Introduction to Political Philosophers
Viewing is restricted to Madison College Students, Faculty and Staff off-campus. Please login with your username & password. Entries are from the The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
- Internet Encyclopedia of PhilosophyThe Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) (ISSN 2161-0002) was founded in 1995 as a non-profit organization to provide open access to detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The Encyclopedia receives no funding, and operates through the volunteer work of the editors, authors, volunteers, and technical advisers. At present the IEP is visited by over 500,000 persons per month. The Encyclopedia is free of charge and available to all users of the Internet world-wide. The staff of 30 editors and approximately 300 authors hold doctorate degrees and are professors at colleges and universities around the world, most notably from English-speaking countries.
Greece
Library Materials - Political Philosophy
A Glossary of Political Theory by
This essential reference covers alphabetically both the major concepts in political theory and the key writers in the field. While ensuring accuracy and objectivity, the entries represent interpretations that are both challenging and interesting.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0804757275Publication Date: 2007-04-02
The Palgrave Macmillan Dictionary of Political Thought by
Roger Scruton's Dictionary of Political Thought has been widely acclaimed as a profound and incisive guide to political ideas. This new edition takes stock of the revolutionary political changes that have taken place since the dictionary was first published in 1982, bringing the dictionary right up to date. Some 1790 entries cover every aspect of political thought, defining concepts and ideologies, surveying the arguments on issues, giving capsule histories of political institutions, and summarizing (with newly expanded treatment) the thought of major political theorists. The dictionary provides a readable and impartial survey of political thought, of immense value to students of political science, government, philosophy and jurisprudence as well as to the general reader with an interest in ideas.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1403989524Publication Date: 2007-03-15
Political Philosophy A-Z by
These thorough, authoritative yet concise alphabetical guides introduce the central concepts of the various branches of philosophy. Written by established philosophers, they cover both traditional and contemporary terminology.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0748622705Publication Date: 2007-07-05
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science by
The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science provides students and general readers with a clear and lively introduction to the terminology of political science.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0631206957Publication Date: 1999-08-25
Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece by
Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece brings the thoughts and lives of the pioneers of Western philosophy down from their sometimes remote heights and introduces them to a modern audience. Comprising of seventy essays, written by internationally distinguished scholars in a lively and accessible style, this book presents the values, ideas, wisdom and arguments of the most significant thinkers from the world of ancient Greece.
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0754651320Publication Date: 2005-04-28
Key Concepts in Governance by
'A comprehensive, multidisciplinary examination of the concepts embodied in governance and their wide-ranging applications and implications. An important read and reference for students and academics in the social sciences, particularly those engaged in public policy studies' - Professor Carolyn J. Heinrich, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1412935709Publication Date: 2009-01-14
Propaganda and Mass Persuasion by
A truly international, authoritative A-Z guide to five centuries of propaganda, in both wartime and peacetime, which covers key moments, techniques, concepts, and some of the most influential propagandists in history. * 60+ biographical profiles of the masters of mass persuasion, from Joseph Stalin, Joseph Goebbels, and Saddam Hussein to Mohandas Gandhi, Franklin Delano Roosevelt, and Malcolm X * Information on dozens of historical and present-day propaganda institutions, including the KGB and the Voice of America * 20+ of the best-known documents and artifacts of propaganda, such as the film Casablanca and the novel Uncle Tom's Cabin * Covers five centuries of mass persuasion across the world from the 1500s to current times
Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1576078205Publication Date: 2003-07-15
How do Liberals and Conservatives See the World (2012)
Marx Reloaded (2011)
Flatterers and Truthful Advisors: The Mind of a Leader 1
Western Democracy Is Threatening Suicide: A Debate
The Handy Western Philosophy Answer Book by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1578595568Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Political Philosophy by
Now greatly expanded in its second edition, Political Philosophy: The Essential Texts is ideal for survey courses in social and political philosophy. Offering coverage from antiquity to the present, this historically organized collection presents the most significant works from nearly 2,500years of political philosophy. It moves from classical thought (Plato, Aristotle) through the medieval period (Augustine, Aquinas) to modern perspectives (Machiavelli, Hobbes, Locke, Rousseau, Hume, Smith, Hamilton and Madison, Kant). The book includes work from major nineteenth-century thinkers(Hegel, Marx and Engels, Mill) and twentieth-century theorists (Rawls, Nozick, Charles Taylor, Foucault, Habermas, Virginia Held) and also presents a variety of notable documents and addresses, including The Declaration of Independence, The Constitution of the United States, The Declaration of theRights of Man and of the Citizen, The Universal Declaration of Human Rights, and speeches by Pericles, Edmund Burke, Abraham Lincoln, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Martin Luther King, Jr. The readings are substantial or complete texts, not fragments.
Call Number: 320.01 P769ISBN: 9780195396614Publication Date: 2010-01-26
The Second Treatise on Government by Call Number: 320.01 L814 1980 (Downtown)ISBN: 0915144867Publication Date: 1980-06-01
Key Constitutional Concepts - 1 Videodisc
Call Number: 342.73029 KEYCO 2006 DVD (Truax, Portage & Reedsburg)
Triumph of the Will: The Film by Leni Riefenstahl
Call Number: 943.086 T839 DVD
Early Philosophy
Plato, from Credo Reference: "PLATO (427–347 BCE)." The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics. Abingdon: Hodder Education, 2006. Credo Reference. Web. 15 June 2011.
Political Philosophers
Thomas Hobbes, detail of an oil painting by John Michael Wright; in the National Portrait Gallery, London.
Courtesy of the National Portrait Gallery, LondonCopyright © 1994-2010 Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.
The French Enlightenment philosopher Jean Jacques Rousseau argued against slavery on the grounds that all persons are equal in nature. “Man is born free,” he observed in The Social Contract (1762), “and everywhere he is in chains.” (Hulton Archive/Getty Images)