Skip to main content

History: Labor History: Labor History

Madson Area Technical College Libraries Research Guide: Labor History

Books: Labor History

libraries logo

The Madson Area Technical College Libraries Online Catalog provides access to books, magazines, Reserve material, audio-visual material (for example, videos), and web resources Search by subject or keyword.

Most U.S. History books will be located in the 900’s. To get started, you might want to check the Labor History bibliography tabs at the top of this guide.

Consult the Primary Source Research Guide for suggestions on locating primary source materials in the libraries.

Quick search of the online catalog:

New Books

Other Library catalogs

Periodicals

Search for Madson Area Technical College's access to a particular magazine, journal, or newspaper in print or online by library subject headings:

History Research Guides

Library Research Databases

 Use academic databases to find articles from scholarly and history journals. Full-text titles include History Today, History Review, American History, Journal of American Ethnic History, Journal of Social History, and others.

Access from home or work is available for these databases, login with your college username and password.

Newspapers: Research Databases and Websites

Websites for Labor History Research

American Memory
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
Primary source collections from the Library of Congress National Digital Library Program.

The Avalon Project
http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/avalon.htm       
A collection of documents in history and law from ancient civilizations to the present.

Internet History Sourcebooks Project
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/
Full text historical documents and links for ancient, medieval, and modern history.

Making of America (MOA)
http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/
Digital library of primary resources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction including sociology as well as education, psychology, American history, religion, science and technology.

NARA: National Archives
http://www.archives.gov/index.html

Prelinger Archives
http://www.archive.org/details/prelinger
Over 1,200 "ephemeral" (advertising, educational, industrial, and amateur) films made from 1927 through the present.

United States Historical Census Data Browser
http://fisher.lib.Virginia.EDU/census/
Describes the people and the economy of the U.S. for each state and country from 1790 to 1970.

Subject Guide

Labor - History

News Feed with article search results from EBSCO library databases on the Subject: labor - history

Loading

Labor Unions

News Feed with articles from EBSCO library databases on labor unions.

Loading

Atlases

Ref 912 G649 2005 Goode's World Atlas

Ref 912 AT881 2005 Atlas of the world

Mapping America's Past

Historical Atlas of the United States

Additional atlases can be found in the Madson Area Technical College Library Online Catalog including cultural and history atlases of specific areas of the world.

Labor History QR Code

qr code labor history research guide