Skip to main content

Instructor Support

Library services and resources that may be helpful for instructors.

gale logo

Gale Bookmarks / InfoMarks

for Gale databases: Health Reference Center, Business Insights: Essentials, and Opposing Viewpoints.

A Gale Bookmark  can be created to a particular article or publication in Gale databases. Anyone who uses a durable or persistent link must have access to the database from which the URL came. Therefore, off-campus users must be authenticated as part of Madison Area Technical College through EZproxy. Off-campus users who click on a Madison College EZproxy persistent link will be prompted to enter their username and password.

 

Using a Powersearch Gale database: Create a Gale Bookmark to allow off-campus access through EZproxy:

  1. Log in to a Gale database. Note: Browsers must be set to accept cookies.
  2. Locate an article or publication of interest. Depending on the Gale collection you are currently using, you can create a Gale Bookmark to search input screens, entire result lists, specific documents (full-text as well as PDF versions), and your Marked Items list.
  3. Do not use the link from the browser address bar. Click the Bookmark link in the toolbar and a separate browser window will open. Pop-up blockers may need to be set to allow a new window to open with the Bookmark/InfoMark.
  4. Select and copy the entire Gale Bookmark. Many of the links are quite long, and can be shortened using the tinygaleurl utility.
  5. Use the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy URL Creator to append the Madison College EZproxy prefix https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url= to the Gale Bookmark.
  6. Paste the entire link with the Madison College EZproxy prefix into your document, Blackboard, webpage, or email.
  7. Test the link. These links can become quite long and sometimes Blackboard, Microsoft, or other products may cut off extremely long URLs. It is always a good idea to check them. Gale Bookmarks are generally stable, however negotiated rights to publications change occasionally.

Using a Gale non-Powersearch interface database: Create a Bookmark to allow off-campus access through EZproxy:

  1. Business Insights: Essentials does not use the Powersearch interface.
  2. Locate an article of interest and click Share
  3. Clicking Share will usually bring up a bookmark window with a durable URL that will persist from session to session. Only in this case, the URL at the top of the page will also be an InfoMark.
  4. Select and copy the entire bookmark
  5. Use the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy URL Creator to append the Madison College EZproxy prefix https://ezproxy.madisoncollege.edu/login?url= to the bookmark.
  6. Paste the entire persistent link with the Madison Area Technical College EZproxy prefix into your document, Blackboard, webpage, or email.
  7. Test the link.

Notes:

  • These URLs can become quite long and sometimes Blackboard, Microsoft, or other products may cut off long URLs, so be sure to test the links.
  • Gale Bookmarks are generally stable, however negotiated rights to publications change occasionally.
  • Browsers must be set to accept cookies. With off-campus access to Gale databases, sometimes a link may need to be re-clicked or cookies cleared using the Gale cookie cutter.

Sample Gale Bookmarks:  

"Social Networking Sites Are Addictive." Are Social Networking Sites Harmful? Ed. Stefan Kiesbye. Detroit: Greenhaven Press, 2011. At Issue. Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context. Web. 4 Feb. 2011.

Apple, Inc. Company Profile; Business Insights: Essentials

Madison College Libraries logo