Linking to Library Resources

ARTstor is a digital library of art images and associated information designed to enhance teaching, learning, and scholarship. ARTstor contains over 500,000 images from a wide range of cultures and time periods.

Copyright compliant: Instructors may download and use these images in classroom presentations (such as Powerpoints), link to images in ARTstor, or use the ARTstor Image Group slideshows. Images or Image Groups may be added to online Blackboard courses that are password protected. Instructors may share ARTstor Image Groups with students by creating shared folders. See Permitted Use policies.

To enter the ARTstor Digital Library, go to Madison Area Technical College Libraries web page. From Databases - Browse A-Z Find Articles page– Select ARTstor,  and click on “Search and Browse for Images.”

Search and Browse

• Perform a Basic Search to search across all data fields within one or all collections. Perform an Advanced Search to search within specific data fields and selected collections.

• To Browse the collections, from the Welcome Page, click on a collection’s name to view the list of categories. Click on the icon next to a category to expand the list. Click the category’s name to view contents. Browse by object type classification (i.e. photographs) or browse by geography (country or countries with which they are associated).

• Searching and browsing ARTstor will return results as thumbnail images. To view the data record for an image, single-click on the caption beneath the thumbnail. To view an image in the Image Viewer, double- click on the thumbnail. The Image Viewer provides tools for zooming, panning, downloading, and printing. View the the data record by clicing on the "i" button at the bottom.

Levels of access

• Unregistered User: Search and browse for images, analyze, save, print data and images, and view contents of public Shared Folders.

• Registered User: Save Image Groups, add Personal Notes, register to view contents of password-protected Shared Folders.

• matcmadison.edu accounts: If you have previously registered an ARTstor personal account using your @matcmadison.edu email address, you will want to update your ARTstor profile to use your new @madisoncollege.edu email address.

• Instructor Privileges User: Create Shared Folders, add Instructor Commentary, create Personal Collection. Create links to image groups. 

Download Images

Instructors may use ARTstor images in classroom presentations (such as Powerpoints) or use the ARTstor Image Group slideshows. Images or Image Groups may be added to online Blackboard courses that are password protected. See Permitted Use policies.

1. You must have registered with ARTstor and be logged on to your account.

2. To download a copy of the image, double-click on the thumbnail to launch the image in the Image Viewer. In the Image Viewer footer, in the lower right corner of the window, you will see the Save icon.

3. Review the ARTstor Terms and Conditions of Use. Click "OK" to agree.

4. Next, you will see your computer's directory, which will allow you to choose the location where you would like to save your image. Browse to the location on your local computer, disk, or network where you would like to save the image. You may also choose to save the ARTstor image to a portable storage device, like a CD, DVD, or flash drive.

5. Your image will download as a JPEG file. It will be accompanied by the image data information as a separate HTML file. After you download a copy of your image and save it locally, you can rename the image, since it will automatically be titled with its ARTstor Image ID.

6. Using the Image Viewer, you also have the option to save details, rather than the entire image that you are viewing. If you zoom into the image before clicking on the Save icon, you will be downloading a copy of the zoomed detail. First, find the detail that you would like to save by zooming and panning within the image. Once you have selected your detail, click on the Save icon. The JPEG file that you will download using the same process described above will contain the zoomed detail, rather than the whole image.

7. In order to download higher resolution files of ARTstor images (up to 3200 x 3200 pixels), you must download and view them in the Offline Image Viewer (OIV).

Link to an Image

Every image in ARTstor also has a stable URL associated with it. The image URL can also be emailed or added as a link on a Blackboard course website. You will want to add the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy prefix to make the image accessible for off campus users.

1. You must have registered with ARTstor and be logged on to your account.

2. While on the Thumbnail Page, to get the link for a specific image, click on a thumbnail caption to open the Image Data window. If you are viewing images in the List Mode, click on the "Full Record" icon , which will be located off the bottom right corner of each thumbnail.

3. Once the Image Data window opens, click on the second tab, marked "Image Properties." The last field in the list will be the "Image URL".

4. You can also obtain the stable URL for a particular image by locating it on the Thumbnail Page and then right- (or "Control-") clicking with your mouse to on the thumbnail. Choose the "Display image URL" option in the resulting drop-down menu.

5. Double-click on the URL value to select it. Then, use the "Ctrl-" C keyboard shortcut to copy the URL value to the clipboard.

6. Use the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy URL Creator to append the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy prefix https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url= to the stable URL.

7. Paste the entire persistent link with the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy prefix into your document, Blackboard, webpage, or email.

8. Test the link.

Link to an Image Group

Select images throughout the library to save them as a group that can be retrieved, edited, and shared. Just like individual images, every image group in ARTstor also has a stable URL associated with it. The image group URL can also be emailed or added as a link on a Blackboard course website. You will want to add the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy prefix to make the image accessible for off campus users.

1. You must have registered and be logged on to your ARTstor account.

2. Single-click thumbnails to highlight the images you wish to save. Highlighted images will be remembered across multiple pages of a search.

3. Go to “Image Groups” on the toolbar menu and choose “Save selected images to new group.” The default folder is your personal, private folder called “My Work Folder.” Enter a name for your Image Group in the field under “Group.” Click “Save and Open.” You may use the Image Viewer to present your Image Group while online.

4. To obtain a stable URL for a specific Image Group, you must first open the Image Group so that its thumbnails are displayed on a Thumbnail Page. Then, click on the "Image Groups" toolbar button

   and select the "Display Image Group URL" option. In the dialog box

   that appears, click on the URL value to select it.

5. Select and copy the entire stable URL.

6. Use the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy URL Creator to append the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy prefix https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url= to the stable URL.

7. Paste the entire persistent link with the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy prefix into your document, Blackboard, webpage, or email.

8. Test the link.

ARTstor Madison Area Technical College EZproxy examples:

Madison Area Technical College EZproxy ARTstor Image Links

A new window will open when you click on a link. Note Technical Requirements.

The Starry Night
https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url=http://www.artstor.org/artstor/ViewImages?id=8DlKaFklKjc2&userId=gDdOfTc%3D&cid=gDBH

The Great Wave

Canterbury

Madison Area Technical College EZproxy ARTstor Image Group Links (Public shared folders can be viewed by anyone at the instructor's institution.)

A new window will open when you click on a link.. Note Technical Requirements. Click the arrows at the bottom to advance through the slides.

Sample Madison Area Technical College Instructor Image Group

France 2007
https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url=http://www.artstor.org/artstor/ViewImages?q=gDRDcjMp&userId=gDdOfTc%3D&igName=3TJCeDo%3D

Shared Folders

1. You must have registered for instructor privileges and be logged on to your ARTstor account.

2. Go to the "Tools" toolbar menu and choose the "Create Shared Folder" option. The Create a Shared Folder Wizard form will open, which will guide you through the steps of creating a Shared Folder that will allow you to save Image Groups for sharing with others.

3. Public shared folders can be viewed by anyone at the instructor's institution. Password-protected folders require students to register in order to access an instructor's image groups. You can make your Shared Folder publicly available to your entire institution, or restrict your Shared Folder and Image Groups to a select group of users by creating a password.

Sample Madison Area Technical College Instructor public shared folder

Instructor Commentary

Users with Instructor-Level Privileges may share images and commentary with others at their institution. While any Registered User may add Personal Notes to an image, Instructor-Level Users can create commentary that is viewable by others.

1. To view or edit Instructor Commentary, select an image while on the Thumbnail Page and click on the caption beneath the image. This will launch the Image Data Window, which contains a tab marked "Instructor's Commentary."

2. If you are in the List Mode, click on the "Full Record" icon, which will be located off the bottom right corner of each thumbnail to view the same data record.