading, critical thinking and study skills for today's diverse students, encouraging them to apply these integrated skill sets to their coursework and future academic success. Kathleen McWhorter wrote College Reading and Study Skills, primarily, for courses that are half reading, half study skills. Emphasizing comprehension and metacognition, College Reading and Study Skills approaches reading and study skills as essential skills necessary for college success. The text focuses on reading and learning as a cognitive process, encouraging students to approach reading as an active mental process of selecting, processing, and organizing information to be learned.
ISBN: 9780205213023Publication Date: 2012
Reading Across the Disciplines by
For anyone interested in improving his/her reading and thinking skills. Improve reading and thinking abilities through targeted skill instruction and extensive guided practice across many academic disciplines. Reading Across the Disciplines teaches essential college reading skills and guides their application in each of 10 academic disciplines and career fields. Kathleen McWhorter helps readers expand their vocabulary and comprehension, practice methods for reading and thinking critically, and enhance their ability to make inferences. The 7th Edition also introduces discipline-specific reading strategies and features more than 20 new readings - selected from college textbooks as well as from books, periodicals, popular magazines, newspapers, and Internet sources - to motivate readers and demonstrate the relevance to their daily lives. Available to package with Reading Across the Disciplines, 7th Edition (Books a la Carte loose-leaf edition), MyLab(tm) Reading is an online homework, tutorial, and assessment program designed to work in tandem with the text to engage students and improve results. MyLab Reading is ideal for courses requiring additional reading skills practice and assessment. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyLab does not come packaged with this content. Students, if interested in purchasing both the Books a la Carte loose-leaf edition of the text and MyLab, ask your instructor for the correct package ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase both the Books a la Carte loose-leaf edition and MyLab, search for: 0134768280 / 9780134768281 Reading Across the Disciplines plus MyLab Reading with Pearson eText -- Access Card Package, 7/e Package consists of: 0134397290 / 9780134397290 Reading Across the Disciplines, Books a la Carte Edition 0134766342 / 9780134766348 NEW MyLab Reading with Pearson eText -- Access Card -- for Reading Across the Disciplines College Reading and Beyond Reading Across the Disciplines, 7th Edition is also available via Revel(tm) , an interactive digital learning environment that replaces the print textbook, enabling students to read, practice, and study in one continuous experience. Revel is ideal for courses where student engagement and mobile access are important. Note: You are purchasing a standalone product; this is not the Revel version. Students, if interested in purchasing the Revel version, ask your instructor for the correct ISBN and Course ID. Instructors, contact your Pearson representative for more information. If you would like to purchase the Revel version, search for: 0134424441 / 9780134424446 Revel Reading Across the Disciplines -- Access Card, 7/e
ISBN: 9780134397108Publication Date: 2017
Slow Reading in a Hurried Age by
Wrapped in the glow of the computer or phone screen, we cruise websites; we skim and skip. We glance for a brief moment at whatever catches our eye and then move on. Slow Reading in a Hurried Age reminds us of another mode of reading--the kind that requires our full attention and that has as its goal not the mere gathering of information but the deeper understanding that only good books can offer. Slow Reading in a Hurried Age is a practical guide for anyone who yearns for a more meaningful and satisfying reading experience, and who wants to sharpen reading skills and improve concentration. David Mikics, a noted literary scholar, demonstrates exactly how the tried-and-true methods of slow reading can provide a more immersive, fulfilling experience. He begins with fourteen preliminary rules for slow reading and shows us how to apply them. The rules are followed by excursions into key genres, including short stories, novels, poems, plays, and essays. Reading, Mikics says, should not be drudgery, and not mere escape either, but a way to live life at a higher pitch. A good book is a pathway to finding ourselves, by getting lost in the words and works of others.
ISBN: 9780674724723Publication Date: 2013
Academic Vocabulary by
Academic Vocabulary supplements a reading text at the most advanced level and develops vocabulary for academic subjects through thematic readings, interactive exercises, and self-tests. This visually appealing worktext introduces words in context and reinforces their meanings through self-tests, writing assignments, collaborative projects, and games. The chapters and exercises are "scaffolded" so that material presented in previous chapters is reinforced progressively as the student moves through the book. The exercises in Academic Vocabulary stimulate different learning styles and encourage cross-referencing of the vocabulary words. Recognizing that today's students are citizens of a visual culture, the fifth edition's new "Word Visions" feature calls on students to apply their vocabulary skills in image-oriented contexts.
ISBN: 9780205211852Publication Date: 2012
Breaking Through by
Breaking Through provides instruction and practice on the reading and study skills necessary for successful independent college learning by providing a high volume of actual college textbook and academic selections for application opportunities. The use of actual college textbook passages offers immediate modeling and application of college study and reading skills at a realistic level. Students apply the skill being taught to reading short textbook passages and then go on to use multiple skills on the longer selections that conclude most chapters.
ISBN: 0205193242Publication Date: 2012
Library Resources
- Literary Reference Plus (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Wisconsin Authors
Below is a sampling of our Wisconsin authors collection available for check out through our libraries.
Building Taliesin by
Through letters, memoirs, contemporary documents, and a stunning assemblage of photographs - many of which have never before been published - author Ron McCrea tells the fascinating story of the building of Frank Lloyd Wright's Taliesin, which would be the architect's principal residence for the rest of his life. Photos taken by Wright's associates show rare views of Taliesin under construction and illustrate Wright's own recollections of the first summer there and the craftsmen who worked on the site. The book also brings to life Wright's "kindred spirit," "she for whom Taliesin had first taken form," Mamah Borthwick. Wright and Borthwick had each abandoned their families to be together, causing a scandal that reverberated far beyond Wright's beloved Wisconsin valley. The shocking murder and fire that took place at Taliesin in August 1914 brought this first phase of life at Taliesin to a tragic end.
ISBN: 9780870206061Publication Date: 2012
The Jesus Cow by
New York Times bestselling humorist Michael Perry makes his fiction debut with this hilarious and big-hearted tale, a comic yet sincere exploration of faith and the foibles of modern life that blends the barbed charm of Garrison Keillor, the irreverent humor of Christopher Moore, and the audacious insight of Chuck Klosterman. Life is suddenly full of drama for low-key Harley Jackson: A woman in a big red pickup has stolen his bachelor's heart, a Hummer-driving predatory developer is threatening to pave the last vestiges of his family farm, and inside his barn is a calf bearing the image of Jesus Christ. His best friend, Billy, a giant of a man who shares his trailer house with a herd of cats and tries to pass off country music lyrics as philosophy, urges him to avoid the woman, fight the developer, and get rich off the calf. But Harley takes the opposite tack, hoping to avoid what his devout, dearly departed mother would have called "a scene." Then the secret gets out--right through the barn door, and Harley's "miracle" goes viral. Within hours pilgrims, grifters, and the media have descended on his quiet patch of Swivel, Wisconsin, looking for a glimpse (and a percentage) of the calf. Does Harley hide the famous, possibly holy calf and risk a riot, or give the people what they want--and raise enough money to keep his land--and, just possibly, win the woman and her big red pickup truck? Harley goes all in, cutting a deal with a major Hollywood agent that transforms his little farm into an international spiritual theme park--think Lourdes, only with cheese curds and t-shirts. Soon, Harley has lots of money . . . and more trouble than he ever dreamed.
ISBN: 0062289985Publication Date: 2016
Death Stalks Door County by
Six deaths mar the holiday mood as summer vacationers enjoy Wisconsin’s beautiful Door County peninsula. Murders, or bizarre accidents? Newly hired park ranger Dave Cubiak, a former Chicago homicide detective, assumes the worst but refuses to get involved. Grief-stricken and guilt-ridden over the loss of his wife and daughter, he’s had enough of death. Forced to confront the past, the morose Cubiak moves beyond his own heartache and starts investigating, even as a popular festival draws more people into possible danger. In a desperate search for clues, Cubiak uncovers a tangled web of greed, betrayal, bitter rivalries, and lost love beneath the peninsula travel-brochure veneer. Befriended by several locals but unsure whom to trust or to suspect of murder, the one-time cop tracks a clever killer. In a setting of stunning natural beauty and picturesque waterfront villages,
ISBN: 9780299299408Publication Date: 2014
The Giving Quilt by
Every stitch makes a difference in New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini's artful, inspiring novel that imagines what good would come from practicing the holiday spirit each and every day of the year.At Elm Creek Manor, the week after Thanksgiving is 'Quiltsgiving,' a time to commence a season of generosity. From near and far, quilters and aspiring quilters--a librarian, a teacher, a college student, and a quiltshop clerk among them--gather for a special winter session of quilt camp to make quilts for Project Linus, a charitable organization dedicated to providing handmade quilts and blankets to children in need.Each quilter, ever mindful that many of her neighbors, friends, and family members are struggling through difficult times, pledges the strength of her creative gifts to alleviate their collective burden. So it happens that when the Quiltsgiving participants swap fabrics and trade techniques around the quilting circle, the warm, bright, beautiful quilts they piece are infused with love and comfort. So, too, are their personal stories, which collectively consider the strength of human connection and its rich rewards.Praise for The Giving Quilt'Chiaverini delivers another satisfying Elm Creek Quilts story in the latest title in this excellent series. Chiaverini's themes of love, loss, and healing will resonate with many, and her characters' stories are inspiring.
ISBN: 0142180246Publication Date: 2013
