Library Materials
Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender by Call Number: (Online Book)ISBN: 030647770XPublication Date: 2003-12-31Aim to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality. This is reference work for students, researchers and teachers interested in gender studies and cross-cultural variation in sex and gender.
Key Concepts in Body and Society by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 1847875440Publication Date: 2012-09-28Key Concepts in Body and Society provides a clear, focused road map to the study of the body in society. It defines, explains and applies core topics relating to the human body demonstrating how we approach it as a social phenomenon.
Encyclopedia of Women and Gender by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0122272455Publication Date: 2001-09-13The Encyclopedia of Gender covers all three areas under one cover, discussing psychological differences in personality, cognition, and behavior, as well as biologically based differences and how those differences impact behavior. Coverage includes studies of these differences in applied settings such as education, business, the home, in politics, sports competition, etc.
Culture Wars in America by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0765683024Publication Date: 2010-08-10With approximately 640 entries plus more than 120 primary documents supporting both sides of key issues, this is a unique and defining work, indispensable to informed discussions of the most timely and critical issues facing America today.
The Lesbian and Gay Movements by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0813348498Publication Date: 2014-08-05The Lesbian and Gay Movements explores this dilemma in both contemporary and historical contexts, describing the sources of these conflicts, to what extent the conflicts have been resolved, and how they might be resolved in future.
Communicating Gender by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0805829261Publication Date: 1998-10-01The text covers the core areas in the study of language and gender, including how and where gender is indexed in language, how men and women speak, how children acquire gender differentiated language, and sexism in language and language reform. Although most of the examples are drawn primarily from English, other European languages and non-European languages such as Japanese are considered.
Global Social Issues by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0765682923Publication Date: 2012-09-15Nearly 150 in-depth, balanced, and thought-provoking articles cover a broad range of critically important topics: the environment, health, science, the media, ethnic conflicts, poverty, and immigration, to name just a few. Each original, signed article provides historical context as well as a thorough discussion and analysis of contemporary issues facing today's interconnected world.
Mary Cain: Editorial - I was the fastest girl in America, until I joined Nike
Cain, M. (2019, November 7). Opinion | I Was the Fastest Girl in America, Until I Joined Nike. The New York Times.
Suited:
Suited. (HBO) Films Media Group, 2016.
Man of the House: America in Primetime
Man of the House: America in Primetime. Films Media Group, 2011.
A Transgender Teen's Journey
A Transgender Teen’s Transformative Journey Before Adulthood. Films Media Group, 2015.
Becoming Me: The Gender Within
Becoming Me: The Gender Within. Films Media Group, 2009.
Independent Woman: America in Primetime
Independent Woman: America in Primetime. Films Media Group, 2011.
Norway: The Gender Mission
Norway: The Gender Mission . Films Media Group, 2014.
The Mask You Live In. Call Number: 649.132 M397 DVD
She's Beautiful When She's Angry. Call Number: 305.4200904 SH554 DVD (Truax)
Girl & a Gun. Call Number: 363.330973 G525 DVD
Southern Comfort (2000) Call Number: 306.768 SO727 DVD (Truax - Nonfiction)
Miss Representation (2012) Call Number: 302.23082 M678 DVD (Truax - Non-Fiction)
Codes of Gender: identity + performance in pop culture (. Call Number: 659.1045 C669 DVD (Truax)
Tough Guise 2: violence, manhood & American culture (2013). Call Number: 305.31 T722E2 DVD (Truax)
Killing Us Softly 4: Advertising's Image of Women (2010) Call Number: 659.1042 K48 DVD
I Am Not a Slut by
The author of the groundbreaking work Slut! explores the phenomenon of slut-shaming in the age of sexting, tweeting, and “liking.” She shows that the sexual double standard is more dangerous than ever before and offers wisdom and strategies for alleviating its destructive effects on young women’s lives. Young women are encouraged to express themselves sexually. Yet when they do, they are derided as “sluts.” Caught in a double bind of mixed sexual messages, young women are confused. To fulfill the contradictory roles of being sexy but not slutty, they create an “experienced” identity on social media-even if they are not sexually active—while ironically referring to themselves and their friends as “sluts.” But this strategy can become a weapon used against young women in the hands of peers who circulate rumors and innuendo—elevating age-old slut-shaming to deadly levels, with suicide among bullied teenage girls becoming increasingly common. Now, Leora Tanenbaum revisits her influential work on sexual stereotyping to offer fresh insight into the digital and face-to-face worlds contemporary young women inhabit. She shares her new research, involving interviews with a wide range of teenage girls and young women from a variety of backgrounds as well as parents, educators, and academics. Tanenbaum analyzes the coping mechanisms young women currently use and points them in a new direction to eradicate slut-shaming for good.
Call Number: 305.23082 T164ISBN: 9780062282590Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Becoming Nicole by
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER * A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK * NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY PEOPLE AND ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY MEN'S JOURNAL * A STONEWALL HONOR BOOK IN NONFICTION * FINALIST FOR THE LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD FOR TRANSGENDER NONFICTION The inspiring true story of a transgender girl, her identical twin brother, and an ordinary American family's extraordinary journey to understand, nurture, and celebrate the uniqueness in us all, from the Pulitzer Prize-winning science reporter for The Washington Post When Wayne and Kelly Maines adopted identical twin boys, they thought their lives were complete. But it wasn't long before they noticed a marked difference between Jonas and his brother, Wyatt. Jonas preferred sports and trucks and many of the things little boys were "supposed" to like; but Wyatt liked princess dolls and dress-up and playing Little Mermaid. By the time the twins were toddlers, confusion over Wyatt's insistence that he was female began to tear the family apart. In the years that followed, the Maineses came to question their long-held views on gender and identity, to accept and embrace Wyatt's transition to Nicole, and to undergo an emotionally wrenching transformation of their own that would change all their lives forever. Becoming Nicole chronicles a journey that could have destroyed a family but instead brought it closer together. It's the story of a mother whose instincts told her that her child needed love and acceptance, not ostracism and disapproval; of a Republican, Air Force veteran father who overcame his deepest fears to become a vocal advocate for trans rights; of a loving brother who bravely stuck up for his twin sister; and of a town forced to confront its prejudices, a school compelled to rewrite its rules, and a courageous community of transgender activists determined to make their voices heard. Ultimately, Becoming Nicole is the story of an extraordinary girl who fought for the right to be herself. Granted wide-ranging access to personal diaries, home videos, clinical journals, legal documents, medical records, and the Maineses themselves, Amy Ellis Nutt spent almost four years reporting this immersive account of an American family confronting an issue that is at the center of today's cultural debate. Becoming Nicole will resonate with anyone who's ever raised a child, felt at odds with society's conventions and norms, or had to embrace life when it plays out unexpectedly. It's a story of standing up for your beliefs and yourself--and it will inspire all of us to do the same. Praise for Becoming Nicole "A profoundly moving true story about one remarkable family's evolution."--People "Fascinating and enlightening."--Cheryl Strayed "Exceptional . . . 'Stories move the walls that need to be moved,' Nicole told her father last year. In telling Nicole's story and those of her brother and parents luminously, and with great compassion and intelligence, that is exactly what Amy Ellis Nutt has done."--The Washington Post "If you aren't moved by Becoming Nicole, I'd suggest there's a lump of dark matter where your heart should be."--Jennifer Senior, The New York Times "Extraordinary . . . a wonderful and inspiring story."--Minneapolis Star Tribune "A downright necessary book--and a remarkable act of generosity by the Maines family."--BuzzFeed
Call Number: 306.7680973 N976 (Truax)ISBN: 0812995414Publication Date: 2015-10-20
The Social Sex by
From historian and acclaimed feminist author of How the French Invented Love and A History of the Wife comes this rich, multifaceted history of the evolution of female friendship. In today’s culture, the bonds of female friendship are taken as a given. But only a few centuries ago, the idea of female friendship was completely unacknowledged, even pooh-poohed. Only men, the reasoning went, had the emotional and intellectual depth to develop and sustain these meaningful relationships. Surveying history, literature, philosophy, religion, and pop culture, acclaimed author and historian Marilyn Yalom and co-author Theresa Donovan Brown demonstrate how women were able to co-opt the public face of friendship throughout the years. Chronicling shifting attitudes toward friendship—both female and male—from the Bible and the Romans to the Enlightenment to the women’s rights movements of the ‘60s up to Sex and the City and Bridesmaids, they reveal how the concept of female friendship has been inextricably linked to the larger social and cultural movements that have defined human history. Armed with Yalom and Brown as our guides, we delve into the fascinating historical episodes and trends that illuminate the story of friendship between women: the literary salon as the original book club, the emergence of female professions and the working girl, the phenomenon of gossip, the advent of women’s sports, and more. Lively, informative, and richly detailed, The Social Sex is a revelatory cultural history.
Call Number: 302.34082 Y19ISBN: 9780062265500Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Trans by
Moving memoir and insightful examination of transgender politics "Six weeks before sex reassignment surgery (SRS), I am obliged to stop taking my hormones. I suddenly feel very differently about my forthcoming operation." In July 2012, aged thirty, Juliet Jacques underwent sex reassignment surgery--a process she chronicled with unflinching honesty in a serialised national newspaper column. Trans tells of her life to the present moment: a story of growing up, of defining yourself, and of the rapidly changing world of gender politics. Fresh from university, eager to escape a dead-end job, she launches a career as a writer in a publishing culture dominated by London cliques and still figuring out the impact of the Internet. She navigates the treacherous waters of a world where, even in the liberal and feminist media, transgender identities go unacknowledged, misunderstood or worse. Yet through art, film, music, politics and football, Jacques starts to become the person she had only imagined, and begins the process of transition. Interweaving the personal with the political, her memoir is a powerful exploration of debates that comprise trans politics, issues which promise to redefine our understanding of what it means to be alive. Revealing, honest, humorous, and self-deprecating, Trans includes an epilogue with Sheila Heti, author of How Should a Person Be?, in which Jacques and Heti discuss the cruxes of writing and identity.
Call Number: 306.7680846 J197 (Truax)ISBN: 1784781649Publication Date: 2015-09-22
Respect Yourself, Protect Yourself by
In Respect Yourself, Protect Yourself, Lorena Garcia examines how Latina girls negotiate their emerging sexual identities and attempt to create positive sexual experiences for themselves.
Call Number: 155.2 G216 (Truax)ISBN: 0814733174Publication Date: 2012-10-22
Dude, You're a Fag by
Based on eighteen months of fieldwork in a racially diverse working-class high school, Dude, You're a Fag sheds new light on masculinity both as a field of meaning and as a set of social practices.
Call Number: 306.76 P281ISBN: 0520271483Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Angry White Men by
"[W]e can't come off as a bunch of angry white men.” Robert Bennett, chairman of the Ohio Republican Party One of the enduring legacies of the 2012 Presidential campaign was the demise of the white American male voter as a dominant force in the political landscape. On election night, after Obama was announced the winner, a distressed Bill O’Reilly lamented that he didn’t live in "a traditional America anymore.” He was joined by others who bellowed their grief on the talk radio airwaves, the traditional redoubt of angry white men. Why were they so angry? Sociologist MichaelKimmel, one of the leading writers on men and masculinity in the world today, has spent hundreds of hours in the company of America’s angry white men - from white supremacists to men's rights activists to young students -in pursuit of an answer.Angry White Men presents a comprehensive diagnosis of their fears, anxieties, and rage. Kimmel locates this increase in anger in the seismic economic, social and political shifts that have so transformed the American landscape. Downward mobility, increased racial and gender equality, and a tenacious clinging to an anachronistic ideology of masculinity has left many men feeling betrayed and bewildered. Raised to expect unparalleled social and economic privilege, white men are suffering today from what Kimmel calls "aggrieved entitlement": a sense that those benefits that white men believed were their due have been snatched away from them. Angry White Men discusses, among others, the sons of small town America, scarred by underemployment and wage stagnation. When America’s white men feel they’ve lived their lives the 'right’ way - worked hard and stayed out of trouble - and still do not get economic rewards, then they have to blame somebody else. Even more terrifying is the phenomenon of angry young boys. School shootings in the United States are not just the work of "misguided youth” or "troubled teens”--they’re all committed by boys. These alienated young men are transformed into mass murderers by a sense that using violence against others is their right. The future of America is more inclusive and diverse. The choice for angry white men is not whether or not they can stem the tide of history: they cannot. Their choice is whether or not they will be dragged kicking and screaming into that inevitable future, or whether they will walk openly and honorably - far happier and healthier incidentally - alongside those they’ve spent so long trying to exclude.
Call Number: 155.3320973 K49ISBN: 9781568585130Publication Date: 2015-04-14
Manhood for Amateurs by
In these insightful, provocative, slyly interlinked essays, one of our most brilliant and humane writers addresses with his characteristic warmth and lyric wit the all-important question: What does it mean to be a man today?
Call Number: 813.54 C428ISBN: 0061490180Publication Date: 2010-05-11
Boys Adrift by
Dr. Leonard Sax delves into the scientific literature and draws on more than twenty years of clinical experience to explain why boys and young men are failing in school and disengaged at home. He shows how social, cultural, and biological factors have created an environment that is literally toxic to boys.
Call Number: 371.823 SA272 (Truax & Fort Atkinson)ISBN: 0465072100Publication Date: 2009-01-06
Speak My Name by
Through the voices of some of today's most prominent African-American writers, this collection of essays and stories on contemporary African-American men's experience explores the intimate territory beyond the myths about brutalizing and bruatalized black men in a harsh white world.
Call Number: 155.8 SP741ISBN: 0807009369Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Pew Research
The Pew Research Center's Social & Demographic Trends project studies behaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure. The project explores these topics by combining original public opinion survey research with social, economic and demographic data analysis.
Research Topic: Gender
Web Resources
Websites: Men and Masculinity
- Men's BibiolographyA comprehensive bibliography of writing on men, masculinities, gender, and sexualities.
Search Terms for Gender Topics
The following search terms may be useful in finding info on gender topics:
-
- Feminism
- Femininity
- Gender
- Gender identity
- Transgender people
- Transgendered
- Transgenderism
- Sexism
- Sexual minorities
- Homosexuality
- Boys / Girls
- Sex determination
- Sex differences
- Intersex people
- Misogyny
- Women
- --Muslim women
- --Christian women
- --Indian women
- --African American women
- --Asian American women
- --Mexican American women
- --Hispanic American women
- Women's rights
- Men
- Masculinity
- Sex role--differences
- Sex role--psychology
- Sex role--discrimination
- Sexual behavior
- Birth control
- Body image in women
- Sexism
- Sexual identity
- Same sex marriage
- Gay men
- Gay adoption
- Gay and lesbian studies
- Gay culture
- Gay liberation
- Queer
- Lesbians
- Transsexuals identity
- >Identity psychology
- Women authors
- Women -- social conditions
- Women's rights
- Women's liberation