E Books
Key Concepts in Family Studies by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 141292006XPublication Date: 2010-12-29
The measure of America 2010-2011. New York University Press, 2011.
The definitive report on the overall well-being of all Americans. How are Americans doing—compared to one another and compared to the rest of the world? This important, easy-to-understand guide will provide all of the essential information on the current state of America.
The Measure of America by Call Number: E-BookISBN: 023115495XPublication Date: 2010-07-22
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0028661745Publication Date: 2013-02-15
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by Call Number: Online BookISBN: 0124172350Publication Date: 2015-09-08
Web Resources
Inequality & Poverty
- Campaign for College OpportunityCalifornia-based organization - however, many of their reports provide data on issues related to access to college for Americans of color.
Violence and Crime
Racism & Ethnic and Religious Hatred
Sexism
Incarceration Issues
Families and Marriage
Public Health & Heathcare Access
Aging Issues
Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Sources
Scholarly or peer-reviewed sources:
- are written for and reviewed by fellow academics or researchers in the field
- are excellent for finding out what has been studied or researched on a topic
- contain original research or in-depth study in the field
- provide extensive references leading to other relevant sources of information
- use the technical language of the field
- Anatomy of a Scholarly ArticleInteractive tutorial explaining the elements of a scholarly article
Databases with Scholarly Articles
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General. The world's most comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary database, with coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: archaeology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion & theology, women's studies, and other fields.
- Education Research Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Education. Covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
- JStor This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General, Social Sciences, Humanities. Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Other Databases
- CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: General. Good place to start research. Provides comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news including health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed, 12,000-word report is researched and written by a seasoned journalist. The consistent, reader-friendly organization provides researchers with an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Search separately - not included in WorldCat Discovery searches.
- Opposing Viewpoints (Gale) This link opens in a new window Pros and cons on critical social issues. Great place to start your research.
Relevant Journal Collections - Social Problems Topics
- Substance AbuseMost recent year is NOT available in full text.
- Journal of School ViolenceOne year delay in full text availability.
Frontline & Videos on Social Problems
- E-Videos on Criminal Justice TopicsFilms on Demand films
Note: Watching videos off campus requires Madison College username and password.
Videos - Social Problems: Library Materials
Trafficked in America
Consent on Campus
Consent on Campus: A Nightline Event. Films Media Group, 2016
My Reality: A Hidden America
My Reality: A Hidden America. Films Media Group, 2017.
Warning: This Drug May Kill You
Warning: This Drug May Kill You. Films Media Group, 2017.
Social Problems - Videos from Frontline on PBS [Free on the web]
Chasing Heroin
(2016, February 26). Retrieved June 27, 2017, from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/chasing-heroin/
Fantasy Sports Gamble
(2016, February 9). Retrieved June 27, 2017, from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/fantasy-sports-gamble/credits/
Policing the Police
(2016, June 28). Retrieved June 27, 2017, from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/policing-the-police/
Gunned Down: The Power of the NRA
(2016, January 6). Retrieved June 27, 2017, from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/gunned-down/
Rape on the Nightshift
(2015, June 23). Retrieved June 27, 2017, from http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/rape-on-the-night-shift/
Risky Drinking
Risky Drinking. Films Media Group, 2016.
Books and Videos From Our Catalog
Books
Adnan's Story by Call Number: 364.1523092 C496 (Watertown)ISBN: 1250087104Publication Date: 2016-08-09
The Value of Homelessness by Call Number: 362.5920973 W741 (Downtown)ISBN: 9780816693481Publication Date: 2015-09-15
Ending Homelessness by Call Number: 362.5926 E566 (Downtown)ISBN: 9781626375079Publication Date: 2016-05-01
This Is Your Country on Drugs by Call Number: 306.1 G861 (Truax)ISBN: 9780470167397Publication Date: 2009-06-01
Killing Trayvons by Call Number: 363.2308909 K48 (Watertown)ISBN: 9780692213995Publication Date: 2014-09-06
Dreamland by Call Number: 362.2930973 Q77 (Truax)ISBN: 9781620402504Publication Date: 2015-04-21
Arrested Justice by Call Number: 362.8292089 R531 (Truax)ISBN: 9780814776223Publication Date: 2012-05-22
America's Bitter Pill by Call Number: 368.38 B857 (FORT)ISBN: 9780812996951Publication Date: 2015-01-05
Athletes Who Indulge Their Dark Side by Call Number: 796.01 T265ISBN: 9780313377563Publication Date: 2009-12-01
DVDs
362.2930973 H559 DVD
Heroin, Cape Cod, USA takes an unsparing look at the lives of several young people in their early 20s gripped by heroin addiction, living a seemingly endless existence of getting high while cycling through stages of rehab, recovery and relapse. The film also chronicles the impact of the crisis on the community of Cape Cod.
364.15 N899 DVD
Not in Our Town follows a community in crisis after the fatal attack of a local immigrant resident in 2008.
614.47 V11N DVD
Vaccines : calling the shots examines diseases that were largely eradicated in the U.S. a generation ago - including whooping cough, measles, mumps - are returning, in part because nervous parents are skipping their children's shots.
330.973 I42 DVD
Inequality for All examines economics professor and Clinton Administration cabinet member Robert Reich's crusade to expose the problem of income inequality in the United States.
306.848 O94 DVD
Out in Silence tells the story of Joe Wilson as he returns to his hometown of Oil City, Pa., after his wedding announcement appears in his small hometown newspaper causes controversy, and he receives a plea for help from the mother of a gay teen who is being tormented in school. Challenges viewers to rethink their values and close the gaps that divide communities on this controversial issue.
Welcome to Leith chronicles the attempted takeover of a small town in North Dakota by notorious white supremacist Craig Cobb. As his behavior becomes more threatening, tensions soar, and the residents desperately look for ways to expel their unwanted neighbor. Call number: 320.56 W442 DVD (Truax)