Skip to main content

Downtown Library: MAGAZINES, JOURNALS, & NEWSPAPERS

Resources for students, faculty, and staff at Madison College Downtown Library

PRINT PERIODICALS

The Downtown Library subscribes to the following print magazines, journals, and trade publications: 

  • Ceramics Monthly
  • Consumer Reports
  • Entertainment Weekly
  • Health
  • Marie Claire
  • Metalsmith
  • Money
  • New Yorker
  • Poets & Writers
  • Psychology Today
  • Sports Illustrated
  • Sun
  • Time
  • Vogue
  • YC Young Children
  • Zero to Three

Current issues of print journals are for in-library use only while back issues are available for checkout. 

NEWSPAPERS (print)

Student reading a newspaper

The Downtown Library houses current and back issues of the following newspapers:  

  • Clarion (MC student newspaper)
  • Wall State Journal
  • Wisconsin State Journal

You'll find current issues on the newspaper stand in the quiet study area of the library. Back issues can be found on the periodical shelves. Newspapers are in-library use only.

Free ONLINE Newspaper Sites

Free Web sites for aggregated news sources and single newspapers.

ONLINE JOURNAL AND RESEARCH DATABASES

Academic Search Complete logo       CQ Researcher logo      Credo Reference logo      Gale Opposing Viewpoints logo

The Madison College Libraries offer a wide array of online research databases to support the academic endeavors of students, faculty and staff. The databases provide access to millions of journal, magazine, and newspaper articles, available for free, 24/7. You will be prompted for your Madison College username and password when accessing the databases off campus.

To get to the databases, go to the Library home page, click on the Databases tab and then Browse databases by A to Z list or by program/center. To open a database, just click on the title.  For a brief description of each database, click on the information "i" link.