Careers in Recreation Management: Recreation Programmer, Sports Coordinator, Fitness/Health Club Specialist, Personal Trainer, Adaptive/Therapeutic Assistant, Facilities and Ground Maintenance, Parks/Golf Course Assistant, Outdoor Activity Instructor, Challenge Course Facilitator.
Photo Credit:Beach Surfer Silhouette
See our Recreation Management website for more information.
Search Tips
Following are some subject terms that you can use in search boxes for more effective search results.
- Conservation of Natural Resources
- Leisure
- National Parks and Reserves
- National Areas
- Natural Resources
- Outdoor Recreation
- Parks
- Personal Trainers
- Recreation
- Recreation Leadership
- Tourism
Following are some call numbers that are helpful for browsing the library stacks.
333.7 -Conservation of natural resources
613.7 -Physical Education, Fitness, and Training
790.06 - Leisure services
791.06 -Leisure planning
Research
Career with Meaning by
This book is a tailor-made journey that enables individuals to match their core beliefs and values with numerous professional opportunities within the leisure industry. Leading experts provide detailed discussion and insight for 11 primary areas related to recreation, parks, sport management, hospitality, and tourism. Once you have identified and matched your values with a specific area, you will start planning your personal roadmap to a successful and rewarding career with the chapter Preparing for a Career in Recreation.
Call Number: 331.7020973 C271 Truax reserveISBN: 9781571675262Publication Date: 2010-01-01
Leisure Program Planning and Delivery by
Leisure Program Planning and Deliverywill guide your students in -employing a comprehensive three-step plan for successful program planning, implementing, and evaluating; -learning the essentials of successful recreation programming theory through real-world case studies and examples; and -building a professional programming portfolio through completion of class assignments. Leisure Program Planning and Deliverywill prepare recreation students for 21st-century programming. The book provides a comprehensive three-step plan for successful programming of services, program leadership, and understanding operational management of program systems in recreation and leisure service organizations. The scope of the book makes it practical either for preparing students and new professionals or for retooling your recreation program for today's challenges. Grounded in contemporary professional practice and real-world applications, the book provides a systematic plan for students to learn the essentials of successful recreation programming, with examples of a variety of activities in community, outdoor, sport, cultural arts, and tourism sectors of the field. A companion Web site provides support for recreation professors with sample course syllabi, chapter review questions, PowerPoint presentations, and a test bank. Each chapter of Leisure Program Planning and Deliveryincludes the following student-friendly features: -Learning objectives -An opening vignette with a real-world example tied to the theme of the chapter -Photographs, tables, and figures -Examples of specific chapter programming concepts taken from actual programming for outdoor, sport, tourism, cultural arts, and community recreation organizations -A continuing case study highlighting the City of Westerville, Ohio, Parks and Recreation Department, a 2001 and 2007 Gold Medal Awardee -A chapter summary keyed to the learning objectives -A glossary of key terms A bound-in CD-ROM contains chapter-by-chapter activities and assignments that apply programming concepts and professional best practices from the text; Internet sites for interactive learning; and forms for planning, implementing, and evaluating programs. At the end of the course, the student assignments can be combined to create a student programming portfolio. Throughout the text, the City of Westerville, Ohio, Parks and Recreation Department—a 2001 and 2007 Gold Medal Awardee—serves as a case study. The case illustrates how program concepts and practices apply in the real world of recreation programming. Leisure Program Planning and Deliveryis the foundational text to prepare students and practicing professionals for situations they will encounter on the job. As a reference, the book contains the essentials of programming and offers cutting-edge programming techniques, support tools, and forms that will help professionals meet challenges in leisure programming, making it a text that students will keep long after their course work is completed.
Call Number: 790.069 R966 Truax-ReserveISBN: 9780736057332Publication Date: 2007-08-20
Conservation for a New Generation by
In hundreds of watersheds and communities across the United States, conservation is being reinvented and invigorated by collaborative efforts between federal, state, and local governments working with nongovernmental organizations and private landowners, and fueled by economic incentives, to promote both healthy natural communities and healthy human communities.   Conservation for a New Generation captures those efforts with chapters that explain the new landscape of conservation along with case studies that illustrate these new approaches. The book brings together leading voices in the field of environmental conservation--Lynne Sherrod, Curt Meine, Daniel Kemmis, Luther Propst, Jodi Hilty, Peter Forbes, and many others--to offer fourteen chapters and twelve case studies that   * demonstrate the benefits of government agencies partnering with diverse stakeholders; * explore how natural resources management is evolving; * discuss emerging practices for conservation, including conservation planning, ecological restoration, valuing ecosystem services, and using economic incentives; * promote cooperation on natural resources issues that have in the past been divisive.   Throughout, contributors focus on the fundamental truth that unites human and land communities: as one prospers, so does the other; as one declines, so too will the other. The book illustrates how natural resources management that emphasizes building strong relationships results in outcomes that are beneficial to both people and land.
Call Number: 333.72 C755KISBN: 9781597264389Publication Date: 2008-11-07
A few Hotel & Restaurant NAICS Codes for database searching:
712190 National parks
812990 Personal fitness trainer
924120 Administration of Conservation Programs
713990 All Other Amusement and Recreation Industries
713110 Amusement and Theme Parks
713940 Fitness and Recreational Sports Centers
- Business Insights: Essentials (Gale) This link opens in a new window Subject Areas: Business. Formerly Business & Company Resource Center (BCRC). Provides business, company, and industry content including articles, company financials and earning estimates, investment reports, corporate chronologies and company histories, brands and product information, industry and company rankings, market share data, industry overviews, and HR law case digests.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Films On Demand [FOD] is an online collection of high quality, educational videos made accessible to the faculty, staff and students at Madison College.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window Offers streaming films ranging from documentaries, indie and foreign films, must-see classics and blockbuster movies. *Note: we are currently experiencing issues with video display in VDI. Please access videos outside the virtual desktop.
Check out some of these videos:
Careers
CareerOneStop, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor, has a wealth of career information for students and job seekers. Check out what they have to say about your chosen career:
Fitness Trainers and Aerobics Instructors
General and Operations Manager
Helpers--Installation, Maintenance, and Repair Workers
Books about Resume Writing at Madison College Libraries to help you create the perfect resume!
Dane County Job Center has links to nearly every job search available to you in Dane County. It is a great resouce for searching for careers.